We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay Place in the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paquera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bahia Rica Fishing and Kayak Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Paquera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I could share and go through my entire itinerary that Thomas and Vigdis help put together, but it would be much better to say that the entire trip and stay at Bahia Rica was lovely. It is one of those trips with great hosts and people that I will certainly remember forever. Please book your stay and tours here. Safe, reliable, and knowledgeable hosts. They will provide great recommendations and cook up some amazingly tasty food. I hope to return next year with additional friends and family to share this unique and amazing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoseinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Rica Fishing and Kayak Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had an amazing stay at Bahia Rica, the owners are really welcoming and the tree house was simply perfect for our group. You are surrounded by so many monkeys everyday and the excursion to Isla Tortugas was incredible, I will never forget! Thank you to Thomas and Vicki for everything!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia-Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were only in Costa Rica for one day and I wanted to see something other than the cruise port at Punta Arenas. I noticed that there was a ferry to Paquera and investigated options around that area. I contacted Thomas and Vicki from Bahia Rica and they were very helpful. They arranged transport to the ferry port from the ship and then collected us in their boat from the other end of the ferry. They then took us for a lovely day out which included a trip to an island where we saw spider monkeys, some snorkeling then a stop for lunch on the island of Tortuga. Vicki had prepared a lovely salad and fruit lunch and there were also a selection of drinks available. We spent some time on the island before Thomas and Vicki took us in their boat all the way back to the cruise port because there wasn't a ferry at a convenient time.

This was one of the best days of our trip. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole trip was reasonably priced , especially considering the personalized attention we received. I would highly recommend this company. We didn't use the lodge but saw its location and it looks idyllic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mocampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed one night at Bahia Rica on a week long motorcycle trip around Costa Rica. We got there late as we had advised earlier in the day, no problem, everything was ready for us. This place is like going to your best friend's cottage/camp, you don't have to bring anything and you are treated like family. Great place to relax for a couple of days. Thanks to Thomas and Vigdis.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We spend a fantastic week here. The location is so beautiful. It is simpel but unique. It was good fun to climp the many stairs and walk so close to the monkeys. But what made this stay so speciel was the atmosphere that Thomas and Vigdis created. We felt at home! There is a warm personal and passionate feel. The food was fantastic. We enjoyed homecooked meals and got flashback to the Danish foodscene. Our boys (3&5) also loved it and loved thomas pictures and stories from the incredible fishing trips. We would love to come back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent 3 weeks in Costa Rica, and feel the 4 nights we spent with Thomas and Vigdis were the best. We did the 3 day kayak tour with Vigdis who skillfully guided us on a route that favored the tides. We camped at places that offered a history of the area, and the opportunity to meet local folks. The trip also included paddling through the mangroves and a night bioluminescent paddle. We also spent 2 nights in their remote lodge, which is impeccably clean with nice rooms for an economical price. The home-style food is also excellent - a relief from eating in restaurants and rice. If we return to Costa Rica, this will be on the list for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 147anng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Fishing and Kayak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you so much for doing the overnight kayak tour with us. It was a pleasure having you here! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Having spent 10 weeks travelling CR with our kids, we look back at our wonderful stay at Bahia Rica as one of the best memories of them all. Fishing in the Pacific certainly thrilled us and what a fantastic experience it was to stop by a remote island on our way back and meet spider monkeys close up!!! Homemade quality food ( thanks Vigdis) and top notch ryebread for breakfast!!! Cold beers in the sunset is always nice:) Also try a kayak trip and explore the local mangroves and the puffer fish (as well as turtles, stingray, crabs and tropical birds). Our kids also loved the cats-especially Gris, the grey cat sharing our veranda. We will come back again and highly recommend Bahia Rica with hosts Vigdis and Thomas ( and Jo Fredrik-our son really made goodfriends). Pura vida!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Fishing and Kayak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for the review. It was an absolute delight to have you staying with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paquera
0.7 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
19.1 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alkamar
Hotel Alkamar
#2 of 2 in Paquera
21 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
20.3 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Rica Fishing and Kayak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Rica Fishing and Kayak Lodge

Address: Punta Cuchillo, Paquera 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Paquera
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Paquera
Price Range: £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bahia Rica you will be staying in big comfortable rooms in a real jungle setting. The place is perfect for relaxing in a hammock and enjoying the jungle sounds, or you can get some exercise by taking a kayak tour or walking up along the jungle paths. A relaxed atmosphere is surrounding Bahia Rica, with common areas for eating and socializing. Bahia Rica is at Punta Cuchillo on Costa Rica’s west coast. The place is perfect for people who enjoy a calm atmosphere away from the main tourist trails. We offer sport fishing, kayak and boat tours to several beautiful destinations in the Nicoya gulf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bahia Rica Fishing And Kayak Lodge Costa Rica/Paquera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing