We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cheers bar" of costa rica”

Maxwell's Cafe & Bar
Ranked #14 of 29 Restaurants in Playa Potrero
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Open garden restaurant with a lovely breeze blowing through the gardens most days. Our goal is to serve the highest quality breakfast, lunch and dinner to both locals and tourists. We serve a myriad of dishes and offer options regarding special dietary needs. Look us up on FB Maxwell's Cafe and Bar, for daily specials.
Nanoose
2 reviews
“"Cheers bar" of costa rica”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Spent many a wonderful evening dining and drinking at Maxwells. Never had a bad meal, in fact always a great meal ranging from Italian to seafood to awesome burgers and every thing in-between. A very wide menu.
Never know what you might be entertained by when you walk in -- karaoke, dj, or live band.
Kelly and Mike (and Lucy the dog) make you feel like you are part of the community with their cheery conversation and good local knowledge.
Experience shows threw your many years in the restaurant buisiness.

Keep up the good work, don't burn out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanoose321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly place”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

In a remote village like Potrero, sometimes it's nice to have a conversation with a "local" that is from the good old USA! The owners are from California, but have lived in Costa Rica for years now, so they are great for some good advise!

The food was great too... nice fresh fish. My wife got the salad that you can custom order and it was fantastic! Make sure you bring a flash light for the walk home... it get really dark!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCarson699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Beach Community Jewel”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Let's talk.....we have traveled extensively and you just cannot beat Maxwell's for the food, service, and experience! The owner's Kelly and Mike make certain your time is enjoyed to the fullest. There are a few other establishments in the community of Surfside Estates but in our opinion none that compare....even the beachfront ones. If you like personal service and want to feel a slice of home, do yourself a favor:) Pura Vida!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasFilly811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The owner made us a Mexican meal to order when we went for dinner. It was very tasty. We went on Tuesday which is karaoke night. All the singers were brilliant and it was a very enjoyable evening. We decided we would go back on Friday as the special was a Mexican meal. We took the long walk there in the dark only to find they were shutting at 8pm as they wanted to go a do at la Penca! We were NOT impressed. Luckily we went to the shack instead and never returned.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hulagirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“fun spot”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Very fun, casual spot with good food and an awesome karaoke night on Tuesdays. We don't usually go for karaoke, but the people were really good and we had a great time! Burgers are delicious and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. Will definitely go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank terrisguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxwell's Cafe & Bar also viewed

Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Maxwell's Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing