We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in a perfect location - bliss!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxation in a perfect location - bliss!”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We have just spent three nights in the beautiful Tom's Barn - a truly lovely cottage. Everything you could possibly want is provided by the excellent hosts Marion and John. We were struck by the peace and quiet which instantly provided a feeling of relaxation. If you venture away from the iydillic setting there are some fantastic walks. We walked to Tissington from the Barn across the fields and the scenery was breathtaking. It is so lovely to be able to take your dog on a 5 star holiday! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
116
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2011

From the warm welcome to the thoughtful farewell,Marion and John are the most wonderful hosts you could have whilst their properties are the
finest you could wish for .
Each barn is very individual in style and has everything you could need on a holiday.
I stayed in Toms Barn and loved every minute of it . The log fire, spa bath and fully equipped kitchen are second to none whilst the little extras that Marion and John provide eg. homemade cakes, bookcase full of books, cds, information leaflets and games, fresh flowers and local newspaper/tv guide,make this rental a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Myself and my boyfriend satyed at Douglas's Barn in Fevbruary, I had arranged the trip six months previous as a surprise fr his Birthday but spilled the speans. Upon arrival John and Marion welcomed us and showed us how everything worked, there was a tea tray and some delicious home made cakes waiting. We were planning on exploring the area however the cottage was far too enticing so we stayed in and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

We had everything we could possibly ever need or want there and the bed was the most comfiest bed we have ever slept in!!

It was such a shame to leave, and we really did not want to, and we will most definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyakab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed in Douglas' barn in February, and it was a pleasant experience from start to finish. I booked the weekend break in October, as it is a very popular place, as part of my partners Birthday present.
Due to work we could not arrive until 7pm, but this was not a problem. Upon arrival we could see the barn was lit up, inviting us in. Marion and John, the owners, greeted us and guided us into our barn. They explained a few details of how things worked and where to find information on using the appliances. They wished us a peaceful weekend and left us to it.
We spent a few minutes looking around the barn and was surprised to find near enough everything we would need for the weekend was there. The whole barn made us feel at home and special touches such as fresh flowers added to the feeling. Upon arrival there was a fresh loaf of bread, fresh eggs, a pint of proper milk, butter, marmalade, some of Marions freshly baked cake and all the essentials to help with cooking. There were plenty of information guides about Derbyshire and the surrounding area which is very useful. There is a netbook with wifi access for getting on the internet. A cd player with iPod dock so that you can listen to your own music, although we preferred to listen to the selection of cd's provided.
Upstairs in the barn is a single room with en-suite. The bed is a luxurious king size that makes getting up in the morning very difficult. In the bathroom is a large spa bath big enough for 2!
We planned to spend the weekend walking around the local country side but infact we ended up spending most of the time relaxing in the barn. The lack of mobile phone signal was a bonus as it meant we couldnt be followed by our every day lives. We truly escaped from everything for a few days and it was wonderful. We quickly realised that we didn't realise the meaning of relaxation until we visited Orchid farm. We now have a very high standard for the term "just relax" that probably won't be met until we return.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash-needham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed for a weekend with my wife and dog.
Superb quality accommodation along with charming hosts and special extras make Tom's Barn a special place to stay. Having done all the "Tourist" locations in the peak district in was a welcome surprise to find a tranquil spot with superb walks on the doorstep without the normally associated crowds. Marion and John are lovely people and deserve all the praise and recognition for what they have created at Orchard Farm. Sid the Dog loved it as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Toms Barn is the perfect holiday cottage in a perfect location. Its our 6th visit and we will return. John and Marion offer the warmest of welcomes and the cottage could not have better facilities! If you are looking for the perfect romantic bolt hole, with a pub down the road, a roaring log burner and walks from the door then Toms Barn will hit the spot every time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STScotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My Wife, Dog and I spent a fantastic week here over New Year 2010/2011. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Marion and John (the owners) who were very welcoming and explained all that we needed to know. The cottage was absolutely charming, very well stocked with all sorts of goodies upon our arrival.
There is nothing one needs to bring (apart from clothes, and food), although i'm sure John and Marion could sort something!!! The kitchen was super - enabling us to bake cookies and a four course New Years eve feast!!
The walks from the cottage are great, with Tissington and short trek away. Being so central we were able to visit areas quickly and easily.
With the fire roaring away, a cup of tea and homemade cake - we really didn't want to head home.
Bailey (The Dog) is now requesting we install a log burning stove in the front room for him to sleep next to!!
A fantastic week away and hope very much we'll return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parwich
3.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
8.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
3.9 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
397 reviews
19.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn

Property: Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Address: Orchard Farm | Parwich, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Parwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's and Douglas's Barns are two romantic cottages for two in the beautiful Peak District. Both Tom's Barn - which welcomes dogs - and Douglas's Barn are luxury 5 Star & Gold Award self-catering cottages, ideal for solo travellers or couples. You'll enjoy 21st century comfort and warmth in 18th century ancient limestone cowsheds, attached to the owners’ home in the peaceful White Peak village of Parwich. Next to open countryside – with walks in every direction – the generously equipped cottages are secluded and peaceful, yet only a shortish stroll from the village pub and shop. There is much to see and do nearby: the countryside is stunning, Chatsworth is nearby and also Dovedale, the famous beauty spot. There are plenty of good local pubs and restaurants to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom's Barn And Douglas's Barn Parwich, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing