We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,625)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveller rating
811
541
176
73
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
541
176
73
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saga rep beach wing deluxe pool view room kamala beach beach front non smoking mini mart large hotel low season sister hotel swim up bar thai massage pool restaurant nice beach pool towels great resort thai food
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Myself and my wife stayed at the Kamala Beach Resort ( Sunprime ) in February 2014.
We both enjoyed our stay very much, we had an upgraded room which some people said was not worth the extra money, but it was a far larger room and better positioned on the resort. The standard room did not have hot water in the sink only in the shower.
Maid service could not be faulted always well cleaned and smelling fresh.
All the pools were very good and not really any problems getting a sunbed.
We used the beach most days as we prefer to watch all the activity going on.
We travelled with Saga on an all inclusive basis and it proved to be a good choice although there are plenty of beach eateries.
The meals we had were excellent although we did hear some moans, but some folk will find fault just for the sake of it.
The two restaurants were nice the al la carte had a better ambience. The restaurant staff were superb with their attention to detail.
Overall the hotel was situated in a prime spot, very well run and there for your comfort.
Comparing this hotel with others we have stayed in it is up there in the top ones.

Room Tip: I would go for Grand deluxe.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

kamala resort is a very nice resort. i had stay 5 dyas 4 nights in there, everythg is so nice .it really have the resort feel. clean. bed is nice except the wash room is small. breakfast is fabulous ,it has everythg ..westernal and thai . the beach is just right in front of the ressort itself. it also hav free shuttle bus till 10.30 or 10pm. going back from the bangla street, clean and very nice feel resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fabulous resort. Super clean. Surprisingly good food at the hotels' restuarants. Multiple pools and easy access to the beach. No kids. A great way to end our honeymoon in Thailand. The hotel upgraded us when we emailed that we reserved for our honeymoon, sent us champagne and set up the room with decoration--perfection! Did not see too many other major resorts that lead right out to the beach. Plenty of small restaurants, stores on the beach and up the road as well

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tennis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were at the Kamala Beach at the begining of Feb.Cannot comment on the regular rooms as we were upgraded to a suite as the hotel was full.It sounds nice to say we had a suite ,but it was too big a room area also it was in block 7 which is quite a walk to/from the beachside resturant and bars .I think a regular room would have been better.The food was average at the buffet resturant and good in the a la carte resturant ,depending on what you order.All staff were nice and helpful.
There are several attractive pools with beds and sunshades ,but as the sun moved it was difficult to move the shade if you did not want full sun.One good thing is that the hotel has a "no towels on sunbeds before 0900" policy unless of course you sit there .The hotel is by a long clean beach ,but it is surrounded by hundreds sunbeds and shades owned by local traders.Which of course are availlable for guests to hire

Room Tip: Not block 7
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 747Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed in the Sunprime wing of Kamala Beach resort. Superficially it is a nice-looking hotel, with clean comfortable bedrooms and lots of good pools. So if all you want to do is sleep, swim and sunbathe, you may find it satisfactory (although even sleeping was problematic because the air conditioner pumped dirty air right over the bed, causing us to wake coughing if we slept with it on). I felt that it is a place run on the cheap. The reception, up some steep steps, is a most unwelcoming and unattractive barn of a place, and other public areas are similarly stark. Most of the blocks do not have lifts, and we were shocked to be offered a room on the top floor of a block without a lift, as we needed one. However, after telling us there were no other rooms they did move us to a room in block 7, which has a lift, but which is farthest from the a la carte restaurant and the beach - quite a long trek to get to these. The beach, when you reach it, is very crowded with loungers.
We stayed here on an all-inclusive basis, but this does not cover food and drink from some of the bars. It does, however, allow you to eat either at the buffet or the a la carte restaurant. I only ate one buffet dinner and the food was truly terrible - cold, unappetising and little for vegetarians. The a la carte food was better (also little for vegetarians), particularly the European-style food - the Thai food, however, was not wonderful - for example a green curry with chicken consisted of a generic green curry sauce into which a few slivers of dried-up chicken had been tossed, without them even absorbing the sauce. Much of the food tasted mainly of salt. The breakfast buffet was also poor, fruit juices which were watered down or contained additives, croissants which were just croissant-shaped bread, fruit which was unripe. The waiting staff at breakfast were not well trained or supervised - not their fault, but they seemed to find it difficult to observe or fulfil guests' needs.
There is a massage centre at this hotel - I had what was supposed to be the light massage, but found it quite violent - it was done in an open-air area, men and women in the same area, and anyone in the rooms nearby could have watched - perhaps this is the Thai way, but I have had so much better elsewhere.
This is quite a large hotel, and so bound to be a bit impersonal - but it would have been nice to feel welcomed (not by a drink of orange juice with additives) and that if we had a problem someone was interested in solving it.
This hotel was marketed by our tour company as 4-star, but I do not think it is anything like that.

Room Tip: If you need a room in a block with a lift, make this clear when booking and be prepared for a long walk to the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews