We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights.. Amazing food, nice and clean pools, right on the beach (paid 150 b for 2 sun beds for a day), peaceful location.. Walking distance from FantaSea..

Overall an excellent stay.. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TestingTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    435
    131
    54
    17
See reviews for
175
741
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our first trip overseas and we picked Kamala beach area due to being told it was a slower paced town with nice beaches. We were disappointed!!!
Location- walk straight out of the hotel on to the beach, a short walk up the beach (with great shops, restaurants, bars along the beach line) and your walking through town. About a half hour to hour transfer to major towns and attractions (that we went to), which is a pleasent drive and a great way to see the areas.
Beach- along the main used area the beach is lovely and clean, safe swimming sections roped off to show you where to swim and to keep any debris away from this area.
Restaurants in resort- two to choose from. Fantastic service, great food, lovely decor, and reasonable prices. Great live music some nights too.
Pools- amazing, big, clean and beautiful. Never had a problem finding a sun bed by the pool, some people would leave their towels there during the day to reserve a bed, but during our stay there were plenty of free beds to choose from so it was never a problem.
Rooms- we had the junior sweet (level 3) and our travelling partner had a standard basic room in the newer if the two wings. Both rooms were lovely! Great showers, BIG beds, fridges big enough for the hotel items as well as our extra beers we purchased from the mini mart.
Staff and service- every staff member we met was kind and helpful, always a smile and a hello. The reception were great and booked all our activities for us at no charge. We made friends with a few staff in particular and it was great to see them and chat each day and get advice in the local areas, etc.

We did not have a single complaint. The quality of the resort is top notch, the staff (cleaning, reception, bar, restaurant etc) were amazing!! The location of the resort was perfect for exploring Phuket and Kamala. There were also special touches like a bottle in wine on arrival (this trip was our late honeymoon) plus flowers in the bed. My husband also had his birthday during our stay and he received a card and a free bottle if wine for when we dined at the restaurant.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kyles05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Room was nice. There were multiple pools and a good beach in front. Beach was in a busy area that had lots of shops and restaurants which was convenient, but not as quiet/relaxing as it could have been - just depends what you want. Ate at hotel restaurant once, but prices were much better at the off resort restaurants. Had to pay for chairs on beach, but they were free at the pool. Free internet in lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jl21Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is ideally situated right on the beach. The pools are excellent. Housekeeping does an excellent job. I enjoyed the free water aerobics class and the gym was well appointed. It is an adults only resort.
Points to be aware of:
The wifi is not free in the rooms; it is free in the lobby, but painfully slow. Give yourself adequate time to check-out.
When I had been in the lobby using the WI-fi during my stay I could never understand why people had so much trouble checking out. I soon discovered why. When you check-out they send someone to your room to check the room for use of the mini-bar, breakage, etc. They incorrectly were going to charge us $1000 bahts for a missing bathrobe. We had never used the bathrobe. When we objected they sent someone back to the room to double check and then removed the incorrect charge. This check-out required 15 minutes to complete.
I would also recommend booking van service from the airport through the hotel. It cost exactly the same as a taxi, but was very prompt, clean, and they provided bottled water for the drive.
While the hotel is directly on the beach and it is easy to walk to beach restaurants, bars, and shops, the beach is public. Being a public beach, you will have to pay for the use of a lounge chair.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveladdict032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We came to Thailand to get married and chose this hotel to stay in for the week leading up to it, our friends and family chose it also. By the time we left for the wedding in nearby Surin we had a total of 15 of us on this hotel. Its sister hotel Sunwing is literally next door. As the sunwing is child friendly (sunprime is not) we also had 14 of our friends and their children stay next door.
The whole experience was absolutely ideal. The hotel is situated right on the beach for easy access with a host of bars and beach restaurants to choose from all in easy walking distance. The Sunprime has two swimming pools to choose from and the Sunwing several more. The food and service in the in house restaurants is excellent and of good value. Hotel facilities are very good and it has a shop and ATM on site for your convenience. Room servicing is of a very high standard and each and every one of us enjoyed our stay immensely. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Just remember to pick the Sunprime if you want to avoid those pesky kids!
Two slight downsides. First the hotel provide a shuttle bus that goes to Patong several times per day and they charge 100 baht per person for a one way journey, while it’s a quarter of the price of a taxi I believe after paying for the rooms this should be included. I am of the same opinion of the “free WiFi” that is only free in the hotel lobby and has to be paid for elsewhere in the hotel. It’s a shame that these two elements feel like they are squeezing the tourist for every last baht as overall I cannot fault the hotel or the 8 days we stayed here. Several of us are already planning next years return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandGT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in April 2014 at Kamala. We had the room just above the lobby. I like the fact that it’s situated right on the beach. And surrounding the left and right of the beach are shops and restaurants. You must explore on foot. Everything is here. Kamala Beach – an all-inclusive beach without the need to explore Patong. Highly recommended. Although it would boost the hotel service more if the staffs are trained on the motto that 'Customers are always right! Front desk staffs needs to be friendlier & SMILE!
The only downside in this resort is the wifi. For the price that we paid, they should have wifi all over. Then you won’t have guests hanging round the lobby just to use the wifi. I bought the room’s wifi, but it is so slow. Why bother your guests to pay for wifi in the room when you know the wifi doesn’t works in room. This is the digital era, wifi is no more an option – it’s a necessity to stay in touch with families while you are on holiday!
Other then that, it’s a great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyLeeBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent hotel!!! Very clean and friendly!!!!! Great value for money and great location right on the beach!!! So much variety food wise at the resort and also in close proximity to the beach. Local Friday night markets are a MUST!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleysha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
2.1 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Sunwing Kamala Beach
#10 of 36 in Kamala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)

Property: Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing