We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our last stop after travelling, Khao Lak, Krabi & Lanta. 3 nights was too short! Its a beautiful hotel set high in the hills next to the beach. We upgraded to a sea view room which looked out onto Kamala bay. The beach right opposite the hotel is not really a swimming beach as there are many rocks but you can walk 10 minutes to Kamala beach. The two infinity pool are just fantastic.The breakfast is really big with a wide variety, I would however recommend that the hotel get covers for the food as fruit flies cover the salad and fruit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charnevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    227
    110
    45
    29
See reviews for
96
323
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just returned from a great stay at the aquamarine. The resort is traditional thai design and gives you a wonderful feel of thailand. My room ( oceanview) consisted of twin beds on a raised wooden floor. Decor again is traditional and tasteful, although the dark wood panelling on walls and floor means that the room is dark and lights needed even during day time. Mattress/pillows firm which is not uncommon in asia, however reception did offer to try and soften with blankets on check in. ( not needed). Breakfast was busy but then people seemed to disappear, so that you always felt like you had peace and tranquility. Breakfast had great selection, pancakes, eggs, pastries and diff types of bread, fresh fruit being cut in front of you, cereals, asian and western dishes.The setting for breakfast is almost devine, with views if pool and ocean.
Pools there are three and all lovely, on a couple of occasions I had the pool to myself. Massages in the lotus spa, within the resort also well recommended, ( they had a two for one offer but happy to let me attend for massage on two consequtive days).
The resort is perched on the side of a hill and a do able walk 15-20 min to main beach and village. there is also free shuttle bus from resort to patong or beach.
Staff were all so polite and friendly.
Only downside was that it seemed to be all couples or groups and I was the only solo traveller, so felt that I looked a little out of place.On one evening happy hour was just me at the bar!
Also the mini mart in the hotel is pricey.
All in all though, it was a great place to relax,swim, read and recharge the batteries. ( which is what i wanted).
Thank you to Philip and all the staff for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondee2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great resort, fantastic pools, friendly staff. As a mature couple it suited us completely. It was a quiet location yet within easy reach of everything, free shuttle bus was fabulous . Kamala is the Best location to stay, the beach and town are great. Breakfast in the resort was terrific, good cross section of options, you can even have omelettes cooked to order! You couldn't find better swimming pools anywhere ( for adults). I wouldn't stay here if I was holidaying with young children, it is not aimed at that market, there are better choices for families. Overall our best holiday ever, the resort definitely contributed to our enjoyment .

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the blocks close to reception if you have an issue with climbing hills, although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Upon arrival, we were greeted with great service! I believe the gentleman serving us was named Phillip. We arrived early, so we sat and had a drink while our rooms were being prepared. Phillip came over to chat with us, and he ended up being a great help to us. We needed to set up 2 ferry rides and 2 longtail boat rides for our departure to our next two destinations, and he set it up for us within 10 minutes....something that may have taken us hours. So that was a great start! Our rooms had a great view(top floor)! If you couldn't handle the trek up, they were happy to shuttle you up or down, any time of the day/night. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The grounds were well manicured as well. Three separate pools...all very clean with great views, and a child size waterslide. The swim up bar was great but they expect you to pay for every drink individually....no tab....they want to bill it to your room...which i have heard from several friends...that this is a bad idea due to overbilling, which isn't noticed until you check your creditcard statements. Out of the two restaurants, the food was overated/over priced. However, the breakfast smorg was decent. I didn't feel that the staff in the restaurants were that great. They forgot our drinks at 2 meals. One thing that I was dissapponted with was that we booked months in advance, and paid too much money....my mother joined us at this resort with a last minute decision, and she paid half of what we paid for the exact same style of room. Overall, beautiful resort, quiet, great view, great hotel staff; not so much in the restaurant, great pools, great rooms. I would stay there again but I would not pay the full price. I would reccomend this resort to travellers.

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously have better views. Don't worry about walking up the mountain if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seabrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We arrived and were greeted with a cold face towel and refreshing cold drinks. Staff were friendly throughout the stay and were helpful when needed. We had a sea view room which was situated towards the top of the resort. Yes there is a bit of a climb to get there, but nothing as bad as other people here make it out to be. They offer to take you up by golf buggy if needed.

Walk to kamala beach was around 25 minutes and again, it does involve walking uphill when returning. Plenty of restaurants in that area with a sand beach.

We had the BBQ buffet on one night and buffet breakfast every morning. Both had a great selection of food to choose from.

Only bad experience at this resort was other guests making too much noise by slamming their doors and running around and also an excursion with elephants (animals were not treated as you would imagine)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richielee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was very disappointed with my stay here - when i arrived from the airport i had to wait 40 mins as they couldn't find my name on the system.
The lady at reception was so rude to me, they made me pay when i have already paid at the travel agency.
I requested/paid for a sea view room and they gave me a room with a view of trees no sea view, i was to exhausted to complain as i was over it by then and just accepted it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at the resort with my husband as part of our honeymoon. Kamala is about 10min taxi/tuk tuk ride into Patong and 5min to main part of Kamala. The resort is beautiful with very friendly staff. It has a number of pools and 2 restaurants. The food was average and lot more expensive compared to eating out.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radka1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.2 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
1.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarine Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Property: Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Address: 17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#11 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Resort & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aquamarine Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Marine Resort And Villa
Aqua Marine Resort & Villa Hotel Kamala
Aquamarine Hotel Kathu
Aquamarine Resort Kathu
Aquamarine Resort & Villa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing