We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful and relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Hut

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jungle Hut
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A peaceful and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a fantastic nights stay at the Jungle Hut.
The accommodation was clean and comfortable, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. This peaceful, picturesque setting was the perfect ingredient for a relaxing nights stay. The food was delicious with a variety of Indian dishes and desserts, and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Many thanks to all the hard working staff at the Jungle Hut and we hope we can visit again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    146
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
277
119
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wellington, nilgiris, india
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

i think it is difficult to maintain a good rating. however, jungle hut manages to do that. i was wondering why every other review praised the food so much? i mean, what can be so great about the food at a resort...right? well, i was wrong. the food at this place is something i haven't seen anywhere before. it deserves every one of those reviews. i wouldn't go into the details about the food, but would just say that it will be one of the best u have ever had anywhere. the best part of jungle hut is its service. the owner, the manager and the staff are great at what they do. they make u feel at home and put in that bit extra and go that extra mile to make you feel at home. and yes its an extremely personalised service catering for every individual and every family. for example, if u are going for an early morning safari at 6 am, they catered and packed sandwiches, fruits and mineral water. this was without us asking for it. the dinner for the kids is served early in the evening. so that the parents can feed them first. all these things make jungle hut the best in the business. bottom line folks, is that if you ever go anywhere near madhumalai/masinagudi/bandhipur area for an overnight stay, JUNGLE HUT is THE place to stay, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: dont worry all the rooms are good and u doont go there to stay indoors anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gjagang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed jungle hut in the first week of June-11.

We booked super delux A/C room.

Cool Blue Pool in front of Nilgiri's, Deers, Fog,Mist, Sheeps,Ducks..........
And what not this place is truly a Nature's Lap.
Food was good (Lunch was ok, Dinner was best & breakfast was superb).
The best part was the courteous staff.
Every staffer was so humble and polite and tried their best to give the best service.

This place is ideal for people who are adventoroues


This place is ideal for people who are adventurous, Nature Lover and loves peaceful environment.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tourreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

otty is the best place to be. and with the hotel located at excellent location with breath-taking view it was worth visiting. It is great place to getaway and great value for money. The tent camping ensure full privacy which can be zipped up from outside and also inside. The food was tasty with the ambience under the stars was too good. All in all Great service and hospitality with good food.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mastersri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

My wife and I were guests of Jungle Hut for 2 nights. We stayed in a tent, which can comfortably accomodate 3 adults. The tent can be zipped up from outside as well as inside, thus ensuring full privacy. The best thing about Jungle hut is the location- it is located right at the base of the Nilgiris. The swimming pool is the place you would want to be in as it offers a great view of the hills. It is right in the middle of the jungle, so don't be surprised to hear the wild calls of the jungle residents throughtout the day. Beat this- we could see deer running right next to the swimming pool. The staff was extremely polite and friendly, ever ready to cater to our demands for food and hot tea at any time of the day/evening. The variety and the quality of food on offer was great. Overall, a great value for money and a perfect weekend getaway. We highly recommend Jungle Hut to anyone who is looking for a jungle resort away from the hustle and bustle and the summer heat of a city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arkalgudboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

My friends and me landed up at night and we were promptly attended to with a friendly smile and quick hassel free check in.
The rooms were clean and tidy and very comfortable.
Spent some good time with friends.
The food was OK, the starters were good but the ambience under the stars was just great.
The checkout was as easy and quick.
great place to stay for a short break

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venky266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We have been visiting Jungle Hut for the last 4 years, every time it only gets better. The additions are fantastic - the entertainment room, the veranda extensions to the rooms, the self serve fresh ground coffee. The food was great and the road if you are driving from Mysore too has been re-surfaced which make a great drive.
Jungle Hut is always relaxed, we enjoy it because its flexible which allows us make our own plans, there is a lot to do around the Hut and has the added benefit of Ooty being a hours drive away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.4 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
7.3 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 2 in Bandipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 30 in Masinagudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jungle Trailz
Jungle Trailz
#2 of 17 in Masinagudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#8 of 10 in Masinagudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Hut

Property: Jungle Hut
Address: Bokkapuram | Masinagudi, P.O, Masinagudi 643223, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungle Hut 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After working for 25 years on tea plantations Joe and Hermie Mathias chose to retire close to nature away from the buzzing city life. They started Jungle Hut in 1986 sharing the warmth of their home and providing the unique getaway for the adventurous traveller. Through word of mouth people from far and wide visited Jungle Hut and many of them continue to patronise us.My wife and I follow in their footsteps and open our home to you.Welcome to Jungle Hut.At 3000 feet above sea level and a range of climatic conditions, our holiday estate is surrounded by a wealth of plant and animal life that thrives amidst sparkling streams and virgin jungle. Here you can trek meandering forest paths, enjoy peace and quiet under starry skies, or be bold and explore your wild side with a jungle safari.At the end of the day treat yourself to a hot shower in our cozy rooms and then relax for a while on verandahs that offer breathtaking views while ensuring your privacy. When you're hungry, come on up to our dining area, we cater buffet meals with a home cooked feel.Through all our travels we have not come across a hideaway offering such serenity. Our guests the world over have echoed this same feeling. Don't forget to bring your camera as this is one holiday you will want to remember for a long, long time. So come, stay a while, enjoy our hospitality and nature at its best.- Anushri and Vikram Mathias. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing