We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon stay at Tom's barn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A fantastic cottage with excellent hosts. Marion and John were wonderful: very welcoming even down to the lovely gift of a bottle of wine and some perfect Christmas cake on Christmas day. (I'd love the recipe!)
The cottage has everything you need - the bed was great. I even ordered the same pillows for home!
Lovely surroundings with excellent information to help you access it all. Thank you x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmiejune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

This place is fantastic - beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and with all the little details thought about - from bread, milk and wonderfully tasty cake on our arrival, to a good music system, information about local walks galore and a handy i pad to check out the local restaurants and pubs. We particularly liked the wood burning stove and look forward to enjoying it again next winter!
Marion and John made us feel very welcome right from the point at which we booked and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you both
Keith & Zoe

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Tom's Barn the weekend before Christmas. My wife found it for us and we couldn't have been happier with the choice. Marion & John were excellent hosts and we enjoyed our evening drink with them instead of walking in the rain to the pub. The pre-arrival information is excellent and provides everything you need to plan your trip. We did try to book a Waitrose shop the week before but all of the slots had been taken so a bit of advice would be to do this early however don't worry if you forget as there is a Waitrose & an M&S nearby in Ashbourne. The Barn itself is lovely and I was actually surprised at what they provided. It really is understated luxury with all of the excellent branded kitchen utensils and pots and pans. I took my french press coffee maker but was pleased to find one there as well as a pot of ground coffee. You really do not need to take anything with you other than some food.

The barn is beautifully appointed with comfy sofas and a lovely bed. I think Douglas's Barn is a little bit more modern than Tom's Barn but just depends what you are looking for. We wanted the double bath so it was definitely Tom's Barn for us. The only thing which I struggled with were the Velux windows. It rained heavily both nights and was really loud on the windows (I am a light sleeper though and ear plugs would have solved this). The wood burner was lovely and we even had to open the door to let some cool air in once or twice. Tom's Barn does allow dogs. We did not have one and for anyone worried about it smelling of or having dog hairs anywhere then do not worry. It was spotlessly clean.

We will definitely return and may actually do some more walking rather than relaxing and visiting nearby Ashbourne which has excellent shops. A real find.

Room Tip: Both Barns are excellent. Douglas's is a little more modern and Tom's is more rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just returned from our third visit at Douglas's barn and once again it was perfect. John and Marion are such wonderful hosts and created the perfect Christmas atmosphere for us. The cottage has everything you could possibly wanted and it is a wonderful setting for a lovely relaxing holiday. That said, if you want to get active there is plenty to do in area from walks to grand historic houses and lovely shops in picturesque villages. Even bigger towns are within driving distance. We have already booked our fourth visit and that is really the only problem that we could find with Douglas's barn once you have been there once you will never want to holiday anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLCraane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

What a treat! We stayed in Tom's Barn. We arrived (late, oops!) to a boiled kettle, roasting fire (which kept us warm all week), and music playing and lovely warm welcome from John and Marion. We stayed for four nights but wish it could've been more, it was so relaxing. The house is extremely well equipped, with all the blenders and spatulas and pastry brushes you'll need to cook anything, and everything is in lovely condition. The bed is very comfy but I think my favourite part was that fabulous bath - be prepared to spend an inordinate amount of time soaking neck deep with the bubble jets on!
The local pub is only a five minute walk and definitely worth checking out, and so is the surrounding countryside! No big roads means it is a little difficult to get to but it is so quiet and peaceful it's worth it. Next time we'll do more outside of the cottage!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRUSHIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Tom's Barn for a long weekend in November and had a truly lovely weekend.

Booking was extremely simple and became a very nice email chain with Marion, to organise a Tesco delivery and newspapers and such. We arrived on Friday evening to a very friendly welcome, a toasty warm cottage with the wood burner lit and a plate of delicious cake. Our shopping had been put away which is an excellent service. The cottage is extremely well appointed. I kept trying to think of things I would add and couldn't. John and Marion have thought of everything, a well equipped kitchen, iPad, Radio Times, Sky plus everything else you would expect. Bed was extremely comfortable, barn was warm and at night, dark and quiet.
The barns are 10 minutes from the beautiful Carsington Water area and close to Ashbourne and Wirksworth. We did very little and took the opportunity to relax in lovely surroundings but there is plenty to do. Thank you Marion and John, I'm sure we'll see you again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Thank you Marion & John for another warm welcome with homemade cake, marmalade and other goodies. You are the perfect hosts. The barn is so well equipped you have thought of everything! The wood burner made the cottage cosy and warm after scenic walks. A perfect base with plenty to do in the area.
On returning home, we feel so relaxed that we're planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn

Address: Orchard Farm | Parwich, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Parwich
Price Range: £70 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's and Douglas's Barns are two romantic cottages for two in the beautiful Peak District. Both Tom's Barn - which welcomes dogs - and Douglas's Barn are luxury 5 Star & Gold Award self-catering cottages, ideal for solo travellers or couples. You'll enjoy 21st century comfort and warmth in 18th century ancient limestone cowsheds, attached to the owners’ home in the peaceful White Peak village of Parwich. Next to open countryside – with walks in every direction – the generously equipped cottages are secluded and peaceful, yet only a shortish stroll from the village pub and shop. There is much to see and do nearby: the countryside is stunning, Chatsworth is nearby and also Dovedale, the famous beauty spot. There are plenty of good local pubs and restaurants to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom's Barn And Douglas's Barn Parwich, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing