We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic.”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I really can't add much to what has already been said, so will just confirm that Tom's Barn is as fantastic as everyone else has stated.
We were so comfortable when we returned from a packed day of activities (this is a perfect location for walking, cycling and visiting the plethora of castles and stately homes) that we didn't even consider eating out; all we wanted to do was to relax with some scran, al fresco when the weather was kind to us, which was 5 out of 7 days in October, or snuggled down inside in front of the wood burner.
John and Marion were the perfect charming and helpful hosts.
A truly wonderful cottage, in a delightful location, designed and maintained with care and obvious love and enthusiasm.
We should have booked two weeks ...

Room Tip: A fantastic base in the southern Peak District for cycling, walking and visiting historic properties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We had a perfect week at Toms Barn, we felt at home from the moment we arrived. John and Marion are so welcoming and friendly but not at all imposing which made for a relaxed week. We were very lucky with the weather so lots of walks which kept Lottie our dog very happy. Lots of great places to visit, Chatsworth & Tissington were highlights, plus plenty of dog friendly pubs in the area.The cottage is beautiful and has everything you could possibly need and is so comfortable, we really did not want to leave. We also have a confession to make , we helped ourselves to a few windfall apples from the garden with some brambles picked on a dog walk to make a delicious crumble Our only regret was that it was not cold enough to use the wood burning stove. (and that we had to leave). My advice is just go, it is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Tom's Barn is one of the very few holiday cottages which has everything. It is beautifully finished without being too "showy" and is really well equipped and stocked. Bespoke artwork, wonderful beams and a galleried bedroom as well as really comfortable furniture make this a great place for peace and relaxation.
Small details make all the difference. The barn has a very large window in one end however, if like me you can't sleep if there is too much light, then don't worry as it has a great set of wooden shutter doors and there are blackout blinds on the Velux windows.
On the few days we had good wether it was lovely to sit outside which overlooks the "courtyard" of the adjoining Douglas's Barn and the owners' property.
In their welcome note John and Marion say that they will be on hand if you need anything and that they won't disturb you at all during the stay but are always happy to stop and have a chat. This isn't just something which sound good...they really do mean it and
were charming "hosts".
If you like walking then the area is a real treat, There are walks from your door across fields and also around the village. There is also a really rewarding walk across fields to Tissignton a couple of miles away. A short drive will take you to numerous starting points for lots of great walks all with options for routes and lengths. The cottage has excellent local information packs and maps to borrow.
The village has a population of 500 although it always semed extremely quiet. The village is not "on the way" to anywhere so traffic is minimal. The local pub doubles up as a shop and serves a limited menu of decent food at cheap prices although there are lots of options in the locality if you wanted something better.
It is very difficult to fault Tom's Barn- as a couple's retreat it does have everything. The only limitation I can think of is that the bathroom has atwo seater (rather than lie down) jacuzzi bath which is very nice. Due to lack of headroom there isn't the water pressure for a proper shower...just a bath spray attachment so if you like to have a power shower then you would have to forgo this. In my opinion this is small price to pay for a truly lovely holiday.

Room Tip: The quilt on the bed is two buttoned together... if you get too hot just take one off... took us a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisburn n ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

If you don't like five stars then do not stay at Tom's Barn.
Do any dog owners think that you get penalised if you stay anywhere with your dog, you always seem to get the worst rooms well not at Tom's Barn.
My wife and i plus my Dog Samson stayed for a week in July this year, from the time i arrived i was very pleased i was met with a freshly baked cake there was also milk butter eggs all that you need to start off your stay, the house was full of fresh flowers what a special touch
Tom's Barn was imaculate ,my wife always says why stay in three stars when you live in five stars well this place is five star, the only thing you need on this holiday is yourself, a washer dryer a bbq a wood burning fire, not that we needed it for the sun shone for the whole week.
Parwich is a quiet little village but it is central to everywhere, you must take a trip to Bakewell and i would recommend Thornton's coffee shop they welcome dogs and the food is to die for. I also had a meal at The George at Astonfield "DOG FRIENDLY" we arrived and were shown to our table which had a blanket for my dog to sit on if he wanted to, i also like the way that the staff give you time between courses and the food at the bar is the same as served in the restaurant this is a must.
Also a trip to Tissington is a must there is a great butchers.
So if your worried about staying at Tom's Barn don't, this as a dog owner is the best place i have ever stayed in clean and really comfortable.
Marrion and John the owners of this property live on site if you need them, they love to have a chat and take pride that any visitors are happy, nothing is to much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This was our seventh visit. Need we say more? Everything is faultless. The cottage is the most comfortable we have ever stayed in and John and Marion's attention to detail is amazing.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had a fantastic stay last month at Douglas's barn. Everything was brilliant, the view, the location, the facilities. There was nothing missing and it truly felt like home as soon as we had stepped through the door. If you do want to leave the barn, as you might not want to as it is so nice to stay in, there is a lot to do and see in the surrounding area. Well recommended, and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLCraane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Douglas's Barn was without doubt the best self catering place I've ever stayed in. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. First of all, the location is beautiful and hidden away, but also close to the peaks walks and within easy distance from the main towns. The barn itself is extremely well kitted-out and decorated with such taste and attention to detail. We wondered whether it could be as lovely as the photos on the website but it more than lives up to expectations. The spiral staircase, very comfy bed and whirlpool bath were particular highlights not to mention the home-made cake and kitchen stocked with essentials including fresh herbs. Marion and John are absolutely lovely - so welcoming and friendly. We had a fantastic stay and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach20Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parwich
8.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
309 reviews
19.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn

Property: Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Address: Orchard Farm | Parwich, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Parwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's and Douglas's Barns are two romantic cottages for two in the beautiful Peak District. Both Tom's Barn - which welcomes dogs - and Douglas's Barn are luxury 5 Star & Gold Award self-catering cottages, ideal for solo travellers or couples. You'll enjoy 21st century comfort and warmth in 18th century ancient limestone cowsheds, attached to the owners’ home in the peaceful White Peak village of Parwich. Next to open countryside – with walks in every direction – the generously equipped cottages are secluded and peaceful, yet only a shortish stroll from the village pub and shop. There is much to see and do nearby: the countryside is stunning, Chatsworth is nearby and also Dovedale, the famous beauty spot. There are plenty of good local pubs and restaurants to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom's Barn And Douglas's Barn Parwich, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing