We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place to unwind, close to wildlife”
Review of Jungle Hut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jungle Hut
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb place to unwind, close to wildlife”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was a long weekend and I was planning the vacation very late. Stumbled upon Jungle hut while searching places close to Ooty. First call and straight came the answer as expected - 'We are booked fully'. Next day I get a call informing that they've had cancellations and 2 rooms are available if I wanted. Booked it right-away. Booking process was simple, and appreciate their promptness in giving a call back informing about the cancellation.

Traveled with wife, kid and parents. Finding the place is not tough, and Jungle hut will guide you if you give them a ring. Location is the highlight which is pretty close to forest. In fact you'll have herds of deer roaming inside the property during the evenings, pretty close to your cottages. Jungle hut as a property is superbly maintained, and has high level of service standards. Perfectly balancing between a resort and a homestay, they combine the best of both - the essential luxury, service levels, hygiene, friendliness and the required privacy.

Check-in is pretty smooth, and we were in our rooms in few minutes. Food is another highlight. They have a good spread of Indian dishes and few western dishes, which are superb - especially the desserts. I mention the western cuisine here because they were very authentic and had original taste to it. Any special requests were taken care of by the team there. Tea, coffee and cookies were available most of the time during the day. The place is perfect for a getaway, to unwind and has few activities to indulge in. A forest drive (either in your vehicle, or they could arrange a jeep for you, or take the forest dept safari), a local trek, bird watching are few of them.

Rooms were spacious, clean and neat. A/C rooms are also available, but may not be required in most times of the year. Would definitely return in future, and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gopikrishna_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JungleHutsince1986, General Manager at Jungle Hut, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Gopi / Janaki,

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so happy to hear that you and your family have a good holiday with us.

Do look forward to having you'll stay with us again in the near future and hope to make the next stay even more memorable.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    148
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
291
121
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited Jungle Hut in June 2014.. The location is fabulous, the upkeep excellent ,the staff and their courteousness definitely above par on service orientation. Everything was well organized..This is hospitality personified by the Mathias family (Vikram Mathias, Indian Rallying Championships winner, )…They make you feel so welcome and go all out to make your stay comfortable. Hats off to the entire team. Explore the property as it's very big, full of birds and trees. Truly a bird watchers paradise.. It is at perfect location with mountain back drop, It is a right place to relax and feel rejuvenated amidst calm and serene nature.. Picture windows in the rooms allow perfect viewing of those large flocks of deer that enter the property in the evening. All rooms have ample privacy and provide good view of the peaks. Walking around the property amidst bamboo groves and their flock of sheep were exciting, my son enjoyed it. The buffet spread, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner was delicious and tempting,all credits to Anushree Mathias.Coffee/Tea/Milk is available any time.. We were lucky to get the best views and amazing wildlife safaris... Safaris basically go through the main road only, which connects mudumalai and bandipur forest areas. Only government arranged safaris are allowed to go into the forest. We did meet naturalist Sidda,very knowledgeable,soft spoken guide, but could not spend much time. The elephant camp in masinagudi is excellent, Kids will enjoy..
We have recommended Jungle Hut to few of our friends.We will be back soon…
Thanks Vikram,Anushree,Pooja n the entire team…

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prajwal_venku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JungleHutsince1986, General Manager at Jungle Hut, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Venkatesh,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing your experience at Jungle Hut.

Also appreciate you recommending our place to your friends but we also look forward to hosting you your wife and son again soon.

Wishing you all the best and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was out first visit to Jungle Hut.My husband and I had decided to spend 3 days at jungle hut to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary.Vikram and Anu are very sweet and play excellent hosts.They made sure we were comfortable and chilled over beers and chatter in the evening.

Our rooms were towards the end of the property that face the mountains,they were beautiful,clean and spacious.It was away from the main area and had a fantastic view of the majestic hills infront of us.I had a lovely foot massage and relaxed,took long walks and spent our evenings on the safari arranged for us by Jungle Hut.We were glad that we did that as we saw so many people who are totally unaware of some basic "forest rules".Loud music playing, people sitting on the windows of their cars trying to get the attention of the elephants and incessant horns greeted us at the santuary.People who would be threats to not just themselves but others on the safari as well. We saw many elephants(close to around 25/30)and the safari guy took us on some off beaten tracks for some animal spotting as well.
I was especially touched by the lovely cake that was arranged for us on our anniversary.Thank you so much,the gesture was so genuine and lovely.
All in all a fantastic holiday,more jungle hut days ahead of us for sure. Looking forward to seeing vikram and anushree again.Love from the big city :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traavelbugggster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JungleHutsince1986, General Manager at Jungle Hut, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for great feedback and we are so glad that we could be a part of the celebrations for your Anniversary.

Hope to see you both again soon at Jungle Hut.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went for a family vacation to Jungle hut in the last week of June. our experience with Jungle Hut is really cool. There are no issues with the accomodation/food/hospitality. For Non-Veg, i think food should be great but as we are Veg. its Okay. I strongly recommend for this resort if anyone planning to visit Masinagudi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikram_kuralla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JungleHutsince1986, General Manager at Jungle Hut, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Vikram,

Thank you for the kind review and we look forward to serving you and your family the next time you are down from Hyderabad.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here In October 2014. Its truly a home away from home and a great place to go with kids.The manager Mr Vivek welcomed us very warmly and gave us a tour around the property. its extremely peaceful and the grounds abound with deer and monkeys and various birds.there is a little pool which is perfect to jump into after a trek up a hill or in the jungle. My kids aged 9 and 4 were absolutely thrilled with the amount of space they had to run around . The food was excellent and the kitchen staff were always ready to make something just right for my little one. We went on a jungle trek though our guide was os the strong and silent variety he did answer whenever questions were put to him by the kids. My kids loved the trek up a hill and wanted to do it again on the morning before we left!The owners Mr Vikram and Mrs Anushree have obviously put in a lot of thought and care and their staff is also splendid.We had a great time would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nrutya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had been earlier to Jungle Hut in Jan 2012. This time with a small group have stayed in month of June 2014. Starting with location it is excellent, placed on the foothills of Niligiris.
The rooms are big enough and cleanliness adds to its charms. Surrounded by the forest, quiet a great atmosphere.Deer's,birds are often visitors,In-fact an elephant has made a visit during night, also heard a tiger's roar simply superb.
About food we all are veggies, but still great food quality with different varieties most of them right from their own organic garden.
The staff is courteous.
Talking about Owners Mr Vikhram and Mrs Anushree, they are gem of a persons. Polite and perfectly professional looking forward to our different needs and taste.
Thanks to Jungle Hut for making our holiday great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HemantHeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

JUNGLE HUT THE SUPER WEEKEND

Lawyers’ wives hate lawyer parties. Lawyers can only talk of what happened in court, or crack law jokes (yawn!), not realising that their wives/spouses and other non lawyers are super bored by the law talk and are not tickled to laughter by the supposed law jokes which are sometimes difficult to even follow and are not worth the effort.

Is that true of other professions? Well, I am a “travel wife” (a nomenclature irrespective of gender). My wife is a Tour Operator and I say with confidence that it is not as boring as being a Lawyer’s wife / spouse. You’re not constrained to hang out with the other travel wives or ‘spice’ at ‘travel’ dinners. There always is good food and booze, and the topics of discussion are themselves good food, good booze, interesting cities, the best resorts and hotels and generally holiday destinations. In addition to airlines and cars. If there is a rare travel experience which involved uber luxury or slumming it out, they’ve done it. If there is a place that you always wanted to visit, there will be someone in the room who has. If there is someplace that you are fascinated by, there will be somebody in the room who would’ve led a group there and can tell you about it. How can such a profession or their conversations be boring?

Lets see, my travel agent who is also my wife took me to three of the toniest jungle lodges in Madhya Pradesh over a week four years ago. It was her job to check them out! and I was not complaining. Of course the only danger is that the management of a place that you are ‘inspecting’ is extra nice to you as your spouse is ‘technically’ ‘inspecting’ and is potentially ‘business’.

I am not talking of one such holiday here. I speak of a holiday last week with good friends at the ‘Jungle Hut’ Masinagudi Tamil Nadu which had absolutely nothing to do with my good woman. She did not make the booking, she was not checking out the place for work, the owners did not even know she was a tour operator and she did not even give them her card as she checked in. The owners had absolutely no motive to be fake - nice to her. The booking was done by others who did not disclose her profession to the owners.

We stayed three days and nights mostly eating, relaxing, walking, swimming and generally having the nicest time of our lives. Vikram and Anushree who own the place and their very nice manager Vivek, alongwith their staff did everything to ensure that we had a great time. With the ‘elephant Corridor’ sword hanging over the heads of the whole region, they all had enough reason to be glum and sombre and sulk, but they ensured that we had the greatest time. It must sound like I am pushing their case, but I am a lawyer and I can tell you I have no motive. For, I paid for the vacation.

We had all three meals and tea and coffee included in the very reasonable tariff. The food was home cooked and yummy. We had the most wonderful dosas, upma, appams, paniaram (appe), sevige (vermicelli upma,), apart from pancakes, french toast, eggs, toast, bacon, cereal (no one needs to eat something that boring at Jungle Hut but its there just in case..) tea coffee and fruits for breakfast. For lunch and dinner we had Mutton Biriyani, pork chops, fish curry, fish fry, grilled fish, meat cutlets, lasagne, not to mention chicken and vegetables with rice, rice rotis, pasta ....please stop me!. The food was just outstanding and the service great. The desserts were also worth writing home about. The evenings at the Gazebo were lively and full of fun and the owners hung out with us throughout. The refreshments and snacks that were not included in the tariff were also very reasonably priced.

The rooms were not the Marriot, but were well furnished rooms in cottages spread all over the vast property with two or four good sized rooms that faced out ward and away giving each room the required privacy. Nothing posh but nothing wrong with them. Clean room, clean bed, clean loo, clean towels. The property is superbly located and has a lovely kitchen garden and is full of trees. Being the last property on the road nestled in a valley of sorts, when you‘re in the pool which is at the end of the property you just want to sit there staring at the mountains and not get out.

What strikes you the most is how nice the owners, the manager and the staff are. They attend to every need of yours from getting you extra sheets, to a special meal for your child and are with you for each meal. It seems like there is no hierarchy and you can ask anyone for anything that you need. They told me (on my asking of course) that they have every meal with the guests as it’s their way of keeping a check on quality. Easily one of the best holidays that I have had in India. Which resort owner tells you at midnight at the Gazebo that the deer and monkeys are making alarm calls as there must be a leopard lurking around and then runs with you with torches to the far end of their 15 acre property to try and show you the leopard (which is lurking beyond their fence)? This, I recall, was no part of their duty or service. Which resort owner personally ensures that a watch man guards your cottage because your kid is sleeping alone (while you run to see the leopard)?

If you want to hang out with good people, eat the yummiest of food in the midst of beautiful greenery, I would suggest you spend a couple of days at Jungle Hut Bokkapuram, Masinagudi, Nilgiris District. check them out at www.junglehut.in.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners about the kinds of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank trideeppais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.4 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
2.7 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 2 in Bandipur
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 31 in Masinagudi
323 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jungle Trailz
Jungle Trailz
#1 of 18 in Masinagudi
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Hut

Property: Jungle Hut
Address: Bokkapuram | Masinagudi, P.O, Masinagudi 643223, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungle Hut 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After working for 25 years on tea plantations Joe and Hermie Mathias chose to retire close to nature away from the buzzing city life. They started Jungle Hut in 1986 sharing the warmth of their home and providing the unique getaway for the adventurous traveller. Through word of mouth people from far and wide visited Jungle Hut and many of them continue to patronise us.My wife and I follow in their footsteps and open our home to you.Welcome to Jungle Hut.At 3000 feet above sea level and a range of climatic conditions, our holiday estate is surrounded by a wealth of plant and animal life that thrives amidst sparkling streams and virgin jungle. Here you can trek meandering forest paths, enjoy peace and quiet under starry skies, or be bold and explore your wild side with a jungle safari.At the end of the day treat yourself to a hot shower in our cozy rooms and then relax for a while on verandahs that offer breathtaking views while ensuring your privacy. When you're hungry, come on up to our dining area, we cater buffet meals with a home cooked feel.Through all our travels we have not come across a hideaway offering such serenity. Our guests the world over have echoed this same feeling. Don't forget to bring your camera as this is one holiday you will want to remember for a long, long time. So come, stay a while, enjoy our hospitality and nature at its best.- Anushri and Vikram Mathias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jungle Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing