We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break ....perfect farm stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
“Excellent break ....perfect farm stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

A bachelor break for three stressed doctors from Bangalore, it turned out to be just right. Very professionally run farmstay by the Kothavala family. No complaints whatsoever. Brilliant food. (This is adjacent to the jungle, we were visited by a pachyderm on his late night jaunt two nights in a row). Extremely clean shallow pool for frolicking.

Kothavala Sr is a fund of jungle lore and has strong opinions and expresses them in sharp witty anecdotes. Will definitely visit again.

Rooms clean and well appointed. Not recommended if you don't like monkeys, langurs, ants, insects and other denizens of nature which have been smogged to extinction in urban jungles. Be sure to request a parsi meal beforehand and you will be obliged with the most delectable cuisine.

Room Tip: The standard cottage if cheaper but farther from the dining hall and adjacent to the road...would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdityaMoorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    96
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
441
98
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here in first week of April 2012 and had a lovely time. Our kids (aged 6 and 2) enjoyed the horse rides (my son is still going on about Sugar Daddy and Gypsy), swimming pool and running after the geese, hens, deer and wild hare and peafowl that were on the farm.

The food was great, the staff were very helpful and the service was very good. The personal care and interaction with the owners and the staff sets it apart and gives you the feeling of staying with a friendly family rather than a resort.

We came back feeling rejuvenated and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We are just back from our trip from Mudumalai with some wonderful memories. We stayed in the stone house in Bamboo banks farm. It is an excellent place to stay. this is a huge property tucked into the forest, with trees all around. All day you see ducks, hens and lots of birds around you. Dears come right next to your doors. In the night 3 o'clock I woke up by some noise and looked outside my wndow, there was an elephant right in front of the window breaking big bamboo trees. This just turned our trip into the perfect one.
This 42 acres property has only 5 cotteges, wonderfully designed, gives you the real feel of forest. Foods are excellent, and every meals had some Parsie/continental/chineese preparations. The owner is very nice and never found him saying 'NO' to anything. It also has a swimming pool and horse ride in the farm is also included in your tariff.
The place, the food, the people, the ambience, location, landscape everything is perfect here, bamboo bank rocks!!! We will be back for sure!!! Thanks to Mr. Kothavala and his family for everything.

Room Tip: All are good, but according to me stone house is the best, but 'the cottege' and 'brick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank souvik2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUNE
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a glorious holiday at Bamboo Banks in March this year. Bamboo Banks is a lovely Holiday Resort professionally and efficiently managed by Zerasp and Shahnaz with guidance from their Dad. What impresses one is the thought and care that they take in making your stay comfortable and joyful. We stayed at the Brick Cottage. It is perfectly equipped with a little kitchenette. What was remarkable, was the thoughtfulness of the Management in putting a pair of scissors in a tray, along with the tea and coffee pouches. We could very happily make our early morning tea. The Parsi in me appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed the grand spread we got for all 3 meals. There was so much to choose from and all the dishes so delicious. On my return I have told all my friends I have met that they must make a trip to Bamboo Banks. It is homely, clean, beautiful, staffed with courteous and polite people and you get an opportunity to see duck, geese strutting around you, and occasionally deer, peafowl and if you are lucky elephants that come breaking in through the fences and need to be driven out. We have already asked the Kothavalas which would be the nicest season, and are planning another visit to Bamboo Banks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toskapune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

If you want a lovely caring, homely and really lovely relaxing holiday for 3/4 days, then Bamboo Banks Farm is the place. It is in Masinagudi close to the Madumalai Tiger Reserve.

It makes a perfect holiday for children too. As the name suggests it is a farm. Ducks, geese, their chicks walk about all day. The kids can take a horse ride on the sweetest horses called Sugardaddy, Gypsy, and Pavlova the on the 42 acre farm, or play with Sultan the donkey. Deer from the forest stroll into the farm and monkey prance around all day. There is also a swimming pool to loll around in. Birds abound and it is just a lovely atmosphere altogether.

There are five cottages to choose. Each one totally different but very very comfortable and clean. Daily washing facility available.

The staff are extremely helpful and the service is very good. The food is good, homely and wholesome and you can get most anything you want. So don't miss out on this holiday!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragbdubash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you’re going to Mudumalai, then Bamboo Banks Farm (BBF) is where I’d stay…for sure! You get a lot more for what you pay!

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay at BBF in Feb this year. It is a lovely 42 acre farm with 5 large cottages scattered over a picturesque surrounding. We stayed at “The Cottage” which had a great view on 3 sides from the drawing room. On one side a view of the Nilgiris and on another, the woods. The spotted deer came almost upto our cottage every morning to graze. We spotted the Malabar squirrel twice on the farm itself in the open-air lounge area under a canopy of trees. The BBF’s ducks, geese, horses and donkey, Pavlova aka Obama are a source of entertainment too.

The Kothavala family that own the farm, take great personal care of their guests and supervise the staff to ensure that the service is very good.

Meal-time was our favourite time at the farm as one is not only pampered with a fine spread of food but is also treated to the company of the Kothavala family members, all of whom had very interesting stories to share with us….Sr. Mr. Kothavala- of his days as a planter. Shahnaz showed us the school she runs for pre-primary kids and clothes store for locals in Masinagudi village. Zerasp’s keen ability to track and spot animals is AMAZING as are his photographs of the wild life in Mudumalai.

With the kind of attention and pampering one gets at BBF, getting back home and to the ol’ grindstone is quite difficult!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

When I sit at my desk at work facing a work load, my mind goes back to recent long weekend, where we spent a carefree 'surrounded by Nature' holiday!
We spoke to Mr. Kotavala himself over the phone to book the room and were convinced of a great time.
We got the Stone cottage, which has a rustic look, but totally equipped with all modern amenities!
We enjoyed waking up every morning with birds and monkeys clattering, rather that traffic noise..
Long walks inside the estate, on the narrow lanes of Masinagudi, covered with greenery and wilderness, occasionally spotting a deer or a boar. It was calming and rejuvenating
We enjoyed the alfresco ‘made to order’ breakfasts with our appetite worked up after long walks.
We did day long trip to the Safari and Elephant camps till sunset and then came back to enjoy the cozy evenings at our cottage. Listening to how the 'nocturnals' came active in the jungles.
If we need company, we always the option of meeting other guests over Bonfire and dinner as well. But we preferred to spend time alone. :-)
The Hosts are great! They have such a great history behind them and we loved their stories.
Everyone, from the hosts to the staff are very helpful, intuitive and understand the need for your privacy..
The trip from Bangalore is also so easy with or without your own car!
It is an ideal weekend getaway for us city dwellers. Either for adventure seekers or for those who want a quite nature getaway!

Room Tip: If you want utmost privacy and to be surrounded by wilderness, i would suggest the Brick cottage or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vu2siv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
1.9 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 3 in Bandipur
291 reviews
6.6 mi away
Glyngarth Resorts
Glyngarth Resorts
#19 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
45 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 31 in Masinagudi
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House

Property: Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Address: Masinigudi Village | The Nilgiris, Masinagudi 643223, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Nilgiris besides the Avarahalla stream, with a magnificent view of the famous blue hills, lies Bamboo Banks farm & Guest house. Spread over 40 acres of undisturbed nature, with 4 detached cottages providing you with modern amenities, a swimming pool set in Scenic surroundings , and homemade food to suit your palette, Bamboo Banks is the ideal place for a weekend getaway. Bamboo Banks was started in 1974 making us pioneers in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing