We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“R.I.P PooMaa”

Poo Maa Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #71 of 120 Restaurants in Kamala
Cuisines: Thai, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Sakon Nakhon, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“R.I.P PooMaa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Too bad, also this restaurant had to be ripped a parts after coup!

It was a best "normal" place in Kamala. Place were you were always welcome... I will miss it, I had my first date there with my wife....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Just J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent food with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We saw this little restaurant while driving around looking for lunch and were attracted by its serene location by the sea. The entrance is cute too as you have to cross a mini bamboo bridge. Service was good and we had masamman curry and basil chicken, they were ok, not bad but we've had better. However i would recommend the restaurant for the location and views.

Helpful?
3 Thank Leef99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful sunset with great food. Under a huge tree with lights and it creates an atmosphere which is lovely

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serenity and relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have just enjoyed four beautiful mesls at poo maa restsurant kamala. The owner Ton and his girlfriend are exellent hosts and speak great english. They will go out of their way to accomodate your needs. They organised some fresh crabs and fish cakes for us which werent in the menu. Ton even purchased some fireworks for my son. And the prices are embarrasingly cheap. So dig in and give them a good tip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Low Season - Fish Off The Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Went here with Thai friends looking forward to the fish as it describes itself as a seafood restaurant. The steamed fish was ordered but we were told no fish as it is low season. So we put disappointment to one side and ordered a variety of dishes, Thai of course! We were not disappointed as the quality of the food was very very good. The prices were reasonable and so were the drinks prices.
The best part of this restaurant is the seclusion overlooking Kamala Bay and far away from the masses on the busy part of Kamala Beach.
We will return - but in high season!

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poo Maa Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Poo Maa Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing