We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We recommended our wedding guests stay at the Novotel Kamala beach and wanted to thank the entire staff at the Novotel Kamala for helping to make our wedding week in Phuket an amazing experience. Their professionalism, attention to detail and willingness to be flexible with our changing requests was exemplary. The staff made our guests feel welcome and relaxed and they always had smiling faces and a willingness to lend a hand.

We also wanted to thank the hotel for the great food and service at the restaurant and roof top bar. The breakfast each morning was great. We are particularly fond of the eggs/omlete bar and the fresh fruit and juices. Your lunch/dinner menu has some of the most tasty Thai dishes we've had and that's a huge compliment from us, given that we love Thai food. We also wanted to thank you for helping us to host our group dinner functions and wedding cocktail reception which ran very smoothly. The food at your hotel is authentic and tasty and we know that many of our wedding guests feel the same way.

We felt that you all deserve a big thank you for making the Novotel Kamala a special place for its guests. A special thank you to Khun Ben who is the most professional and service-orientated service personnel we have met in Phuket. We have dealt with many resorts, villa management companies, tour operators and wedding planners while planning our wedding and without a doubt, Khun Ben has been the most outstanding. In fact, her commercial approach to try and accommodate our requests helped us to decide to send our wedding guests to stay at the Novotel Kamala.

A huge thank you Khun Ben and team and we hope to see you again on our next visit to Phuket.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bouvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear bouvious
It gives us great pleasure to reply to such a fantastic review, thank you! We are so pleased to read we made a part of your wedding week so memorable. I will personally pass on your comments to Khun Ben and the team; they will be thrilled to hear your comments regarding their professionalism and attention to detail!
Again, thank you! We look forward to your next stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Tim Sargeant.
Events & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    397
    131
    58
    26
See reviews for
344
665
73
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Novotel Kamala Beach is a bit of a find - great value for money and a relaxing experience well placed in Phuket away from the noisy bustle of the bigger towns.

On first arrival the place looked still under construction (which in parts it still is), but turn the corner and pull up to the open air reception area and you know you've found somewhere great, with leafy views of the quiet beach and bay.

We were on a promotional group buy package and couldn't believe the quality vs cost. It's not 5 Star, but doesn't claim to be, and still settling into its 4 Star rating, but proved a taste of the good life at a budget that makes me want to return.

The food is good quality and earlier comments about breakfast seem unfounded - yes if you're later for breakfast a lot of food has gone, but when we stayed it was being replaced frequently and you only had to ask for anything you wanted.

Staff were friendly and attentive, and in my experience had a good grasp of English.

The infinity pool with bar is nice, the gym is pretty well kitted out and there are adequate loungers. The beach is relaxing and there's on site and on the beach massages etc.

The negatives didn't prove to distract our stay greatly. It's solitude means it's further away from shops and other bars, but a brief walk along the beach sorts that out, and there's some good beachside restaurants within easy reach. It's less well served by taxi (costs a bit more, minimum fare was 500baht) but we rented scooters when we needed to at a cheap price. Minibar prices not unreasonable and cheaper than their bars.

We went primarily for diving and it was well served by dive centres with inclusive daily pickups at about 7am, returning about 7pm, subject to where you have been diving. We dived with Aussie divers and they served us well, rearranging things so i could dive different sites every day whilst my friend got his PADI certification.

Didn't really do much nightlife on this trip due to the focus on diving and if so, would have been better staying in Kata or Patong, but this served us very well and I recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, block A looks out over the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moore2nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Moore2nick,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor.

Great to read that you enjoyed the quality of our food and our breakfast, its is something that we are continually working on to give good variety and selection, i will pass your comments on to the kitchen team, its always a good boost for team morale.

Your comments regarding the construction near the entranceway have come up before, pleased to say that the small appartment block being built on the main road is on private land which just happens to be adjacent to ours, someone else has realised the beauty of the area.

Thank you for your comments on the friendly staff and the service that they provided, it is also something that we are continually striving to improve.

It was great having you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

New hotel, therefore room fittings are all in pristine condition. Breakfast was a disappointment but the Western and Thai dishes served at the Soul Kitchen were amazing. The staff were warm and welcoming and made our stay a relaxing and memorable one. We will definitely return to Phuket and stay at Kamala instead of Patong next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear LizaB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Great to read that you really enjoyed the western and thai food at the Soul Kitchen, but sorry to read that you felt the Breakfast selection was dissappointing? We have been working hard to get the breakfast to a high standard for our guests, but missed our target on this occasion. If you did have a few minutes to spare i would appreciate discussing this further with you. My contact is mike.smith@accor.com.

Really pleased to get your comments on the warm and welcoming staff, i will make sure that your comments are passed on to the team.

Thank you once again for your time, and we hope to have you stay with us on your next visit to Phuket.

Kind regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have just recently got back from staying for a week at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach and what a great location.
The hotel is located right on the beach and on the quiet part of the beach, it is almost like a private beach for the hotel.
A walk early in the morning (I went at 6.30) is possibly the best thing as the beach was almost empty and I have never found water warmer.
There is a pool at the hotel that completely overlooks the beach and plenty of loungers for the guests to lie on.
The staff at the hotel are really friendly and helpful if you have any questions and the restaurant has a good selection of local and western food.
The hotel is obviously quite new so the finishing touches still need to be added, but the rooms are comfortable and in a place like Phuket, right on the beach, you will not spend too much time in your room anyway.
Go and enjoy!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwichic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Kiwiwchic22

Thank you for writing into TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us,
We are delighted to read you had such a nice stay; we love our location as much as you do and great to hear you took advantage of the beach for your early morning walk! We have been working hard with our Kitchen team to create new and exciting options for our guests and it is great to see you enjoyed our selection.
Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,
Tim Sargeant
Events & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is tough hotel to review for me because 1) My wife hated it 2) We are fans of the family village of Khao Lak and do not really enjoy Phuket in general.

So to enjoy this hotel it really depends on the type of visitor you are.

It has a lot of great things going for it.
1) It is on the beach (You just have to take a little walk over a small bridge and you are there. (This is really rare for a hotel at this price point). This is the best thing about the hotel.
2) If you have a sea-view room in the main building you will have an excellent view
3) The pool is quite nice and the kids pool was good as well.
4) It's the last hotel on Kamal beach front so it is relatively secluded and quite (However you get a fair bit of road noise. )
5) They have kayaks you can use and the gym looks great.
6) Their new rooftop bar looks like a good place to hang out in the evenings if you enjoy that sort of thing.
7) Great that they have a kids room. Have some good quality toys but not enough of them. Needs more time.
8 ) The hotel in general looks nice and brand new.

I would recommend this hotel for those for younger couples and friends who love Phuket but what a quite location and are on a budget with access to the beach being a priority and just want to enjoy the day laying around. There were a lot of Russians staying here who seemed to be enjoying themselves.(Hard to tell sometimes as they don't smile that much)

Now for the downside.

1) We were allocated a sea-view room in the block near the garden. We had a sea-view but unfortunately from the balcony we also overlooked the neighbouring property which had a really dirty creek, with rubbish all around it. It's ugly. However some of the other rooms in the block probably avoid seeing the ugly creek but miss out on a good seaview.

- The main block appears to have wonderful sea-view rooms but to my amazement they had allocated people to rooms in that block that were not sea-view overlooking a forest/ Hwy/ Construction site that was probably more ugly than our creek. Made us think we had it good after seeing a family with kids staying in one of those rooms

- I saw the hotels plans to build another apartment block that would not have any sea-view. That was worrying but would indicate that they plan for the place to eventually having beautiful gardens.


2) The balcony seemed to gather a lot of water on it without proper drainage. And the quality of the build/ room materials is not so good. i.e the flooring is cheap vinyl flooring.

- The Bathroom is built in a way that the floor floods easily. A bit dangerous for the kids walking around.

- Also the lay out of the whole hotel is a little strange at times with inconvenient steps here and there especially for the garden block.

3) The concierge/ guy who orders taxis was not familiar with location of trip advisor restaurants and could not recommend others which was disappointing. However he scored us a nice taxi to the airport.

- We bought the travel zoo voucher and where not given our drink vouchers until we asked for them a few days later.

4) The kids room, the day we were using it there was no staff at all in there most of the day.

5) Expensive taxi into town and a little challenging to walk into town for those with young children.

6) The pool is not good for those who like to do serious swimming laps. It's for lazing about.

7) Do not buy breakfast here. Very bad. The only good thing was the fresh omelette and the fresh juice mix that they made.

At the end of the day this hotel will be great for the average young couple on a budget who really likes phuket. I did not dislike it as much as my wife and forgive some of its faults as you most likely will as well, as long as a you secure a decent Sea-view room in the main building. If you don't you might regret your decision to stay.

Room Tip: You need a Sea/ pool-view room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 120speedracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear 120speedracer

Thank you for the comprehensive review, we appreciate the positive comments shared and welcome highlighted areas that were not so good. Please accept our sincere apologies for the miss communication between our staff with your TravelZoo Drink Voucher; we have followed this up with our Front Office team to insure that this situation does not reoccur. Your points regarding navigating around the hotel have been taken on board and you will be pleased to know we a currently improving our signage so that our guests can find their way around the Hotel easier, but we would like to thank you for the helpful comments you raised, with reviews such as yours this helps us build and improve our overall product and will get us to our end goal faster.
Again, thanks very many comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Tim Sargeant
Events and Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just had 10 days here, wonderful location. Staff are extremely helpful and hotel is wonderful. Needs a few more finishing touches, and when it rained the water was coming in to the corridors leading to our rooms. The smell from the sewage system was a bit overwhelming under our room was the only real down side. Would recommend this hotel with out hesitation, I think it is closer to a 5 star hotel. Day spa amazing..tour desk kris very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room looking over beach in the centre of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Rosemary M
Thank you for taking the time to write into TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
Great to read you had a wonderful stay, and you enjoyed the Spa treatments at In Balance Spa! Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the interesting odor; you will be pleased to know this has been addressed, but we appreciate you mentioning this to us.
Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Tim Sargeant
Events & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
2.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 118/16 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers to Phuket now have an exciting new choice of accommodation with the opening of Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach Resort, a newly-built beachfront resort located on idyllic Kamala Beach on the island’s western coast. This upper-midscale resort promises a serene retreat for travellers visiting the Pearl of the Andaman Sea. The resort offers the best of both worlds – guests who want to relax can indulge themselves on the quiet, tranquil stretch of white sand beach and enjoy the resort’s full-service facilities, but when there’s an itch to shop or experience Phuket’s renowned attractions, vibrant Patong Beach is just a 10-minute ride away.The 166 guest rooms, suites, and villas have been designed to present guests with spacious, modern and efficient room functionalities, while maintaining the full sense of relaxation and comfort for which the Novotel brand is globally renowned. The resort features contemporary décor inspired by nature with touches of wood throughout, and each guest room boasts views of either the lush gardens or the Andaman Sea. In the rooms, guests can find top-of-the-line amenities and new features such as a connectivity panel for TV media and free Wi-Fi internet access throughout the resort.The resort’s modern F&B outlets respond perfectly to any traveller’s tastes. The resort’s Soul Kitchen is an all-day dining restaurant that combines innovative international and modern Thai cuisine plus Healthy Food menus featuring fresh organic and locally-produced dishes. The restaurant overlooks the beach with a large outdoor veranda, allowing guests to dine while enjoying the cool sea breeze. On the Roof is a rooftop bar with a 180° amazing view of Kamala Bay’s clear turquoise water surrounded by forested hills and a to-die-for sunset view. The Living Room lobby bar offers light snacks and a variety of beverages to welcome guests with a touch of Thai hospitality. At the swim up Lilo Pool Bar, guests can also relax by the pool and enjoy cocktails and refreshments with a stunning view of the beach. For wellness and full relaxation, the resort has an outdoor infinity swimming pool and a wellness centre, In|Balance, which extends its invitation to all guests to exercise in its well-equipped fitness centre or drift off to heaven with spa and massage treatments. The resort’s Kid’s Club can keep children entertained with educational and fun-filled activities while parents take a dip in the sea, exercise, or indulge themselves with a spa treatment.Meeting at Novotel Phuket Kamala BeachTrue to Novotel’s commitment to successful meetings, the hotel's main function room can accommodate up to 250 delegates and is pillar-less with natural light and a separate spacious pre-function area. The main function room can be divided into 4 multi-purpose meeting rooms for small to medium meetings and events. The meeting rooms offering state-of-the-art equipment and facilities with technical support team on standby to ensure the success of all meeting and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing