We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Grounds, but Rude Staff, and Nothing Included.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Grounds, but Rude Staff, and Nothing Included.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great potential, but they should probably have someone with experience in customer service/hospitality working here. Though the grounds are beautiful, and the facilities are great, the front desk staff was extremely rude to us on multiple occasions (whether it be checking in or requesting someone to address the lack of running water in my room). I first called to report there was no water and was assured someone would be right over to my room... called back 10 minutes later and no answer (three times). Decided to walk over to the lobby and after barely being acknowledged, was told that the "entire resort is out of water and they don't know when it will be fixed". No apology, no explanation, no resolution. No one has given me a second glance since (and I'm sitting directly across from the front desk writing this), I guess I just have to wait til they decide to address the issue.
Another thing to note: they nickel and dime you for EVERYTHING. No free Wi-Fi in the rooms (and if you ask for a username for access in the bar or pool area, you are told that you need to contact the front desk, since they like to know who is asking about and using the wifi, no free activities (you need to cover the costs for the resort to host a game of BINGO for 50baht), and no free beds/chairs on the beach... considering the amount I paid to stay here, I would at the very least expect to be able to the enjoy the beach.
I would highly advise that the GM of Kamala Beach Resort give the front desk staff some training in customer service, or perhaps suggest they choose a career that doesn't involve working with people. Overall, the hotel has great potential, but is overpriced and employs people who have no business being in hospitality. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marksperanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    450
    136
    56
    18
See reviews for
183
778
64
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have just spent 14 nights at the Kamala Beach Resort Phuket Thailand
I can honestly say it was Fantastic I cant fault a thing Hotel, Staff ,Pools ,Food the whole package were 1st class even down to the sun beds on the beach.
We were all inclusive travailing with Saga and there care was also 1st class the full time rep TOM was one of the best if not the best rep we have ever had on any holiday and I shall be passing on my remarks to Saga.
The whole Saga Holiday was wonderful from being picked up taken to Heathrow where we were met and taken through all the booking in bit we were also met at Phuket didn’t touch a case the whole holiday the same service on the way home we would not hesitate to use Saga again

Room Tip: Ask for Beach wing they are near pool and beach and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Berno48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My Wife and I had planned to return to Phuket for our Wedding Anniversary (last week) and went about deciding where to stay. We travel quite a bit and have been in Thailand a few times and stayed in various resorts to get a feel for different locations etc. In the end, we decided that we should return to Kamal Beach Resort (Sunprime) as we had a great experience the first time. I don't normally take the time to write a review but I felt it important to express how much my wife and I appreciated the staff's attention and effort to make our stay at the resort feel extra special for our Anniversary. This, considering it was extremely busy. It was such an unforgettable experience, we cannot recommend this resort enough! I don't need to go into all the other benefits of staying here as you have probably read other positive reviews! Such as, how friendly and helpful the lobby staff were, its location, ameneties etc etc. We left the resort knowing that we will return again. Thank You to everyone at Kamala Beach Resort for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for a week all inclusive in November and it was a very relaxing time after travelling from Bangkok over the previous two weeks. The beach was right outside the gate, it is a lovely beach with lots going on, places to eat, stalls to buy from and massages to enjoy.
The food at the hotel is fantastic, there was a buffet theme restaurant and an a la carte menu to choose from each day and two bars to refresh yourself from.
The deluxe room on the top floor (up two flights of stairs only) was spacious and we enjoyed drinks on the balcony overlooking the pool and could listen to the early evening entertainment.
Aquafit & tabletennis were enjoyed by us and the staff were really helpful. Taxis at the front door displayed a price list to popular destinations, there was also a shuttlebus to the next town, although we do not recommend Patong as it was very noisy & crowded in the town.

Room Tip: Higher floors have no noisy people above and no one walking past your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maturegappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan Hill, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed the last week of October 2013 and from the moment we walked into the lobby, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and inviting. Stayed in a Ground deluxe suite in the main building near the lobby. Although balcony did not open to pool or footpath, relished the privacy of not having people constantly walking past. All of the resort facilities were top notch and from the time we got up to going to bed the staff were happy and constantly working, whether it be in the lobby, the bars or cleaning and beautifying the grounds. This is my third trip to Phuket and by far the most enjoyable. Everything we wanted was at our door step or"Beachstep" with restaurants shops and the like just outside the resort gate. The shuttle bus service to nearby Patong was great and convenient. Housekeeping services were excellent everyday and the convenience of the minimart was certainly an awesome attribute to the resort. The fact that resort was separated between family areas and adult only areas added the our enjoyment. We went for a relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building near the mini mart are fantastic for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here from 2-15th Nov, 1st time visitor to Thailand with my wife and we couldn't have asked for more. stayed in a Junior Suite (rm 7322) overlooking the pool. The room was huge, immaculately clean and as good as if not better than many 4/5* London rooms. Pools and poolside were immaculate and no rushing for a sun lounger needed. Breakfast by the pool every morning was plentiful and fresh with a huge choice available. Only ate in the hotel on one evening in the beach side restaurant and whilst it was the most expensive meal of the week (£30 for 3 adults, 2 courses each and 2 or 3 drinks each) in real terms it was still great value. Wife had a massage most days and ended up using the same person every time (Doing is her name) and the cost is the same as every other establishment on the beach...about £6 for an hour! Friendly staff, always polite and helpful. The public areas were very clean and as the hotel appears to cater mainly for Scandinavians one would expect nothing less. FYI the only UK tour operator that uses this hotel is SAGA. Overall, a great first experience in Thailand, I would definitely recommend this hotel and my wife can't wait to go back.. Only down side is the lack of free wifi, not essential as free wifi availabe in the lobby, but in this day and age!!!!

Room Tip: Junior suite above the main lobby and overlooking the pool rm no 7322, excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here a week from 16th November for our honeymoon. It was was perfect, luxurious and picturesque. Upon arrival we were greeted with a refreshing glass of soft drink at reception. Because it was our honeymoon they were kind enough to give us a free room upgrade to the 'grand deluxe mountain view' room. In the room they surprised us with complementary fruit baskets and bottle of bubbles. Our bed was also decorated with beautiful flower petals.
Location: The hotel is located in the quiet area of Kamala away from the busy main street. It is a short 3 minute walk to the beach. The hotel provides a shuttle service to Patong beach for 150 Baht return. Or you cant take a taxi for between 400-500 Bhat one way. Patong by car is about 20mins away. The local Kamala has many facilities, restaurants and sites.
Accommodation: the room we stayed in was perfect. It was clean, modern and well maintained. we have a massive bed, 2 bathrooms and 2 living areas, along with a balcony overlooking the pool and local mountain. Rooms are cleaned daily.
Food: There are two restaurants, one by the pool and another next to the beach. One is buffet style the other a la carte menu. Both serviced great food. Of course including Thai food and then everyday switch to include a different international cuisine. The prices for average evening meal with a alcoholic drink averaged around 400-500 bhat per person.
Facilities: there is an on site convenience store, medical centre with onsite doctor, 3 swimming pools, excursion activities, spa, bar by the pool. All the public areas we came across were well maintained, clean and hygienic. Theres also a taxi service outside the reception.
Customer service: The staff are all so helpful and welcoming. We also felt the service was 110% and genuine and they were very patient and accommodating.
We will definitely stay here again and would recommend anyone to stay here. Overall it is great value for money and a lovely romantic get away.

Room Tip: If its your honeymoon, tell them in advance and Im sure you can get an upgrade to the room, just lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angellah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.1 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
14.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Sunwing Kamala Beach
#11 of 36 in Kamala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)

Property: Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing