We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Go Anywhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunprime Kamala Beach
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We Just got back from phuket and i can say without doubt this hotel has been the best we have stayed in, in the whole of Thailand. Stayed for 12 nights and it was brilliant.
Perfect - right on the Beach. The beach has crystal clear water and fine White sand.with lots to do on the beach.The weather was of course stunning.
Kamala is a great alternative to the more busy locations. The town has everything you need. Good restaurants - Taylors - Massage parlors. All within walking distance. Right outside the hotel on the beach there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.
Should you want to join the more busy nightlife Patong is only 15 minutes away.

Hotel:
The staff, especially Kukai on reception was fantastic and the service level is very very high. Always a smile from house keeping to manager. We had a room (7411) with mountain view which was just fabulous to sit there in an evening sipping our G & Ts
Breakfast was excellent with lots of different choices for any taste.Evening meals were out of this world. Swimming pools are big and very well maintained and brilliantly quiet.They have a lady there called Martina. One of her jobs is the " Pool Police ". That means you are not allowed to book your sun bed before 09.30 in the morning, which is great, so you don't have to get up in the morning at 6 am and reserve your sun bed like some people do, then they disappear till lunch time and expect the sun bed still to be vacant, as the pool police will remove your towel and gear before 09.30 and you get nowt.

The hotel is adult only and has a very laid back atmosfhere. If you are young people looking for a place to party I would not reccomend this hotel. If you however want a fantastic place to relax - right on the beach - among an extremely friendly staff this is definitely the place to stay

Cant recommend this hotel enough.was fantastic from check in till check out. No problems at all

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple and we would certainly go back

Room Tip: Ask for Mountain View room as it is very relaxing with a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan19542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Myself and my wife stayed at the Kamala Beach Resort ( Sunprime ) in February 2014.
We both enjoyed our stay very much, we had an upgraded room which some people said was not worth the extra money, but it was a far larger room and better positioned on the resort. The standard room did not have hot water in the sink only in the shower.
Maid service could not be faulted always well cleaned and smelling fresh.
All the pools were very good and not really any problems getting a sunbed.
We used the beach most days as we prefer to watch all the activity going on.
We travelled with Saga on an all inclusive basis and it proved to be a good choice although there are plenty of beach eateries.
The meals we had were excellent although we did hear some moans, but some folk will find fault just for the sake of it.
The two restaurants were nice the al la carte had a better ambience. The restaurant staff were superb with their attention to detail.
Overall the hotel was situated in a prime spot, very well run and there for your comfort.
Comparing this hotel with others we have stayed in it is up there in the top ones.

Room Tip: I would go for Grand deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

kamala resort is a very nice resort. i had stay 5 dyas 4 nights in there, everythg is so nice .it really have the resort feel. clean. bed is nice except the wash room is small. breakfast is fabulous ,it has everythg ..westernal and thai . the beach is just right in front of the ressort itself. it also hav free shuttle bus till 10.30 or 10pm. going back from the bangla street, clean and very nice feel resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fabulous resort. Super clean. Surprisingly good food at the hotels' restuarants. Multiple pools and easy access to the beach. No kids. A great way to end our honeymoon in Thailand. The hotel upgraded us when we emailed that we reserved for our honeymoon, sent us champagne and set up the room with decoration--perfection! Did not see too many other major resorts that lead right out to the beach. Plenty of small restaurants, stores on the beach and up the road as well

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tennis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were at the Kamala Beach at the begining of Feb.Cannot comment on the regular rooms as we were upgraded to a suite as the hotel was full.It sounds nice to say we had a suite ,but it was too big a room area also it was in block 7 which is quite a walk to/from the beachside resturant and bars .I think a regular room would have been better.The food was average at the buffet resturant and good in the a la carte resturant ,depending on what you order.All staff were nice and helpful.
There are several attractive pools with beds and sunshades ,but as the sun moved it was difficult to move the shade if you did not want full sun.One good thing is that the hotel has a "no towels on sunbeds before 0900" policy unless of course you sit there .The hotel is by a long clean beach ,but it is surrounded by hundreds sunbeds and shades owned by local traders.Which of course are availlable for guests to hire

Room Tip: Not block 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 747Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed in the Sunprime wing of Kamala Beach resort. Superficially it is a nice-looking hotel, with clean comfortable bedrooms and lots of good pools. So if all you want to do is sleep, swim and sunbathe, you may find it satisfactory (although even sleeping was problematic because the air conditioner pumped dirty air right over the bed, causing us to wake coughing if we slept with it on). I felt that it is a place run on the cheap. The reception, up some steep steps, is a most unwelcoming and unattractive barn of a place, and other public areas are similarly stark. Most of the blocks do not have lifts, and we were shocked to be offered a room on the top floor of a block without a lift, as we needed one. However, after telling us there were no other rooms they did move us to a room in block 7, which has a lift, but which is farthest from the a la carte restaurant and the beach - quite a long trek to get to these. The beach, when you reach it, is very crowded with loungers.
We stayed here on an all-inclusive basis, but this does not cover food and drink from some of the bars. It does, however, allow you to eat either at the buffet or the a la carte restaurant. I only ate one buffet dinner and the food was truly terrible - cold, unappetising and little for vegetarians. The a la carte food was better (also little for vegetarians), particularly the European-style food - the Thai food, however, was not wonderful - for example a green curry with chicken consisted of a generic green curry sauce into which a few slivers of dried-up chicken had been tossed, without them even absorbing the sauce. Much of the food tasted mainly of salt. The breakfast buffet was also poor, fruit juices which were watered down or contained additives, croissants which were just croissant-shaped bread, fruit which was unripe. The waiting staff at breakfast were not well trained or supervised - not their fault, but they seemed to find it difficult to observe or fulfil guests' needs.
There is a massage centre at this hotel - I had what was supposed to be the light massage, but found it quite violent - it was done in an open-air area, men and women in the same area, and anyone in the rooms nearby could have watched - perhaps this is the Thai way, but I have had so much better elsewhere.
This is quite a large hotel, and so bound to be a bit impersonal - but it would have been nice to feel welcomed (not by a drink of orange juice with additives) and that if we had a problem someone was interested in solving it.
This hotel was marketed by our tour company as 4-star, but I do not think it is anything like that.

Room Tip: If you need a room in a block with a lift, make this clear when booking and be prepared for a long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We are frequent Thailand travelers and have been in different locations every year since 2005. We have previously been to Karon, Bang Tao, Kata, Patong, Krabi, Koh Samui, Pattaya, in different hotels. Staying in Kamala Beach Resort was however the first time all our expectations were full filled.

Location:
Perfect - right on the Beach. The beach is with crystal clear water and fine White sand. If you want a sun chair on the beach you will have to pay from 200 - 400 bath for it but you can walk about 30 meters from the free sun chairs at the pool so no problem.
Kamala is a great alternative to the more busy locations. The town has everything you need. Good restaurants - Taylors - Massage parlors. All within walking distance. Right outside the hotel on the beach there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.
Should you want to join the more busy nightlife Patong is only 15 minutes away for the cost of 400 bath.

Hotel:
One of the best we have stayed in. From the booking till our departure. The staff is fantastic and the service level is very high. Always a smile from house keeping to manager. We had problems with noise from the aircondition and immediatly we were offered to change room.
Breakfast was very good with lots of different choises for any taste. The coffee was very good.
Restaurants are a bit pricy but good. Swimmingpools are big and very well maintained.

Summery:
We have already decided to go to Kamala Beach Resort Again in 2015.

The hotel is adult only and has a very laid back atmosfhere. If you are young people looking for a place to party I would not reccomend this hotel. If you however want a fantastic place to relax - right on the beach - among an extremely friendly staff this is definately the place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nollopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
1.6 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,173 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Kamala Beach

Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: £54 - £1,238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunprime Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunprime Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Sunprime Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing