We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Aquamarine Resort.

Our first impression of the Resort was that it was very outdated but clean nevertheless. Check in went smoothly and we had no issues.

When we got to our room again first impression was that it was dated but clean. The beds are so uncomfortable and so hard it was sleeping on the floor! The view from the delux ocean view room is great.

We ate at the restaurants only because the distance to Patong is about 10-15 minutes by taxi or tuk-tuk (about AU$12). The food was ok nothing fantastic and as expected with any Resort expensive. The staff at the restaurants were friendly however the bar and pool staff were very unhelpful, slow and rude. I would suggest saving time and money by going to the 7/11 down the road and buying beers there, much quicker and cheaper (we did this and ended up getting 24 beers for a little under AU$20 .

Like most people have mentioned previously, the Resort is located on quite a steep hill so if you have any difficulties with fitness or injury do not even consider this Resort.

The Resort does offer shuttle bus into Patong 3 times a day but you have to find your own way back (we paid about 400bht one way which seemed to be the going rate). But you do have to book 1 day ahead to be guaranteed a seat.

All in all the Resort is cheap, clean and has great views BUT some of the staff are rude, it is outdated and the beds are rock hard. Like anything though you really do get what you pay for though but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagsmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    223
    107
    44
    29
See reviews for
95
315
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

My wife and I travelled here for a few days during our honeymoon trip. This was our first time in Phuket but not our first time in this type of resort environment. I did EXTENSIVE research on hotels in the Phuket area and I booked this resort because it looked like a place we'd enjoy. We are not fancy people but do enjoy luxury at a good price when it can be had. This place delivered. I do not have any negative things to say. Everyone does their job correctly and are very friendly. The rooms are very clean and zen. If you're looking for a couple's retreat, this place is nice and romantic. The property is managed well and everything seems perfect! I'd definitely come back a second time. If you've been looking @ 10 other properties and cannot decide which one, take my word and try this one because they've got their A-game on. Enjoy your travels :)

A few things to mention: trip from Airport should be done by Taxi-Meter. Their price is DECENT. don't bargain. But on the way back to the airport, you have to pay the price of the hotel/local taxis because Taxi-Meters don't work in the town of Kamala. Also the hotel has free shuttle buses to Kamala beach (3 minute drive) and also to Patong Beach (15-20 minutes).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chknlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

From the first moment we arrived we were welcomed with smiles. The staff are all super friendly and helpful. The hotel is well equipped with restaurant x2, bars and 3 pools. Happy hour is always popular, the cocktails look both great and taste devine. The rooms too are well equipped, though the beds weren't the comfiest we've slept on. The hotel offers free shuttles to Kamala Beach and Patong, talk about an added bonus. The in-house spa offers fantastic treatments. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and took some time to enjoy a 90 min Thai massage - what an experience! The restaurant buffet breakfast is wonderful, so many selections. Be careful though if having the hotel do your laundry - we were stung around $65 Australian dollars for no more than a kilo of washing! We then found a side stall vendor who offerred the same service for a mere $3 per kg! All in all a fabulous experience, we will be returning with our kids in tow next year :-)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

The four of us arrived there about midday and we had to wait around for and hour and a half before we could go to our rooms as the staff seemed confused which we found a bit odd because we paid from the previous night so there should have been no-one in our rooms they picked us up in a golf buggy took us to our rooms which was up a very large hill they had a service where we were supposed be able to call for the buggy when we needed it but it was always broken down and the other one was always in use staff werent as friendly as other places we have been to the rooms did have million dollar veiws but we can recommend the food there

Room Tip: try for a room at start of hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The resort was lovely the 3 pools are so nice and the staff were all very nice the package is great value and our 90m massage was to die for it was our anniversary that day and the ladys made it so nice and gave us some roses and when we got back later there was a lovely cake in our room we had the seafood B.B.Q for our free meal it was great only one thing I could say is they need a bus to Patong between the 11.30 one and 5.30 one about 3 would be good the beach at Kamala is beautiful had a nice massage on the beach and some nice food our room was clean and great view had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyRBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed in Aquamarine for 4 days and the reception was good. We had an early check in after confirming with staff over emails and was greeted with smiles and welcomes.

Weather in Phuket was great despite it being low season, rainfalls only at night time or slight showers on early morning. Only drawback was the buffet breakfast was pretty consistent... always had the same menu, would be great if there is more food choices. The complimentary sunrise and sunset cocktails was great. :)

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking on steps, try to inform receptionist to assist and give you rooms closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed for 8 nights (Getaway voucher) - 2 adults, 2 teenagers in interconnecting deluxe sea view rooms. The highlight for us was the location of the resort - on a hill overlooking the Andaman Sea, away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. The staff are lovely. We were greeted with smiles, cold towels, welcome drinks and a golf cart ride to our rooms. Staff are happy to ferry you to and from your room each day but we enjoyed the exercise!
The buffet breakfast is adequate, not spectacular. The set dinner in the Thai restaurant was a feast! The 90 min body scrub and massage at the day spa was FANTASTIC! The pools are great, with a few happy hours throughout the day so you can enjoy the "Phuket Smiles".
Kamala Beach is much nicer than Patong Beach and there is an hourly shuttle between 9am and 5pm. We ate at several places in Kamala that we would recommend - Beer House Restaurant, Fino (on the beach), Live Present Moment and Basilico. For lovely food close to the resort walk 5 minutes to White Orchid - great spring rolls and the whole baked fish in ginger was delicious!
If you are looking for 5 star luxury, this resort is not for you. However, if you want an affordable, peaceful holiday in an amazing location this will suit. The rooms are tired and the air con is noisy but the location, staff and facilities make up for it.
The resort offers three bus trips to Patong each day but you need to book a day in advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
1.2 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarine Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Property: Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Address: 17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#11 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Resort & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Aquamarine Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Marine Resort And Villa
Aqua Marine Resort & Villa Hotel Kamala
Aquamarine Hotel Kathu
Aquamarine Resort Kathu
Aquamarine Resort & Villa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing