We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Nearby Hotels
The Naka Phuket(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$459
US$361
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquamarine Resort & Villa(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$57
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamala Beach Estate(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paresa Resort Phuket(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$802
US$641
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunprime Kamala Beach(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Andara Resort and Villas(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$1,019
US$926
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,696)
Filter reviews
1,697 results
Traveller rating
917
490
168
73
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
490
168
73
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barocean suitekamala beachminute walk along the beachquiet endthai buffetsuperior roombuilding sitedirect access to the beachpool villawatching the sunsetnice beachprivate beachrelaxing holidaynight lifebeach sidesea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,084 - 1,089 of 1,697 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

New hotel, therefore room fittings are all in pristine condition. Breakfast was a disappointment but the Western and Thai dishes served at the Soul Kitchen were amazing. The staff were warm and welcoming and made our stay a relaxing and memorable one. We will definitely return to Phuket and stay at Kamala instead of Patong next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear LizaB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Great to read that you really enjoyed the western and thai food at the Soul Kitchen, but sorry to read that you felt the Breakfast selection was dissappointing? We have been working hard to get the breakfast to a high standard for our guests, but missed our target on this occasion. If you did have a few minutes to spare i would appreciate discussing this further with you. My contact is mike.smith@accor.com.

Really pleased to get your comments on the warm and welcoming staff, i will make sure that your comments are passed on to the team.

Thank you once again for your time, and we hope to have you stay with us on your next visit to Phuket.

Kind regards

Mike Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have just recently got back from staying for a week at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach and what a great location.
The hotel is located right on the beach and on the quiet part of the beach, it is almost like a private beach for the hotel.
A walk early in the morning (I went at 6.30) is possibly the best thing as the beach was almost empty and I have never found water warmer.
There is a pool at the hotel that completely overlooks the beach and plenty of loungers for the guests to lie on.
The staff at the hotel are really friendly and helpful if you have any questions and the restaurant has a good selection of local and western food.
The hotel is obviously quite new so the finishing touches still need to be added, but the rooms are comfortable and in a place like Phuket, right on the beach, you will not spend too much time in your room anyway.
Go and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwichic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Kiwiwchic22

Thank you for writing into TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us,
We are delighted to read you had such a nice stay; we love our location as much as you do and great to hear you took advantage of the beach for your early morning walk! We have been working hard with our Kitchen team to create new and exciting options for our guests and it is great to see you enjoyed our selection.
Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,
Tim Sargeant
Events & Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is tough hotel to review for me because 1) My wife hated it 2) We are fans of the family village of Khao Lak and do not really enjoy Phuket in general.

So to enjoy this hotel it really depends on the type of visitor you are.

It has a lot of great things going for it.
1) It is on the beach (You just have to take a little walk over a small bridge and you are there. (This is really rare for a hotel at this price point). This is the best thing about the hotel.
2) If you have a sea-view room in the main building you will have an excellent view
3) The pool is quite nice and the kids pool was good as well.
4) It's the last hotel on Kamal beach front so it is relatively secluded and quite (However you get a fair bit of road noise. )
5) They have kayaks you can use and the gym looks great.
6) Their new rooftop bar looks like a good place to hang out in the evenings if you enjoy that sort of thing.
7) Great that they have a kids room. Have some good quality toys but not enough of them. Needs more time.
8 ) The hotel in general looks nice and brand new.

I would recommend this hotel for those for younger couples and friends who love Phuket but what a quite location and are on a budget with access to the beach being a priority and just want to enjoy the day laying around. There were a lot of Russians staying here who seemed to be enjoying themselves.(Hard to tell sometimes as they don't smile that much)

Now for the downside.

1) We were allocated a sea-view room in the block near the garden. We had a sea-view but unfortunately from the balcony we also overlooked the neighbouring property which had a really dirty creek, with rubbish all around it. It's ugly. However some of the other rooms in the block probably avoid seeing the ugly creek but miss out on a good seaview.

- The main block appears to have wonderful sea-view rooms but to my amazement they had allocated people to rooms in that block that were not sea-view overlooking a forest/ Hwy/ Construction site that was probably more ugly than our creek. Made us think we had it good after seeing a family with kids staying in one of those rooms

- I saw the hotels plans to build another apartment block that would not have any sea-view. That was worrying but would indicate that they plan for the place to eventually having beautiful gardens.


2) The balcony seemed to gather a lot of water on it without proper drainage. And the quality of the build/ room materials is not so good. i.e the flooring is cheap vinyl flooring.

- The Bathroom is built in a way that the floor floods easily. A bit dangerous for the kids walking around.

- Also the lay out of the whole hotel is a little strange at times with inconvenient steps here and there especially for the garden block.

3) The concierge/ guy who orders taxis was not familiar with location of trip advisor restaurants and could not recommend others which was disappointing. However he scored us a nice taxi to the airport.

- We bought the travel zoo voucher and where not given our drink vouchers until we asked for them a few days later.

4) The kids room, the day we were using it there was no staff at all in there most of the day.

5) Expensive taxi into town and a little challenging to walk into town for those with young children.

6) The pool is not good for those who like to do serious swimming laps. It's for lazing about.

7) Do not buy breakfast here. Very bad. The only good thing was the fresh omelette and the fresh juice mix that they made.

At the end of the day this hotel will be great for the average young couple on a budget who really likes phuket. I did not dislike it as much as my wife and forgive some of its faults as you most likely will as well, as long as a you secure a decent Sea-view room in the main building. If you don't you might regret your decision to stay.

Room Tip: You need a Sea/ pool-view room in the main building.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 120speedracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear 120speedracer

Thank you for the comprehensive review, we appreciate the positive comments shared and welcome highlighted areas that were not so good. Please accept our sincere apologies for the miss communication between our staff with your TravelZoo Drink Voucher; we have followed this up with our Front Office team to insure that this situation does not reoccur. Your points regarding navigating around the hotel have been taken on board and you will be pleased to know we a currently improving our signage so that our guests can find their way around the Hotel easier, but we would like to thank you for the helpful comments you raised, with reviews such as yours this helps us build and improve our overall product and will get us to our end goal faster.
Again, thanks very many comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Tim Sargeant
Events and Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just had 10 days here, wonderful location. Staff are extremely helpful and hotel is wonderful. Needs a few more finishing touches, and when it rained the water was coming in to the corridors leading to our rooms. The smell from the sewage system was a bit overwhelming under our room was the only real down side. Would recommend this hotel with out hesitation, I think it is closer to a 5 star hotel. Day spa amazing..tour desk kris very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room looking over beach in the centre of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Rosemary M
Thank you for taking the time to write into TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
Great to read you had a wonderful stay, and you enjoyed the Spa treatments at In Balance Spa! Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the interesting odor; you will be pleased to know this has been addressed, but we appreciate you mentioning this to us.
Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Tim Sargeant
Events & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews