We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house for relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachbreaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachbreaks
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful house for relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

The house has wonderful views of Marion Bay from most rooms. It's clean and very comfortable for a longer stay. We loved the beautiful furniture made by the owner and the kitchen was well-equipped. Service was great - the owner was very helpful with extra needs and local information.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aust
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

just had our 2nd stay in 18 months in the bungalow, and somehow it seems to get better. Marvellous accomodation, clean, modern, and everthing works [a rare commodity]
Hosts Stephanie and Dave let you do your own thing, but are always there if you need them. Highly recommend to anyone who likes a little luxury, and stunning views of Maria Island and Marion Bay, for a very reasonable cost. We have already booked for another week this year, so I suppose it is our home away. Wish we could bring it back to Vic with us. 20 min to airport,1/2 hr to Hobart. 40 min Port Arthur,and some great day trips.
Really stunning stuff GEOFATHY VIC AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geofathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

Stunning location, beautiful house and furniture. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyphSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

At Beachbreaks Marion Bay we felt were in paradise – what a memorable place to spend our 40th wedding anniversary and what a special place for anyone wanting to escape from the rat race.

The house offers absolutely breathtaking views of Marion Bay, the colours of the bay and sky vary throughout the day, with the pink clouds of the sunsets reflected in the water. The website greatly understates the aesthetic beauty of the house and the superb handcrafted furniture, or mention that the surrounding native garden is a haven for honeyeaters and blue wrens.

Amazing beach walks - where else in the world can you experience being alone on a long pristine white beach that is only 10 minutes from where you are staying – crystal blue waters and the sand strewn with masses of beautiful shells.

The house is located on the Tasman peninsula, only 25 minutes from Hobart airport, and provides easy access to spectacular bush walks (masses of wild flowers to be seen in January), and great fishing spots (try the jetty at Pirates Bay). Beachbreaks Marion Bay proves that holiday rentals can be a great alternative to hotels - the facilites are excellent for the travellers who want self catering accommodation.

During our stay we did a trip with Tasman Island Cruises that we can highly recommend – stunning scenery that you will never see from the land and very knowledgeable crew.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OZ-TASSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

This is one of the best privately owned accommodations of this kind that we have stayed in in Tasmania. It offers extensive views over rich green farmland of Maria Island and Marion Bay. The studio is furnished with exquisite pieces made by the owner - true antiques of the future. The feel of being removed from busy life is definately achieved down to the final detail. Sara and Chris Hobart

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PossumHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

An absolutely gorgeous place with breathtaking views of Marion Bay & surrounding native garden & vineyard.

We stayed in "The Retreat' a beautiful wooden house on 3 levels with wrap around balconies looking down to the ocean below (a 2 min drive down the road). Windows from every room take in the specy view with loads of sunny space inside & out to chill out. The place is completely kitted out with everything you need & filled with beautiful handcrafted furniture. The place is quite huge & would be great for a family or group getaway - think it sleeps 6/ maybe more though. There's also a Bungalow for two/four but it was booked at the time.

We live in Tasmania & haven't ventured to Marion Bay before - it is an amazing beach! White sand, loads of surf & crystal clear water. There's bush walking further south on the peninsular & Port Arthur if you're into history. Personally, we were happy to eat, drink & take in the views. A perfect hide-away for us to drop off the face of the planet!
Look forward to getting back there soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

My wife and I were spending a week in Tasmania basing our trip on a 4 day organised hike in Freycinet National Park. We stayed in Hobart and wanted to travel to Port Arthur. About halfway to Port Arthur from the airport, we drove into Marion Bay and found the Beachbreaks Lodge. We were amazed with the incredible coastal scenery intertwined with serene farmland from the Beachbreaks Lodge which gave long spectacular views to both the North and the South. The view is unobstructed and looks down on the coast from the hill the lodge is located on. The accommodation is excellent, fully self contained and is more like a house than a "hotel". A very peaceful, serene and comfortable experience in all and an excellent place to stay 4 to 5 days while you explore the area. The hosts David and Stehanie Mckean are charming and helpful and leave you alone to enjoy the peace and tranquility offered in this amazing corner of our planet. We can highly recommend this lodging to any travellers wishing a peaceful and spectacular retreat that is located less than 30 mins to the airport and to Port Arthur. Bruce and Lynn Coghlan (Sydney)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion Bay
13.6 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
22.0 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casilda House B&B
Casilda House B&B
#2 of 2 in Dunalley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Orford's Sanda House B&B
18.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#2 of 5 in Orford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
19.5 mi away
Eastcoaster Resort
Eastcoaster Resort
#5 of 5 in Orford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachbreaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachbreaks

Property: Beachbreaks
Address: 357 Marion Bay Rd, Marion Bay, Tasmania 7175, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Marion Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Marion Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium self-contained accommodation. Beachbreaks Bungalow House have panoramic views over Marion Bay, which is at the centre of South east Tasmania. Private setting in mature garden, close to beaches. Tourism Council Tasmania Accredited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beachbreaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing