We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice studio located on beautiful serene beach...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vacatione...
1 review
“Nice studio located on beautiful serene beach front!”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The Sol suite was just the right place for my girlfriend and I to have quiet relaxing week long stay. The studio has just enough space and amenities for a couple. The property is well maintained and beautiful landscaped in a nice quiet neighborhood. The beach out front was basically all ours most of the time and safe for swimming.
The patio and infinity pool area were perfect spots to sit and watch the many stunning sunsets we had while enjoying a cocktail.
Laura was very helpful in making reservations and suggesting some of the many activities the area has to offer.
We would recommend this property to anyone looking for a beautiful beach and a relaxing vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I'm happy that you had a wonderful beach vacation and hope you return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
WI
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and Beautiful”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We arrived at the office a little later than we expected to, but Kevin stayed to warmly welcome us. The suite was super clean and well furnished with everything we needed. The one-site housekeeper came in each day to make the bed and even did our laundry one day! I could lay in the hammock for hours! The Wifi was strong and a welcomed feature. The beach was rather empty while we were there, but the sand once you go out a little ways is very soft and the ocean was very nice to swim in. I'd love to come back and would recommend this property to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hammock
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.....we look forward to your next visit. thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This place is so great”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Luna Suite for a week during New Year's and it was our own private paradise. It is well appointed, spacious, well taken care of to North American standards and the caretaker is extraordinary. Her name is Fabiola and she speaks no English but we got by just fine. The owner stayed in the other suite for part of the time and she is very nice, knowledgable of the area and is more than willing to help with anything. The suites are close to several restaurants walking, or you can drive 15 minutes to several others. If you need groceries I would suggest either Dos Pinas, a five minute drive, or Auto Merkado just outside Tamarindo, about 20 minutes. Numerous beaches nearby but with that pool and view, we spent the lazy days there. Tamarindo and Coco beaches are near enough to visit but far enough away so the crowds don't get in your way. It is a little over an hour to the airport in Liberia and we would definitely stay here again next time we're in Costa Rica. It really is a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Western standards in the suite and willingness of staff to make your visit as easy as possible.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Thank you Susan for taking the time to write about your experience at Villa Malibu. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I hope you can come back and stay with us again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serene Ocean Hideaway”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From the sensational ocean views to the secluded private pool, Villa Malibu was a fantastic retreat that offered the best of everything. The villa is conveniently located close enough to some of the more tourist-centric areas such as Tamarindo (a 25 minute drive) but far enough to offer privacy and seclusion from the crowds. It is also a short walk from some of the more popular and delicious bars and restaurants in the area including La Perla, The Shack, Las Brisas and The Beach House. Highlighted by fabulous weather and all the amenities you need, some of the highlights of our stay include:
- Catching a jjazz/reggae band at The Shack called Glasseye. If you're able to catch them here or in Tamarindo you won't be disappointed.
- Eating dinner on the Beach at Buena Vista restaurant and watching the sun sets beautiful colours.
- going to nearby Brasilito to watch bull riding. We opted for the $6 grand stand seating rather than taking our lives into our hands for the $4 fence seats.
- having the owner, Laura, in the other suite for a few days we were there. Her stories were hilarious and she was extremely accommodating (as were the rest of the staff).

We hope to return here soon. One thing we realized is that going the All Inclusive resort route is no longer an option for us. Vacation homes such as this offer up so much more flexibility for our vacation planning. We would never have found anything so beautiful and relaxing as we found here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
It was such a pleasure to meet both of you. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Malibu and hope that you can return very soon. The sunsets by the pool will be waiting for you. Please stay in touch. Kind Regards, Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drmike102...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

we loved this rental,,2 weeks here,,right on the beach,,place is in as good of shape or better then the pics,,house keeper on site ,Fabiola, was always around and overly helpful,,everything worked,,total security,,pool was nice,,this is a quieter area,so not for the party crowd,,lots to do in the area and walking distance on the beach to several nice resturaunts,,,private,quiet,easy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet,easy,right on the beach
Liked least: not one negative
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope you can return very soon. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyce k
rochester,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing in paradise”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very nicely layer out place, great location right on a quiet beach, beautiful pool that is great for relaxing in.....very gracious on site staff...I couldn't have wanted more and it exceeded our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to say a few words about your stay at Villa Malibu, Suites on the Beach. We love to hear from our guests. I am so glad that you had a great relaxing time and hope that you can return soon. Kind Regards, Laura, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gizmogaga
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing trip, great proximity to beaches.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

These two houses on the property were amazing. Very clean, spacious, with all amenities in kitchen included. Very hard to find a property this close to the beach and in such great condition. Felt very safe with the front gate and secure parking in front of the home. The lap pool was clean and refreshing (salt water). The gate to the beach was locked and felt very secure. It was a great location to drive to all beaches, we enjoyed the close 25 minute drive to amazing restaurants in tamarindo. The gem of the property is Fabiola, the property care taker/maid. She was very helpful in recommending places to buy groceries, beaches to visit, gas stations etc. She even does laundry and dishes for you if you lag behind while you are enjoying the pura vida. I would definitely recommend this property if you need some R&R time while in Costa Rica. One side note- 3 hr drive from parks & volcanoes, but the beaches around this place are worth a few + days stay for sure. We were also 2 hours late picking up key and the rental office waited for us which we appreciated. I left 2 garments in the home after check out and we are working to have them mailed back to me- very helpful people.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing