We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, friendly accommodation in v. good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Kamala Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thai Kamala Village
Ranked #24 of 41 Kamala B&B and Inns
Rauland, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple, friendly accommodation in v. good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Thai Kamala Village offers quiet, simple but OK rooms with good beds & sea views. It does not offer a service of hotel-level, but is in a very good location away from the most crowds to the north, where the best bathing is. They can collect from airport. Standard breakfast is included (eggs, bacon, fruit, juice, toast & jam, tea/coffee served in the adjoining restaurant).
.

Room Tip: Upper floor best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
10
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night. Having traveled elsewhere around Phuket, it was a definite disappointment. The rooms were pretty average. They did indeed have a lovely view, but that's about the only thing that's nice about them.

They did not accept our credit card (which we used for booking), so we had to run out and get more cash from the ATM. The breakfast was terrible, and in the morning, we had to wait around for the staff to show up and get our cab/check us out. Kamala Beach itself is not that great either.

All in all, I'd give it a miss. There are much nicer places on Phuket a person could visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiafgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamala hotels

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. Our room had a nice balcony facing the sea. The room was very clean.Breakfast was 2 eggs and a piece of bacon. There is no one there in the day so you have to leave the resort to get a drink.
They wouldnt take payment with a credit card even though i had prearranged this so i had to find an atm. It was just very average. It was overpriced.

Room Tip: sea view is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9chuckademus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Booked this hotel for one night on our arrival in Phuket - glad it wasn't for longer. Booked it on the basis of reviews on trip advisor. We had sent an e-mail the morning before we travelled to see if we could get an airport pick-up: on arrival we were told by the receptionist that she had only just read the mail. To be honest it wasn't a big deal but it kind of indicated how the rest of the stay was going to go! Checked in easily but then had to drag our own heavy cases up a flight of stairs as she was the only staff member around. Room was run down and musty and tv had no remote control. No explanation from staff member as to where anything was or how things worked. Everything was switched off or plugged out i.e. fridge, air conditioning. However bed linen was clean. Lovely location right on the beach. Hotel restaurant which everyone had been raving about wasn't open - no explanation for this - just wasn't open (seems they may have been doing some renovations?). No bar or anyone around really to ask if it was possible to get a drink. Rambled out to the resort of Kamala - did not like it at all. A bit seedy and too many touts harassing you to go into shops etc. Had decided that we would not spend more than one night before we even went to bed. Had to check wi-fi downstairs for our next hotel in the deserted restaurant as it did not work in the bedrooms. The night was even more special - air conditioning unit took off like a jet engine at about 4am which put paid to having any more sleep that night. Only cold water tap in bathroom and shower was very hard to regulate temperature. Breakfast was nice and was the one and only table service breakfast we had on the whole trip. However, you had better like eggs! I guess the moral of the story is that you get what you pay for. This was the cheapest hotel we stayed in for our 3 week trip and it had every evidence of it. However there is better value at this price or for a little more out there. Could not possibly recommend this hotel to anyone unless they get their act together.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The pictures set a certain expectation. When I got here I found an old room, rusty fridge, old furniture and an uncomfortable bed. Theres even a hole in the door covered up and stuffed with tissue paper.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Very clean, directly at the beach, amazing breakfast and low price

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wwtraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

As I did not like the tourist invaded beaches of Kata, Karon or Patong I decided to move to Kamala beach. This beach is not as popular with tourists, however it also offers all the amenities, stores and bars but on a much smaller and likeable scale.

The Thaikamala Village is directly located on the beach of Kamala, there is no road or noisy bars in front of it. All rooms have a great view over the ocean and a nice balcony. The hotel is calm as in front there is only the ocean and on the other side it is a bit away from the road (and therefore not easy to find). The hotel seems to be popular with older couples who enjoy a more quite vacation. These customers seem to visit on a regular basis, so the hotel can be booked out at times. There are maybe 30 rooms in the hotel. The rooms offer a minibar and satellite TV.

Price: We paid 1800Baht for high season, however if you stay longer you get a discount. This may not be very cheap for Thailand, but if you don`t want to keep looking for ages this is a good value place to stay at Kamala beach.

Positive: Great location, Kamala Beach is not as spoiled as the rest of Phuket yet. The hotel is directly on the beach and it is located calm. All rooms have a great view on the ocean. The staff is very nice and everybody truly makes an effort to make your stay as great as possible. During our stay everybody was extraordinary friendly and helpful. We appreciated this a lot coming from Kata beach. The girl at the reception was especially kind to us (unfortunately I forgot her name). The owner (French or Belgian) came over a bit grumpy, but his Thai employees made that up completely.

Negative: The rooms are very simple and the furniture is old. However the beds are good and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. The balcony offers not too much privacy as other people can look onto your balcony.

Conclusion: Being rather young I did not mind sharing the hotel with retired couples as the location was perfect and the staff was lovely. When visiting Kamala beach I would go again and I can recommend this hotel to everybody who likes a great location, doesn`t mind simple rooms and appreciates friendly staff.

  • Liked — Great location, Great view, Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Simple rooms are not for everybody
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank palerider98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Natacha Beachfront Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Baan Chaba Bungalows
Baan Chaba Bungalows
#36 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kamala Dreams
Kamala Dreams
#19 of 36 in Kamala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Layalina Hotel
Layalina Hotel
#8 of 41 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sungthong Kamala Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Kamala Sea View
Kamala Sea View
#15 of 32 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Kamala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Kamala Village

Property: Thai Kamala Village
Address: 93 Moo3 Rim-Hard Rd., Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai Kamala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thai Kamala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Kamala Village Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing