We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant with Guinness Stout” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Fresco Restaurant

Al Fresco Restaurant
Ranked #95 of 120 Restaurants in Kamala
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Kamala, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with Guinness Stout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a very nice restaurant in the heart of the beach road.
They feature a wide variety of well prepared meals. My favorite is their pizza. I always sit at their bar area so I can watch the woman make it. The whole process is entertaining. The whole time I'm indulging in a pint of Guinness Stout.
It's interesting to note that unlike some kitchens, she cleans up everything while the pizza is in the brick wood fired oven. All the ingredients are returned to the refrigerator for use on the next. It's difficult to keep things very fresh with the heat and humidity of Kamala, but, this does the trick. And, the Guinness is cold!! I think this is the only place around that has it.
The place is under the watchful eye of Max. Quite an interesting guy in his own right. He's a Russian who speaks English better than an Englishman, along with many other languages.
Give the place, and the Guinness, a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigfootLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnPalms, Owner at Al Fresco Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your nice comments on our Al Fresco Restaurant, I am glad that you enjoyed visiting us.I think we are the only place in Kamala that has "Guinness", (ice cold) as we like to offer
something a little different, and both the Guinness, and our Pizza's have proved to be a big
success with our customers. Thank you once again, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Friendly, tasty, excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The food was excellent. The atmosphere in the restaurant is welcoming. Staff were helpful and extremely friendly and attentive, the menu was varied and excellent. The staff provided the best service we've experienced in Thailand. Max, thanks again for the wonderful meals and cocktails at your restaurant. O and pizza!:)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NNadezhda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnPalms, Owner at Al Fresco Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a nice comment about Al Fresco on TripAdvisor.
Max, and all the staff are pleased that you enjoyed our food and service, and look forward to seeing
you next time you visit Phuket. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Nice place with good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nice family place, with descent Italian food (not only that, but they are really after Italian cuisine)
Nero di Sepia and Gamberi pasta among recommend meals. Prices are not dirt cheap, but not too expensive either; value for money, no doubt.
Service was good, nothing to complain about.. Very friendly manager, talking many languages!
Worth visiting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnPalms, Owner at Al Fresco Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Many thanks for your nice comments about Al Fresco, which I and all of the staff really appreciate.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Phuket. Thank you once again, especially for taking time to post here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Ordered a blueberry smoothie at 150 baht which consisted of sweetened blue water... the owner asserts that a smoothie without fruit is reasonable. Service slow and shoddy. An expensive tourist trap.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pramod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnPalms, Owner at Al Fresco Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I am not sure what restaurant/bar it was that you visited, but it certainly was not here at "Al Fresco's" in Kamala Beach, as we do NOT sell either "Blueberries" or "Blueberry Smoothies".

I also take offense at your comment that "we are an expensive Tourist Trap", once again you are wrong, as all of our food is freshly prepared and reasonably priced, and on drinks our Cocktails at 99 Thai Baht are the lowest price in all of Kamala Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Al Fresco is a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I enjoyed my thin crust pizza and topping in a good atmosphere along the beach road. The cheap cocktails were excellent value and enjoyed by the family,

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnPalms, Owner at Al Fresco Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for the nice comment here. I am glad you enjoyed your pizzas and cocktails, and we look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Fresco Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing