We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of loveliness in Parwich!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My Wife, Dog and I spent a fantastic week here over New Year 2010/2011. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Marion and John (the owners) who were very welcoming and explained all that we needed to know. The cottage was absolutely charming, very well stocked with all sorts of goodies upon our arrival.
There is nothing one needs to bring (apart from clothes, and food), although i'm sure John and Marion could sort something!!! The kitchen was super - enabling us to bake cookies and a four course New Years eve feast!!
The walks from the cottage are great, with Tissington and short trek away. Being so central we were able to visit areas quickly and easily.
With the fire roaring away, a cup of tea and homemade cake - we really didn't want to head home.
Bailey (The Dog) is now requesting we install a log burning stove in the front room for him to sleep next to!!
A fantastic week away and hope very much we'll return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2010

My husband and I have just enjoyed a long weekend in Douglas’ Barn. We had a smashing time, only saddened we couldn’t stay longer. The barn is beautifully decorated, contemporary with traditional touches, a romantic feel also. We loved the warmth and cosyness, the soft furnishings and lighting all adding to the ambiance. The lilies in the lounge and the alstroemerias in the bedroom were a touch I’m sure all women will appreciate. Some great artwork too, loved the little painting in the bathroom. On arrival we were greeted by the best chocolate cake ever, we had home made marmalade for breakfast one morning and scrambled eggs the next. Along side these, there was butter, bread, milk, coffee, and all the store cupboard staples. We appreciated the vast amount of information, everything from favored restaurants and walks, leaflets for every attraction for miles around, maps and magazine articles. The laptop was a real bonus too. The five star status is very well deserved.
It would have been easy to have not ventured far, however having not been to Derbyshire before (unlike my husband, who growing up in Nottinghamshire visited these places as a child), I so desperately wanted to cram in as much as possible. The countryside is simply stunning, however driving up and down steep hills played havoc with my ears constantly popping! Although we did see and do a lot, there is still so much we didn’t have time for, so we very much hope to visit again.
It was lovely to meet Marion, albeit briefly, and we’re only sorry that we didn’t meet John and Boots the cat! Next time perhaps?
All in all, a wonderfully romantic, hectic, and yet relaxing, weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkTourist_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Douglas's barn and loved it. Not only is it a lovely place and the location is fantastic, but all the little touches really make it special - in fact, I don't quite know where to start on them! For a start, John & Marion provided eggs, bread, milk, butter, home-made marmalade (yum!) and bakewell tart on our arrival, and the kitchen was stocked with real coffee, tea, sugar, spices and so on. More than at any other place we have stayed. They also provided a laptop to use with their wi-fi and a plethora of books and tips on things to do and where to eat.

The barn is very warm and cosy, the bed is large and comfortable, there is a great shower and if you really want it, then you can watch Sky TV too! I don't think there was anything we wanted for.

We would be back there in a flash!!

(The only thing to be aware of is that the spiral staircase to the bedroom is quite steep so might not be so easy to navigate for people with mobility issues?)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary at Douglas's barn. After a long and delayed drive up from London we were very happy to walk into the barn and see the soft lighting, a flickering fire and hear soft classical music playing. Douglas's barn is thoughtfully and stylishly decorated - and an ideal setting for a couple. The kitchen is cosy and well equipped; the sitting room has lots of lamps - making it feel cosy; the bedroom has a huge bed (welcomed by my husband who is 6 ft 3) and the bathroom has a lovely powerful shower and whirlpool bath. There is a multitude of information on the local area, walks, attractions and restaurants. Also provided was a netbook pre-loaded with links to local attractions - which is exceptionally thoughtful.

The kitchen had all the equipment required for serious cooking. In fact after racking my brain the only thing I could think of that was missing were glass champagne glasses (there are a couple of picnic style ones)!

The setting of the barn is lovely and a welcome balm for those from the big smoke. We walked from the barn across the fields to Tissington - which was lovely and peaceful.

All in all - a wonderful stay and much recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaminiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We have stayed at Tom's Barn twice now and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

The Barn is very clean and VERY well kitted out, with everything you could think of needing or wanting. The personal touches, such as home made cake, fresh flowers, flre being lit (if cold!) when you arrive only add to your experience. Lots of information is provided for you and is kept up-to-date. John and Marion are very welcoming, without encroaching on your holiday.

We walked locally - try Ilam - and in the High Peaks which are well worth a trip in the car where you will find more majestic scenery - try Edale.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simmos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

From the very warm welcome from John and Marion, the home-made gingercake, the little extras of bread,freshly laid eggs etc, to the spotlessly clean cottage,this really was a lovely place to unwind for a week.There are walks from the cottage, but, aswell as those we chose to go further afield, including a great walk at Chatsworth and one that encompassed The George at Alstonfield where we had a smashing sunday lunch.(dogs are made very welcome here and the service was excellent).
I would also highly recommend the butchers at Tissington.
A delightful place to stay and very popular with returnees, understandably so.......

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillcevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed at Douglas Barn absolutely brilliant, furnished and equiped to the very highest standard. It is the kind of place where you can have eactly the type fof holiday you want, you can just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet or you can be as active as you wish with lovely walks all around and lots of activies available. John and Marion are lovely hosts who live on site and are always willing to help in any way they can to make your stay a success. The village of Parwich is well worth spending some time walking around with lots of interesting buildings, the George serves great food(make the effort to book to be sure of a table) and Le Mistral at Wirksworth has a lovely atmosphere and the discount vouchers make it very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latchford9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parwich
3.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
3.9 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
410 reviews
19.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn

Address: Orchard Farm | Parwich, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Parwich
Price Range: £70 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's and Douglas's Barns are two romantic cottages for two in the beautiful Peak District. Both Tom's Barn - which welcomes dogs - and Douglas's Barn are luxury 5 Star & Gold Award self-catering cottages, ideal for solo travellers or couples. You'll enjoy 21st century comfort and warmth in 18th century ancient limestone cowsheds, attached to the owners’ home in the peaceful White Peak village of Parwich. Next to open countryside – with walks in every direction – the generously equipped cottages are secluded and peaceful, yet only a shortish stroll from the village pub and shop. There is much to see and do nearby: the countryside is stunning, Chatsworth is nearby and also Dovedale, the famous beauty spot. There are plenty of good local pubs and restaurants to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom's Barn And Douglas's Barn Parwich, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing