We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel, everything you need right there!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel, everything you need right there!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This beach resort is just amazing. It is literally on the flat beach, in front are deck chairs, lovely sand and you can just gradually walk into the warm ocean!! Fabulous!! There are seven huge swimming pools. No children where we stayed, awesome!! Spacious modern clean rooms, friendly helpful staff. Well located, small village with shops behind the resort about 200 metres away and lots of stalls and shops along the front of the hotel literally on the beach for about 200 metres. Good stroll of a day or night. Amazing fresh breakfasts, whatever you want is there. Lovely local fresh fruit to start, yumm!!! Just one thing, we went in October which is apparently the hottest and most humid month to go. It was still fabulous but just a little hot. Maybe enquire when the humidity is not so high, other than that wonderful. We took a taxi into Patong that took about 10 minutes, had dinner at a superb restaurant there. Had all we needed at the resort. Took a supurb James Bond tour of the islands off the coast,floating village, private beacfh where we had a lovely swim and cocktail, don't hesitate!! Fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room closer to the restaurant area. This will get you closer to the beach and everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moonbeames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    450
    137
    56
    18
See reviews for
183
780
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We were taken to our room which was really dissappointing, it had grubby tiled floors, and was advertised on sawadee as the cheapest room, but we had booked with the sawadee website, the room which had nice wooden floors, nice sofa bed, nice fittings, and allround cleanlier feel, this was extra as it was advertised as partial sea-view, and had the mod-cons.(Both had sea view though)
I wouldn't have cared but we had payed an extra 20 pound a night for the better looking room, but had been given the room which was cheaper on the website....!!
When I asked reception to be taken to the correct room, we were told that they are all the same, just that one wing is newly built..(meaning nicer wood floors, real nice bathroom, etc , not the BUTLINS style decor we had been palmed-off with at the increased price......The girl at reception..argued the matter trying to make out all rooms are the same for a good 10 minutes, THANKFULLY EBEN appeared, and looked a the website to see the difference in the room standard, and he agreed with me that the all rooms are not the same, (like the girl at reception had been saying for the last 10 minutes), infact the newer wing 4406 side, was 50 times better than the room 3303 side.
After being moved we were happy, because this is what we had paid for, a newer room, just be careful when booking your room, they seem to have two sides of the resort opposite buildings which are both called deluxe, but in truth, one side is a BUTLINS REJECT!!!!!
They did compensate us with a nice bottle of champers because it was our honeymoon, which was great...!!
To be honest, I have travelled emmensley, especilally Thailand, and this hotel really wasn't great, I don't know what reviewers are on about when they are saying it's brilliant, my hubby got food poisioning from the omellete, the cushions in the room had chocolate stains all over them, and the chair covers on the balcony in the first room we were given, had bacteria written all over them,(maybe they pretend they are eco friendly to save on washing bed linen, and cushion covers in the room).
I've stayed in some back packers joints before, and they have been cleaner than this for sure...!!!
BUTLINS LOVERS STAY HERE....The beach was lovely, but to be honest you can get to the beach daily on a scooter from a far nicer hotel.....It was huge this hotel, and service was standard......BUT EBEN WAS GREAT...If it wasn't for him, the receptionist would've argued forever that all rooms are the same, she was clearly lying, I was told the newer block is far nicer, they're just palming some people off with the older rooms with the grubby tiles..Ask to see two rooms, Especially if you have paid extra for the room with the nice wooden floors ....!!!

Room Tip: rooms on the 4401, side are newer, ......avoid the 3301 side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naomi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This property is huge, I guess it has 5-6 swimming pools. Nevertheless it is managed immacuately and the quality of the resort is very good. Staff are friendly and rooms, bed linen, furniture, toilets, all are very very modern and well maintained. The location is ideal for families and loners. The beachfront has nice small shacks and restaurants and one can enjoy good food on the beach itself. We got a upgraded room by just asking for it which made our stay even better. Overall we found it very satisfactory and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUVASHIS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A great beach hotel with lovely rooms, gardens and pools. On arrival we were a bit daunted by the size of the hotel but once we got unpacked and went to sit by the pool we realised that even though this is a large hotel the size of the grounds meant that you did not feel short of peace and quiet. The food at breakfast was varied from local dishes through to western/ continental fare.
In the evenings we ate at local beach front restaurants (plenty to choose from) or walked a little further to Kamala itself where there are gift shops, bars and mini-marts.
In summary a great beach hotel to relax in and let your troubles evaporate.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andychem18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Kamala Beach Resort exceeded our expections! We absolutly loved the pools, bar, restaurant and professional staff located in the resort.

I brought my mother to Thailand for her first time and we stayed for five nights in a twin bed deluxe room (room number 4200) in the beach wing.

The room was large and very clean. Equipped with a LCD tv and large fridge with well priced mini-bar. The bathroom was a little small but the rain shower made up for it.
The bed was soft in comparison to normal Thai beds (they can be really hard!) and linen/towels were made of high quality material. There was a large balcony with cushioned chairs and a table.

We had a great view of the ocean - down a few flights of stairs and 50m walk you're at the beach! The pool was even closer; very clean and well managed with an inpool bar with ample pool chairs.

Prime restaurant served us buffet breakfast which was great! There was a huge variety of food to choose from and cooked to order eggs. The restaurant is beachfront so its positioned is nice and breezy.

During our stay the staff put together a Thai Caberet sahow with buffet which was really well priced - we had great fun. We also enjoyed a few meals for lunch in the restaurant - the food was quality and well priced for a resort restaurant. I have to mention just how fantastic and polite the staff are in the restaurant and resort - nothing it too much trouble.

We tried the in house massage a few times as well - excellent quality and the staff were very professional.

If I was to fault anything, it would have been some of the other travellers staying in the resort who were not polite to other travellers or rude to the staff.

And the icing on the cake - no kids! Its great to stay in a resort where the youngest person is 15yrs old.

There are a few nice bars and small restaurants and some shopping stalls within a 5min walk from the resort on the beach. The resort has its own minimart, but the prices are a little high (there are a few minimarts just outside of the resort near the police station).

I chose this resort because of the great reviews it has recieved on Tripadvisor and in all honestly I really could not fault this place and was completley blown away by the high standed against the moderate prices (We got a good deal on the net).

I would recommend this place to all of my friends and family and for sure when I return to Phuket next year we will be staying here again!

Room Tip: beach wing rooms facing the ocean above level 2 have the best views of the ocean and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Absolutely loved the location and the beach. It is not too far from Patong or the airport. Lots of good restaurants to be found on the beach outside the hotel. If planning day trips, speak to Monique at the 'Dive center' right next to reception for good deals.
The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was very clean [which is important to me]. Overall the room was quite basic. I stayed in 3202 which has a partial sea view. The standard of cleanliness was good overall and the place has been well maintained.The staff were polite and helpful.
What I found to be the best part of the hotel is that there were no children running around screaming. It was very peaceful and quiet.
The food in the restaurant was of good standard, however there could have been more variety. I was there for a week and ended up eating at the beach restaurants most of the time as they had more variety. Massages are also available on the beach and at the hotel.
Kamala town/village is a short walk away and offers a few more options as well.
If you are interested in diving, Monique and Andy who have a shop at the hotel were absolutely wonderful and very knowledgeable.
I will definitely consider staying here again when I return to Phuket.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room options before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hksince2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This place is terrific.....5 star in every sense. I, too, visited in 2006 and this is a totally different facility. A huge expansion and upgrade made the old place ancient history. You cannot go wrong. Everything is provided and for $60 per night. Duhhhhh......Book through an online service to get the lowest rate and the resort will upgrade you on arrival. I have extended my stay twice. Obviously, I don't want to go back to the Real World. Note: No children under 15...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beinaj8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.1 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
14.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Sunwing Kamala Beach
#10 of 36 in Kamala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)

Property: Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing