We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Lancashire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful relaxation”
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed at Douglas Barn absolutely brilliant, furnished and equiped to the very highest standard. It is the kind of place where you can have eactly the type fof holiday you want, you can just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet or you can be as active as you wish with lovely walks all around and lots of activies available. John and Marion are lovely hosts who live on site and are always willing to help in any way they can to make your stay a success. The village of Parwich is well worth spending some time walking around with lots of interesting buildings, the George serves great food(make the effort to book to be sure of a table) and Le Mistral at Wirksworth has a lovely atmosphere and the discount vouchers make it very good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latchford9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
116
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Douglas' Barn for four weeks and at Tom's Barn for one week from August-September, 2010. We can safely say that they were the best self-catering cottages we have ever stayed at. Everything is top quality--from the appliances, to the sheets and towels and the bed in Douglas' Barn was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in.

John and Marion made us feel very welcome during our stay and were very helpful. Each week we received amazing, freshly baked treats from Marion, a small pot of herbs from the garden for cooking, fresh flowers and staple supplies such as milk, eggs and a loaf of bread. The cottages are cleaned from top to bottom weekly and are very well maintained. We love to cook and both barns are well equipped with good quality cookware and utensils. John and Marion have thought of everything and the other reviewers are accurate in their descriptions and ratings.

Parwich is a quaint village with one local pub and shop. There is an excellent nearby butcher, 'Peak Butchers' in Tissington and fresh bread from the local shop at The George Pub in Alstonfield which also serves great food. Ashbourne is a short drive away and is full of cafes/pubs and shops. Buxton is just a thirty-minute drive from the village.

The cottages are well placed for hiking in the beautiful Peak District and there are some excellent walks in the vicinity, from the doorstep or a short drive away. We would highly recommend either of these cottages to those looking for a quiet, relaxing retreat or for exploring the beautiful English countryside.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idnar2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed in Douglas’s Barn in early April and have to say that it was pretty much perfect for what we wanted. I’ll try not to bore readers by spending TOO long eulogising yet again about all the things that make it so nice…. you’ll already have gathered by the extraordinarily high percentage of 5 star reviews (which as we all know is a rarity on Trip Advisor!) that this place is an absolute beacon of quality in its category.

The location was just wonderful for our tastes…. situated in a very, very pretty but “real” rural village…. smashing, cosy local pub (we had a meal there as well as drinks two nights, it was ideal for traditional British pub-grub) plus super-convenient little shop, both within a short walk…. Endless variety of walks on tap, either “from the door” (eg, Tissington Trail) or a short and extremely pleasant drive away (eg beautiful Dovedale) ….. Fabulous hosts in Marion and John, the ultimate in “welcoming-but-discreet” proprietors… excellent standard of accommodation with comfort, quality and user-friendliness built in to every detail…. Masses of useful information provided in the cottage, helpfully categorised, to help you decide your itinerary and your walking routes…… Several attractive towns within easy reach for days out if you can tear yourselves away …. A goodly number of quality restaurants and gastro-pubs within striking distance (our fave was The George at Alstonefield 10 mins away, a gem, but do book in advance as it always seems to be packed!) .... and so on,,,,

We’ve stayed in some pretty swanky self-catering places in various countries over the years, but many let themselves down on the little things, ie, the owners seem to expect you’ll be so impressed by the surroundings, that you won’t mind the fact that the loo doesn’t flush properly and there’s no potato peeler or corkscrew…. That’s not the case at Douglas’s Barn - you’ll find every convenience/utensil you can think of (incl. top-notch, SHARP cooks’ knives in the kitchen, one of my personal self-catering bugbears!) plus a few extras you probably can’t, eg, rug on the rocking chair in the bedroom for cosying up with a book, heated boot warmer to dry out soggy walking boots and make them a pleasure to put on the next day…. I could go on….

The whole enterprise is, in my opinion, the benchmark of how to do upmarket self-catering really, really well…. from the website design / ease-of-use, to the friendly and informative blog, to the photography that whets the appetite but doesn’t deceive, to the simple booking process, to the prompt communication, to the standard of the property “in the flesh”, to the thoughtful details at every stage, this place is second to none.

* Just one tiny note of warning, do book early if you want to guarantee particular dates – you’ll see from the booking calendar on the website how far in advance it gets booked up…all those repeat customers no doubt!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank magnoliiatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The accommodation is in a lovely setting nestled in a green spot in a quiet village where you get a great panoramic view of the countryside. As self catering acoommodation you will struggle to find yourself asking "If only it had...." A great place for peace and quiet after returning from wandering round the nearby sights of the Peak District. Make a point of stopping in at the Butchers in Tissington for some tasty meat (which we cooked in teh BBQ in our own garden space at the barn). There are plenty of other nice shops in the area where you can get other nice food and drink to complete the experience at the barn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mali45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We received a warm welcome from our hosts Marion and John,to Tom's Barn in the pretty village of Parwich. I can't think of anything that we thought we needed (except for a runner bean slicer!!)as the kitchen was fantastically equipped and more than the 'basics' were provided to start you off. Eggs, milk, bread, butter ,home-made maramalade and Bakewell Tart,oil,fresh and dried herbs and spices,tea ,coffee.......... The cottage was beautifully thought out and decorated -very comfortable -our only whinge was that the weather wasn't cold enough to cosy-up in front of the log burner!! The deep two seater bath was good fun ,but we would suggest Douglas's Barn for a more traditional bath ,if you have mobility problems ,as you had to be fairly supple to use it! Although we are dog lovers (but left ours behind!!)There was no evidence that dogs had stayed here,which may be important to some of you
We were pleased to use the extensive but discreet recycling facilities(and took some ideas home).The surrounding area is lovely ,we had lots of information on walks, visitor attractions etc and managed to see a lot(we prefer the less obvious quieter attractions and were not disappointed) Local food and produce was great ,both what we bought, and in local pubs. Marion and John were able to recommend excellent venues .
Would definitely go back ,this time in the winter for that log burner....!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie_hartley2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

An absolute delight a real haven of true country life and hospitality all tucked away in a neat little village just far enough away from the tourist fleshpots to get a view of the tue Derbyshire.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

A wonderful cottage in a gloriously peaceful location with a wealth of walking and cycling opportunities right from the door.
Everything you could ever want is provided and the little extras which you never expected are a real treat.
The personable approach from delightful owners make it all a very special place and very deserving of all the accolades.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclingLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parwich
3.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
8.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
294 reviews
3.9 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
397 reviews
19.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn

Property: Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Address: Orchard Farm | Parwich, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Parwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's and Douglas's Barns are two romantic cottages for two in the beautiful Peak District. Both Tom's Barn - which welcomes dogs - and Douglas's Barn are luxury 5 Star & Gold Award self-catering cottages, ideal for solo travellers or couples. You'll enjoy 21st century comfort and warmth in 18th century ancient limestone cowsheds, attached to the owners’ home in the peaceful White Peak village of Parwich. Next to open countryside – with walks in every direction – the generously equipped cottages are secluded and peaceful, yet only a shortish stroll from the village pub and shop. There is much to see and do nearby: the countryside is stunning, Chatsworth is nearby and also Dovedale, the famous beauty spot. There are plenty of good local pubs and restaurants to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom's Barn And Douglas's Barn Parwich, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing