We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little country hideaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A little country hideaway!”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Our second visit to Tom's Barn. Just as last time it was fantastic. The weather was wet but inside we were as snug as a bug in front of the log fire. This was part two of our honeymoon, and we was just as happy here as we were in The Canaries. John and Marion are wonderful people and can not do enough for you. The ironing board was broke (which they didn't realise) as soon as we told them a new one was quickly bought and replaced. Marion puts extra touches to your stay, providing the basics for you, bread, butter,milk, eggs, Marmalade and a yummy Bakewell tart to go with your cup of tea.
After staying in Toms twice, we are going to try Douglas next.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huney2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

A wonderful slice of heaven in the Peak District national park.

Our stay was magical even in the wettest of weather.

They have thought if everything you could possibly need.

Hope we will go back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We have just returned from our second visit, but first to Tom's Barn and again we have had a wonderful break in these gorgeous barns. It is very difficult to choose between Tom's or Douglas's Barns, so I would recommend you try both. We loved the fact that during the time we stayed it was very cold and we could benefit from the wood burner in Tom's Barn - in fact it was too tempting to stay inside the whole time we were there instead of enjoying the glorious Peak District.

It is all the extra touches which makes staying in Tom's Barn so special - the yummy Bakewell Tart, which gets devoured almost instantly, eggs, bread, marmalade, local papers, Radio Times, plenty of reading materal and a very well stocked kitchen. Marion, John and Janet put a lot of thought, care and attention to detail into making your stay special and this really comes across from your greeting on arrival to the spotless accommodation.

I would really recommend reading Marion's blog before you arrive as it is full of so much useful information - from where to eat, events taking place and what to do whilst your are staying. Upon her recommendation we ordered a curry from Paul and Evie at The Cottage on the Green in Parwich - all we had to do was walk down the road to collect it and reheat it - it was delicious (we had the King Prawn Balti) and would definitely recommend it. We had another lovely meal at Rowley's in Baslow, well worth the 30 minute drive. You must also walk over the fields to the lovely village of Tissington - the butchers is fantastic and as is the delightful shop Edward & Vintage.

Tom's Barn is in the perfect location as there is so much to do within a short distance - plenty of walking, charming villages (of which Parwich is one and very peaceful too) and lovely pubs. Yet it is so tranquil and peaceful, perfect if you are looking for an escape from everyday life. There is nothing we would change about either barn and we just can't decide which one we will stay in next time, as there definitely will be a next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloGupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We had a fantastic stay in Douglas Barn. It's got fantastic amenities, everything you could wish for in the kitchen, probably the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, great local pubs within easy distance and interesting places to visit. It's not just that the place has character, that we got that sense of tranquility and relaxation we were looking for.
What really sets this place apart are the little touches that John and Marion put in there. When we arrived the cottage was lit, the heating was on, and music was playing. Definitely an inviting start to our stay. There was a tray with fresh, really nice home made cake on it, they'd left us milk, eggs, butter, bread and even marmalade to get us started. There were fresh flowers, which were really great and one really nice and unexpected thing. I'd mentioned I was booking the place as it was my partners 30th birthday and they'd left her a bottle of bubbly in the fridge along with a little card. We'll be going back and I encourage anyone who's thinking about a romantic getaway in that part of the country to try this place. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Perfectly peaceful, spotlessly clean, always unobtrusive but readily available hosts and a lovely welcome (including home made cake), what more could you ask for? We chose to holiday in our own county and were delighted to find this gem. We cannot recommend it highly enough. Karen and Rod H.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

A very impressive and well equiped barn conversion in a very quiet location. Parwich is a pretty village with lots of local walks and a pub/shop 5 minutes walk away. The owners (who live next door) were welcoming and friendly and the accommodation was spotless. A huge amount of local information and reading material was provided and this included the use of a Sony Notebook with free WiFi. The market town of Ashbourne is just 6 miles away and Dove Dale is even closer. All in all we had a perfect chill-out week, so much so we have booked Douglas's barn again for next year.

Room Tip: If a spiral staircase gives you a problem go for Tom's Barn next door as it has stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a really lovely stay in Douglas's Barn. Such a warm welcome by the owners and the cottage was perfect, with lots of information on what to do locally whatever the weather throws at you. If you're looking for a romantic, cosy bolt-hole to get away from the world, this is your answer.

Room Tip: You definitely need a car/bikes to get there and about as I didn't see that many buses/local tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parwich
8.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
309 reviews
19.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn

Property: Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Address: Orchard Farm | Parwich, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Parwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's and Douglas's Barns are two romantic cottages for two in the beautiful Peak District. Both Tom's Barn - which welcomes dogs - and Douglas's Barn are luxury 5 Star & Gold Award self-catering cottages, ideal for solo travellers or couples. You'll enjoy 21st century comfort and warmth in 18th century ancient limestone cowsheds, attached to the owners’ home in the peaceful White Peak village of Parwich. Next to open countryside – with walks in every direction – the generously equipped cottages are secluded and peaceful, yet only a shortish stroll from the village pub and shop. There is much to see and do nearby: the countryside is stunning, Chatsworth is nearby and also Dovedale, the famous beauty spot. There are plenty of good local pubs and restaurants to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom's Barn And Douglas's Barn Parwich, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing