We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Playa Potrero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Playa Potrero
1 review
“Tranquil haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent four days at Apartamentos Playa Portrero, and we didn't want to leave! A wonderfully relaxing, very well appointed apartment in beautiful surroundings. We loved cooking fresh seafood supplied by the charming 'Don Chico', leisurely swims and a short walk down to Playa Penca for a pre-breakfast swim every morning. Playa Portrero is the perfect balance of seclusion and a local vibe, while having plenty of amenities on your doorstep. I would thoroughly recommend it as a perfect spot for relaxing, surfing and enjoying the beautiful Costa Rican coastline without the crowds. Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Apartamentos Playa Potrero in July for a week and had an absolutely amazing time. The hosts and the staff at the apartments were beyond accommodating and catered to our every need. The apartments are peaceful, quiet and set in an ideal location. All amenities are perfectly well kept and clean and we did not want for anything throughout our stay. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing, peaceful vacation in a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our family, including children and a grandparent, stayed here for 5 nights and we had a fabulous time. The complex has 8 units and with 2 units joined to each other. The walls are a bit thin but when we were there no one stayed next to our unit for the first 4 nights. The apartments are very well-equipped, clean (someone comes in for daily cleaning),and comfortable. The living rooms have a high ceiling so they feels far more spacious that they are. There is a hammock and nigh dinner table outside each unit which we used a lot. the lawns and the pool were very well-mainted. The pool has a shallow area for children and the rest of it is no deeper than 5 feet. Playa potrero, which we found to be the prettiest and safest beach for swimming with children, was only a 5 minute drive away and very accessible via walking on some gravel road. The caretaker of the property, Chico was such a wonderful and helpful person and his wife makes the best ice cream popsicles! While we never met Olivia, the manager in person, she was an extremely and helpful person. We really enjoyed our stay there and have fond memories of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Lying back by the pool, eating the world's best mango and pondering which stunning, near-by beach to visit is how I would like to start every day. This is how your days can begin at Apartamentos Playa Potrero! The apartments are extremely well-run and located in beautiful countryside on the edge of Potrero. This peaceful and authentic setting (even at the height of tourist season) is the perfect base for visiting the best beaches in Guanacaste or making the most of all sorts of local activities (e.g.horse riding, bird/monkey watching, scuba diving, forest zip-lining and fishing). Mind you, some days it's just too hard to leave the deck chair! We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to come back. Pura vida.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverruss r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Really beautiful,

This place is a place to relax, far away from the city, the noise, the stress. Near some of the most beautiful beaches in Guanacaste, minutes from incredible surfing spots, night life, and wild scenes.

The apartments are very confortable with all the things you need to have a nice stay, with a nice pool and relax ambient. I had spent awesome trips there, definitely will go back.

:)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose Pablo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed at Apartamentos Playa Potrero for an extended stay in last fall and could not have been happier. The apartments, pool, and grounds are incredibly well kept and the staff is always willing to help. The apartments are close to several beautiful beaches, but separated enough to be peaceful - plus, they have a great view of the stars at night!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eljsmith12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

In Apartamentos Playa Potrero you feel like home away from home, comfortable amenities, swimming pool, quite nights! Close to different beautiful beaches such as Prieta, Penca, Flamingo, Danta. A perfect place to spend your vacations!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
0.0 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bahia Esmeralda
Bahia Esmeralda
#4 of 5 in Playa Potrero
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Paradise Flamingo Beach
#3 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico
#3 of 5 in Playa Potrero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Playa Potrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Playa Potrero

Property: Apartamentos Playa Potrero
Address: Playa Potrero 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apartamentos Playa Potrero 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally equiped (kitchen, oven, refrigerator,coffemaker, a/c, tv,internet, parking, swimming pool. Just 5-10 minutes from the beautiful beaches of the North Pacific of Costa Rica, Our apartments are very peaceful and familiar. A beautiful connection with nature. Just Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Apartamentos Playa Potrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Playa Potrero Costa Rica - Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing