We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Uppermoor Farmhouse and Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and location”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Can't praise the owners enough for the warm welcome and little touches such as the Victoria Sandwich. We booked exclusively yours for my husbands 60th and couldn't fault both the location and accommodation. This was one of the nicest holiday places in this country we have stayed in, although there were 24 of us there is so much space that you never felt on top of each other, definitely a five star. Will be highly recommending this to all our friends

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for a Long weekend in Uppermoor farmhouse and Horseshoe cottage to celebrate my dad's 80th birthday. From our first contact to the day of departure Jan was ever so helpful. As we were catering for 16, a Tesco grocery delivery was a must and Jan helpfully suggested the directions to give to them which meant the food and wine arrived without a hitch. She rang me a couple of days before our arrival to discuss how we would like the bedrooms set up. Little touches that made the stay all the more enjoyable. We were given a warm welcome on our arrival further enhanced by the delicious cakes. The houses were well heated and although the aga and the wood burner were interesting challenges we soon got the hang of them. The orangery and dining hall in the farmhouse proved to be a great backdrop for our murder mystery dinner with plenty of room for the 16 of us to sit together. Some of our party were a little disappointed over the lack of Sky Sports but we soon found a place in Ashbourne showing the football.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Uppermoor farm is every bit as good as the website would lead you to believe. The facilities are excellent and the the location is stunning.

Over the years we have stayed in a number of holiday cottages and this one was one of the best. The cottages are designed and finished to a very high standard and give you a great base to visit the rest of the Peak District.

The owners make you very welcome and provided us with some fantastic cakes as a welcoming present.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family and I (3 teenage children) spent one week in Horseshoe Cottage. The cottage was beautifully decorated, clean and well equipped, When we arrived there were some fresh home made cookies as well as provisions for making tea-very welcome after a long drive. We found Uppermoor Farm to be a great base , with Chatsworh House, cycle trails, and the lovely towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne- all within easy reach.We also found some excellent pubs and restaurants within a short drive. Our teenagers enjoyed a day at Alton Towers- approximately 30-35 minutes from the cottage. Just a watch out for families with older children- due to the rural location of Uppermoor ,a car is needed to go anywhere-our teenagers missed being able to walk to a local town/village. But overall we would strongly recommend Uppermoor Farm as a great location for a family reunion/holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

17 of us, aged from 2-84, took over Uppermoor Farmhouse and the Coach House to celebrate my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary. From arrival to departure, everything just worked. Jan gave us a brilliant welcome and the home-made cookies were much appreciated. The accommodation offered the perfect balance of luxury and homeliness with loads of room for us all to spread out and enjoy both group and individual activities. All rooms being en suite was a big plus, as was being able to all eat together. We had pre-ordered a Waitrose delivery which, combined with our welcome pack, made catering a doddle and there was more than enough crockery, cutlery and glasses - a stumbling block in many other properties. Loads of outdoor space too for eating or playing games of all sorts - from Jenga to rounders - we brought equipment with us. Jan quickly sorted the a small issue for us. Uppermoor farm had everything we needed so we didn't get to explore the area much - will have to go back for a longer stay to do that! Our only excursion was for an excellent Sunday lunch at The Royal Oak in Hurdlow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alymoorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It was one of those special occasions. The meeting up of family and friends in the
beautiful Derbyshire countryside in a beautiful Farmhouse. Jan and Ed made us so
welcome. The weather was glorious and nobody wanted to go home especially the
grandchildren - which says it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

A group of 18 adults stayed for a weekend in May 2013. On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly owner with cake. She gave us tips on how to use the aga-type cooker and directions for walks. The property was expensive but the interior was very high spec and spacious. The exterior suffered from the smell of what I assume is a septic tank and it would have been unpleasant to have eaten outside. After we left the owner sent us a cheery email with a bill of £17 for a chipped cup.

Clive M

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clivegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parwich
3.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
12.1 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
18.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
14.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
8.6 mi away
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppermoor Farmhouse and Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppermoor Farmhouse and Holiday Cottages

Property: Uppermoor Farmhouse and Holiday Cottages
Address: Uppermoor Farm | The Peak District, Derbyshire, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Parwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak District Luxury Group Accommodation, 5 Star Self Catering Holiday Cottages in the heart of the Peak District National Park. Ideal venue to host celebrations, special occasions and family get-togethers' for larger Groups. Sleeping up to 24 guests in 11 bedrooms with 10 En-suites/private bathrooms. The character property built in stone dates back to the 18th century and is located about a mile outside the Domesday village of Parwich. Uppermoor Farm is set in the midst of its own 70 acres of rolling fields with typical Derbyshire dry stone walls, gardens and woodland. A choice of rear terraces with ample comfortable table and chairs & BBQ's to enjoy 'Alfresco Dining'. Secure and safe car parking for 12 cars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uppermoor Farmhouse And Holiday Cottages Parwich, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing