We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

In June I travelled to Thailand for the first time with two good friends, we stayed at Kamala beach. The resort was immaculate, the staff friendly although their English was slightly limited. Being out of season only one restuarant was operational, the choices of food were however excellent and if you needed a change take a tuk-tuk or walk into Kamala Village which had a few places to try out. The hotel also offers daily shuttles to Patong which was fantastic as the night life was exceptional and well worth the 20 minute ride each way. The resort also has in-house massage services under a lapa in the garden. Fantastic Thai, oil, head and shoulders massages for 1 hour for THB 300, EXCELLENT Value ( $10, Euro 7, ZAR100). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    450
    137
    56
    18
See reviews for
183
780
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We traveled to Thailand for a 2 week honeymoon and Phuket was the last place we visited. We stayed at this resort and upon our arrival we were less than impressed. The hotel has a semi private drive, however it appears that locals/hotel staff are staying in not so charming huts across the way in plain sight of the hotel. The hotel entrance was pretty underwhelming, we were given a complimentary refreshment on arrival which was a nice touch, however we were forced to hurry up and drink it as we were not allowed to leave the lobby and go to our room with it. Bell boys did not appear to want to help with getting our baggage to our room on the 3rd floor (there are no elevators). Room was welcoming and the staff had done special things to make us honeymooners feel special which was also appreciated. Otherwise, the cleaning staff did a decent enough job keeping rooms clean (although we had ants in our bed pretty well every night). There was wifi available for free in the lobby, however you had to pay an additional 1000 baht per hour to use it anywhere else in the resort, which was a huge inconvenience as we relied on the internet to plan excursions and where to eat during our stay! It was the raining season, so the hotel was not busy, perhaps this is why none of the activities listed on their activities board took place in the week that we stayed there, and only 1 of the restaurants was ever open. The room service was quite good, but expensive, they charge you an extra amount and your expected to tip on top of it. If you're looking for good thai food, DO NOT eat at the hotel restaurant. Their breakfasts were good, but aside from that its not worth eating there. There are markets and restaurants as well as massage places in the area and its a short distance to Patong beach.
The hotel grounds were nice, but not very well maintained. There are many pools,which is nice, however they're not very well cleaned (always bits/and branches floating around). The beach is not the nicest in comparison to other places in Phuket, and in our week there we could only swim in the water 1 day because the water is quite rough and there is no one patrolling it. The resort was in a beautiful location even though a little further removed from the others, and was still lovely despite everything we said in our review. Our greatest disappointment was the hotel staff (front desk, restaurant, grounds, bell boys). We have never stayed anywhere where the staff was so indifferent. Most of the staff unfortunately failed to acknowledge anyone in the lobby literally every time we walking through, no one every smiled or greeted us with a thai "hello", like they did in other places we stayed at. You would pass staff in other areas of the resort and nod your head in greeting and most often than not you would get nothing in response. The staff were always busy joking and carrying on between them to even stop and notice there were other people around. Worst of all, no one at the front desk could really speak or understand English well enough to work at the front desk. Having worked many years in the service industry, this was unacceptable. I am bilingual, and I know it is difficult to learn another language, but you cannot have staff working at the front desk (the people your customers rely on the most), unable to properly communicate in the language that the majority of your guests speak in. We hope they will be increasing their standards for customer service, because we will not be coming back to this resort, and we will certainly not be recommending it to anyone we know.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd or 4th floors, as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zafri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Checked in to to discover we were upgraded to a large first floor room due to off season renovations. excellent service and so clean and fresh looking for an older resort. Airport transfer arrangment with resort recommended prior to arrival.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicholasknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in older section and loved it. Close to breakfast, beach and two of the four pools. Quiet resort and great to have a no children section. Good facilities and close to great local traders for shopping, eating and supermarket.

We will return and request same room. Housekeeping staff are excellent and good selection of restaurant meals. Massage on site is awesome value and same prices as Patong.

Room Tip: Would recommend the older section as it is good design and lower floor has good size verandah to sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Beautiful location right on the beach. Our 1st floor room perfectly located close to pool, breakfast room and beach. Very clean and comfortable. Value for money resort.. Clean pools, variety of food and good cocktails.
Cheryl Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: 1st floor beach end close to pool. Free wifi reaches to balcony. Quiet but friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Loved this resort so many great pools to choose from and right on Kamala Beach. Beach lovely and fine for swimming usually. We had a lovely stay here very well priced, everything extremely relaxing, mini mart in the resort and restaurant good prices,walking distance to local restaurants and an easy drive or take the hotel shuttle to patong. Glad I read the Trip advisor reviews and booked this one it was great!

Room Tip: If you want to relax this is an excellent choice! We had a room in the old section of the hotel on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnicornCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

For the third year in a row, we travelled to this hotel with Saga. We were not disappointed. The menu, already extensive and very good, had been further extended. The food without exception was excellent. The fillet steak to die for! Tom, the Saga rep, excelled again with his care and help. Another 3 weeks flew past and we were very sad to say goodbye to the lovely staff. Will we return? Only the daunting journey makes careful consideration necessary.

Room Tip: Room 1114 is right next to the beach, one of the adult only swimming pools and opposite the bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.1 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
14.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Sunwing Kamala Beach
#11 of 36 in Kamala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)

Property: Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing