We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Honeymoon at the Kamala Beach Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
salonica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our Honeymoon at the Kamala Beach Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I visited Thailand in August 2011 and stayed at the Kamala Beach Resort in Phuket for 4 nights.

The location of the resort is fantastic.It is by the sea.Phuket is picturesque,a piece of paradise.

We really enjoyed the hospitality of the staff,the delicious food and the unique Thai massage.The rooms are spacious and clean.

We will visit it again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salonica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    439
    131
    54
    17
See reviews for
176
745
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is clean besides a small trail of ants in our room, but that is expected in warm areas. The service however is average. They only have a small beach area with 20 beds. Then it is surrounded by public beach chairs that mostly the guest have to occupy because there is not enough room on the resort beach. This makes it annoying because if you want to lay out all day you have to go to the restaurant and order take out food instead of someone bringing it to you. There is not much to do if you are looking for night life i would recommend Patong. a nearby area. I probably wouldn't stay at this resort again It was ranked 4 stars and at best it was a 3.

Room Tip: choose a pool side room. By the description I thought we had a garden view but I ended up with a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just returned from 8 night stay at the adult section of this hotel. We were in the older style room but it was adequate, clean and very quiet. One huge plus for this hotel are the swimming pools, there are 4 in total so none of them ever felt cramped - the hotel also removes towels from reserved sun beds before 9:30am which was excellent (most hotels say that they will do this but don't!). We didn't realize that you could upgrade to all inclusive when we booked but having read reviews we decided to request this on check-in. I have stopped in many all inclusive hotels and unfortunately this hotel doesn't seem very clear on the rules! If you were with Saga you could eat at any of the restaurants (the restaurant by the sea being the nicest) however the first 2 evenings the staff attempted to turn us away, saying we must go to the buffet restaurant instead. After discussions over 2 days this matter was finally resolved but it was quite embarrassing at the time! I would not recommend all inclusive as you are also restricted to set choices at the restaurant by the sea. Unfortunately I didn't like the resort and the beach was extremely busy. I would have given the hotel a 3.5 but I haven't worked out how to do that!!! I must comment on the staff: they were lovely, helpful and happy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madaboutbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for a week in November with saga holidays and found the accommodation to be first
Class .the rooms have mainly been refurbished to a high standard.
Food was very well prepared and the service was first class.
The hotel is set on the beech ,with sun beds available and it is an easy walk into the village
Where there is plenty of shops and restaurants.
A very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank keithe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed 14 nights in June 2013 the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble they went the extra mile in everything they did for us.
The selection of food available was excellent and cooked to perfection, compliments to the chef and all the catering team.
The restaurant staff were 1st class with their service and were very pleasant.
The room service was second to none and the hotel was spotlessly clean including the pools.
We would highly recommend this hotel and certainly hope to return at some time in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wayne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great potential, but they should probably have someone with experience in customer service/hospitality working here. Though the grounds are beautiful, and the facilities are great, the front desk staff was extremely rude to us on multiple occasions (whether it be checking in or requesting someone to address the lack of running water in my room). I first called to report there was no water and was assured someone would be right over to my room... called back 10 minutes later and no answer (three times). Decided to walk over to the lobby and after barely being acknowledged, was told that the "entire resort is out of water and they don't know when it will be fixed". No apology, no explanation, no resolution. No one has given me a second glance since (and I'm sitting directly across from the front desk writing this), I guess I just have to wait til they decide to address the issue.
Another thing to note: they nickel and dime you for EVERYTHING. No free Wi-Fi in the rooms (and if you ask for a username for access in the bar or pool area, you are told that you need to contact the front desk, since they like to know who is asking about and using the wifi, no free activities (you need to cover the costs for the resort to host a game of BINGO for 50baht), and no free beds/chairs on the beach... considering the amount I paid to stay here, I would at the very least expect to be able to the enjoy the beach.
I would highly advise that the GM of Kamala Beach Resort give the front desk staff some training in customer service, or perhaps suggest they choose a career that doesn't involve working with people. Overall, the hotel has great potential, but is overpriced and employs people who have no business being in hospitality. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marksperanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have just spent 14 nights at the Kamala Beach Resort Phuket Thailand
I can honestly say it was Fantastic I cant fault a thing Hotel, Staff ,Pools ,Food the whole package were 1st class even down to the sun beds on the beach.
We were all inclusive travailing with Saga and there care was also 1st class the full time rep TOM was one of the best if not the best rep we have ever had on any holiday and I shall be passing on my remarks to Saga.
The whole Saga Holiday was wonderful from being picked up taken to Heathrow where we were met and taken through all the booking in bit we were also met at Phuket didn’t touch a case the whole holiday the same service on the way home we would not hesitate to use Saga again

Room Tip: Ask for Beach wing they are near pool and beach and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Berno48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.1 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
6.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Sunwing Kamala Beach
#10 of 36 in Kamala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)

Property: Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing