We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmly welcomed to a charming home.”
Review of Glenferness B&B

Glenferness B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertsbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenferness B&B
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warmly welcomed to a charming home.”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Glenferness offers spacious rooms tastefully appointed by two hospitable hosts, Christina and Doug. After day trips throughout the Kent and Sussex countryside, we looked forward to our comfortable accommodations for restful evenings.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonoragreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
19
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at the annexe to Glenferness, in Robertsbridge, for 4 nights over New Year, and would definitely recommend it. Our annexe had its own entrance, and was clean and comfortable, with a large bed in which we slept well, a 2-seater chair, a table and chairs and a TV. It looks as though the garden out the back would be beautiful in summer, but we chose to visit at a dank time! The annexe was self-catering, with 2 hobs, a microwave and a sink, and we happily used it for cooking. All the cooking utensils, equipment and crockery were provided (and specific items were happily provided upon request).

The owners, Kristina and Doug, were extremely friendly and hospitable. They cooked us an excellent English breakfast every morning, cleaned our room daily, and were very happy for us to use their lounge as our own (although, in fact, we were perfectly comfortable in the annexe, I imagine this might be welcome to guests in the main B&B). They were also very helpful, always willing to lend us any items that we needed/had forgotten to bring with us. They also gave us plenty of advice about the local area, including walks, local pubs and New Year's events.

The B&B is situated extremely close to the railway station (max 2 mins walk), on the mainline from London. We arrived by train and had no problems at all.

Walks in the local area were enjoyable, with footpaths across farmland and through light woodland. The George (a 10 minute walk away at most) was an extremely welcoming country-pub with excellent food - their lamb was to die for. All in all, we had a great holiday. (But the fish & chip/Chinese take-away gets a huge thumbs down from us - avoid at all costs!!)

KZMZ

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KZMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Glenferness is certainly well worth a stay. This large late Victorian property is tastefully furnished, well decorated and clean. We stayed in a very large and spacious bedroom. Thought is given to the little things, in particular, we were pleased to see two arm chairs in the bedroom, so many venue only offer one to be shared between two people! The breakfast was ample and was of good quality. The bed was firm and exceedingly comfortable. Our hosts were very welcoming and made our stay a pleasant one.

We drove but it is worth noting that the railway station is around 200m down the road. Glenferness is within easy walking distance of Robertsbridge Village Centre. The George Inn is listed in the Good Beer Guide and the Harveys Best was sublime. The George's menu also looked impressive.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dead_Sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone. The house was spotless, the rooms were very roomy and confortable, the owners were very welcoming (even with me checking in at 10pm) and the breakfast was amazing - Just what I needed before a lond drive home to Liverpool.

Fantastic value for money and if my work brings me to the area again, I will definately be staying here overnight.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayNaylor37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed in the self-catering annex. Warmly welcomed by owners, shown all facilities & invited to use garden & patio areas. Delightful property, well maintained & compact, just right for our needs. Close to mainline station for London & Hastings, but no trains could be heard! Very good base for exploring Sussex & Kent Weald, handy 'open all hours' shop & the village has all you need.
Higjhly reccomended

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2010

I have stayed at GLENFERNESS on several occasions and would reccomend it to anyone. Clean , tidy , tastefully decorated a friendly, cheerful, helpful, landlady who provides a mouthwatering breakfast and first class service. Very ressonably priced, worth every penny. I will continue to stay at Glenferness whenever i am in the area ,it really does feel like a home from home.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Clean and safe. Terrific breakfast and the lady who runs the place is multi-lingual world traveller who lived in Poland, Africa, Saudi Arabia and who knows where else; conversations with her were always entertaining.
Bob and Doris J

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EurotravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertsbridge
4.6 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
265 reviews
6.2 mi away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#3 of 5 in Battle
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 3 in Robertsbridge
169 reviews
3.0 mi away
Woodside B&B
Woodside B&B
#1 of 2 in Staplecross
186 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rosebank B&B
Rosebank B&B
#2 of 4 in Etchingham
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenferness B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenferness B&B

Property: Glenferness B&B
Address: Glenferness Brightling Road | East Sussex, Robertsbridge TN32 5DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Robertsbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Robertsbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robertsbridge is a very convenient base from which to explore many parts of Sussex and Kent. Nearby interesting and historical towns include Rye, Hastings, St Leonards-on-Sea, Bexhill, Eastbourne and Royal Tunbridge Wells. Battle Town, the site of the historical 1066 Battle of Hastings, is just five miles south of Robertsbridge. Other nearby places of interest include: Bodiam Castle (4 miles), Battle Abbey/Site of the Battle of Hastings (4 miles), Batemans, Rudyard Kipling's home (4 miles), Herstmonceux Castle (11 miles), Pevensey Castle (16 miles), Leeds Castle (22 miles) and Chartwell, Winston Churchill's home (30 miles). Bewl Water Outdoor Centre and Watersports (10 miles).Robertsbridge, located on the A21, is only 30 miles South of the M25/ J5 motorway and 40 miles from the Channel Tunnel. The mainline, Hastings to London, railway station is only 150 yards/metres from Glenferness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenferness B&B Robertsbridge, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing