We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunprime Kamala Beach
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in a deluxe ground floor room which was actually on the second floor but entry was ground level. There was a balcony overlooking the garden. The room was spacious and very clean. My only complaint would be lack of lighting at night, the room was badly lit. Pool towels were provided for your stay and could be changed as required. There were numerous pools to choose from and the beach is right in front. The sunbeds in the pool area close to the beach do fill early but the other pools are only a few minutes away.
Depending on the amount of people in the restaurant the service is either very quick or slow. There are two restaurants, one serving a buffet and the other a la carte.We did not have a buffet so cannot comment on this but the meals we had were good. The breakfast was ok catering for all nationalities.There is a mini mart in the complex where you could buy alcholic drinks and any other supplies you might want. The resort does not accept children under 15 as guests but there were often children in the restaurant of an evening. We enjoyed our stay here and have just booked another two nights when we return to Phuket before flying home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lori_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Nice beach, rooms with a lack of cleaning; service in restaurant very slow and unprofessional; breakfast very repetitive-very artificial juices, no fresh bread. Lovely swimming-pools, even in the morning every place is taken in the pool towards the beach. Lovely and cheap massages .

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henriquemourao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed in this resort for a 10 days over new years. I had chosen to come to this hotel from the trip advisor reviews. I can tell you that I was certainly not let down. On arrival, we were upgraded to a junior suite free of charge.The room had nice finishings and more importantly was clean, tidy and the bed was comfortable. If I were to reccomend a room, request one of the newer ones near the back with a view of the pool. The pools were very clean and the pool bar was lots of fun. The gym is in very good condition and they also offer exercises classes everyday free of charge. The hotel also is fitted with smoke alarms, emergency lights which is not something that you see often in hotels in Thailand- I have been to thailand before. Kamala beach is a nice beach, but we found it quite crowded so preferred to lay by the pools.We did however enjoy lots of nice beach walks. The only criticism I have is that the buffet breakfast was not hot enough. Despite this, the food ordered a la carte for dinner and lunch was amazing and very reasonbly priced.For instance: we ordered a pad thai,a panang curry, deep fried prawns, chicken dumplings and two drinks for $30AUS or $1,000 baht. Overall, it is a great place to go for a holiday in Thailand as it is an excellent hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Patong.

Room Tip: Request one of the newer ones near the back with a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 426Aussie426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The hotel is a big resort right on Kamala beach, with spacious, clean rooms, around 6 pools and 2 big restaurants. Personally, we prefer smaller kind of hotels and we found the beach to be too busy for our taste (although compared to Patong this is a quiet beach!). The restaurant hotels are expensive for Thai standards but there are plenty of other alternatives both on the beach and in Kamala village, which is 5 minutes walk away. The massage we had was excellent and offered at the same prices as you find on the beach. Wifi in the rooms is charged at a crazy rate but it is free in the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelmax71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This resort was spectacular, we stayed in the adult only section so no kids under 15 allowed but it is right next to the Sunwing resort which is very family orientated. The staff were really friendly and happy to help at anytime...including the doctors and nurses that have a room onsite and see patients every day. The resort has a mini shop on site and an ATM with good exchange rates and runs lots of internal activities; scuba lessons, Thai cooking, cocktail making, aqua aerobics, etc. The food at the two restaurants are addictively delicious and the view from the restaurant by the sea is spectacular, particularly at night with all the fireworks going off. The resort is literally right on the beach at Kamala about 15 minutes tuk tuk ride from Patong and is absolutely beautiful, lots of stalls, bars and restaurants day and night to explore and deck chairs to relax on..prices are fantastic! It is a resort though and very westernised, I'll be back and taking my mother and grandmother there in 12 months time :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

we had such a fantastic stay at kamala beach resort.
Rooms were big nice and clean.
So many sun beds, no matter what time of the day. plenty of room everywhere.
Nice and quite.
lovely and excellent food and drinks.
We would go back !!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heidi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hotel does not live up to its 4* rating. We arrived on December 30, probably the busiest time of the year and the staff simply could not cope. The service was very poor and the staff not properly trained or managed. The rooms were fine, but the bed and linen was a very poor standard. The pool areas were too busy at the beginning of the holiday and the beach was a zoo. I imagine Kamala would have been a beautiful beach before it was over commercialised. It is now just rows and rows of sun beds - many very tatty. The main street is dirty and not maintained at all. There are however some good restaurants and bars away from the main street and beach - and at Surin Beach. Overall a very disappointing stay. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel, request rooms in the new buildings by the first pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonMJIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
1.6 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,173 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Kamala Beach

Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: £54 - £1,238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunprime Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunprime Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Sunprime Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing