We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly peace”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Perfectly peaceful, spotlessly clean, always unobtrusive but readily available hosts and a lovely welcome (including home made cake), what more could you ask for? We chose to holiday in our own county and were delighted to find this gem. We cannot recommend it highly enough. Karen and Rod H.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

A very impressive and well equiped barn conversion in a very quiet location. Parwich is a pretty village with lots of local walks and a pub/shop 5 minutes walk away. The owners (who live next door) were welcoming and friendly and the accommodation was spotless. A huge amount of local information and reading material was provided and this included the use of a Sony Notebook with free WiFi. The market town of Ashbourne is just 6 miles away and Dove Dale is even closer. All in all we had a perfect chill-out week, so much so we have booked Douglas's barn again for next year.

Room Tip: If a spiral staircase gives you a problem go for Tom's Barn next door as it has stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a really lovely stay in Douglas's Barn. Such a warm welcome by the owners and the cottage was perfect, with lots of information on what to do locally whatever the weather throws at you. If you're looking for a romantic, cosy bolt-hole to get away from the world, this is your answer.

Room Tip: You definitely need a car/bikes to get there and about as I didn't see that many buses/local tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have just come back from a wonderful week at Tom's Barn. It is located in a very pretty village with welcoming pub only 5 minute walk. Not only was it one of the best equipped cottages we have ever stayed in (we could not think of one thing that was missing), the Bakewell Tart, home made Marmalade and the beautiful flowers were very much appreciated and enjoyed. It has been a pleasure to come back each day to Tom's Barn and it is not hard to see that John and Marion have worked very hard to ensure that they are giving you 5* facilities with "home from home" comfort. We took our Cocker Spaniel Molly with us and found many walks straight from the doorstep. We would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is our 6th visit to toms barn,.I cant speak more highley about toms barn,if you are thinking about visiting the peak district then this is the number one choice of a place to stay.Set in a quiet pretty village,with excellent pubs,and good towns in a short driving distance,good base for visting surrounding areas.Marions homemade cake,marmalade,fresh flowers,always a lovely welcome,from either marion or janet
the barn is warm,cosy,and so comfortable in the winter with log burner,summer time, bright,cool and comfortable, it really has everything you could possibly need! from a fully equiped kitchen,books,radio.tv,sky package,fluffy towels,the most comforatble bed ive ever sleeped in! beautiful bed linen (dog bowl,towels,toys) i could go on and on!
Its spotless,cleaner than clean..we always feel like we are the first people to stay there,so all you dog owners that want a lovely CLEAN place to stay that is so dog friendly this is the place...one word of advise..book early..we do always.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abrahamHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Tom's Barn is a lovely cottage owned by really nice people and set in a small pretty village. Marion's cakes and marmalade that await you on arrival are wonderful. It's in a good area for touring the Peak district and Ashbourne is only about 15 minutes away when you need to stock up with groceries. Before we travelled I had checked out a lot of places in the local area where we could eat but because the cottage was so cosy and well equipped we only ate out twice. We would have tried the village pub as it is only a few minutes walk away but unfortunately dogs are not welcome inside.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DaveytNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Perfect hosts , John and Marion have kept the specification of the delightful barns to a five star plus standard, and are well deserving of all the comments made. All the lovely welcoming addition, flowers, home made cakes etc were very appreciated and made us feel very welcome. The location is perfect, plenty of walks, villages and places of interest and of course quite handy pubs, when you can bear to leave the barns. Well done to our hosts. Lyn & Ray , Lancs

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynPriestHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn

Address: Orchard Farm | Parwich, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Parwich
Price Range: £70 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's and Douglas's Barns are two romantic cottages for two in the beautiful Peak District. Both Tom's Barn - which welcomes dogs - and Douglas's Barn are luxury 5 Star & Gold Award self-catering cottages, ideal for solo travellers or couples. You'll enjoy 21st century comfort and warmth in 18th century ancient limestone cowsheds, attached to the owners’ home in the peaceful White Peak village of Parwich. Next to open countryside – with walks in every direction – the generously equipped cottages are secluded and peaceful, yet only a shortish stroll from the village pub and shop. There is much to see and do nearby: the countryside is stunning, Chatsworth is nearby and also Dovedale, the famous beauty spot. There are plenty of good local pubs and restaurants to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom's Barn And Douglas's Barn Parwich, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing