We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunsets”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Melray
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunsets”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Casa Meray is a beautiful boutique hotel. It is like being in heaven. Owner Mel and
Ray make sure you are comfortable.
they have a outdoor movie theater with soft cushy couches. Every night we took a glass of wine or my favorite a Pilsen out to the beach and watch the sunset. Magnificent, recommendations to the local Tica restaurants were excellent. In the morning expect a surprise from Mel we had fresh warm baked banna bread, assorted fruit. This is a place you want to stay for a long time and they can accomodate you. The rooms are comfortable all computer a wifi avaiable. Mel and Ray will guide you to the beach bars all within walking distance or they will help you with a rental car. Highly Recommend CASA MELRAY

Room Tip: All rooms are great we stayed in the Iguana room over looking the beach with our private patio outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilsenqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Melray for 3 weeks in April 2012 for his 22nd birthday. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had no idea what to expect. We landed at Liberia Airport and rented a car, which I highly suggest doing. Getting to Casa Melray is incredibly easy, and once we arrived it was like paradise, total diamond in the rough. It had all the ammenities of home and more. The property was more then gorgeous, and being beach front made every evening romantic, being able to watch the sunset from our rooms porch. Our room (Iguana room) had powerful air conditioning, plently of space, a huge bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. There is an outdoor kitchen, fully equiped, and the oudoor living room has a massive projection screen which was perfect for watching movies on a rainy night. Our absolute favorite part about the whole place was the pool, being able to have it so close to dip in several times a day to cool down was a god sent. Being located in Potrero made it so close to so many beaches and really good restuarants, and Mel and Ray have everything mapped out as well as tons of recommended places to eat. I could go on and on but Casa Melray is a beautiful, welcoming place to stay, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My fiancee and I were thinking about staying at either Flamingo or Potroro beach, and were so glad we picked Casa Melray on Potrero beach. At flamingo there are personality-less resorts with tons of people. On Potroro nobody is on the beach, and it's a 10 min walk away from another stunning beach. It's also within walking distance of Flamingo, a nice walk to work off all the burritos you will end up eating. Casa Melray is a GORGEOUS place, clean and modern with great design. We stayed in the Iguana room- basically right on the water. Big windows and ocean view. Mel and Rey also have wine to go around, a nice way to wrap up a day of activities and talk with people who actually live in the area.

I stayed here because of all the 5 stars reviews and am here to add another! You'll love it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 95KateH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamptons, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Location, Location, Location... Yes Yes Yes, but your hosts are just as good!
You want beach front luxury boutique hotel that is very affordable?
This is it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredL881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husband and I just got back from our 30th Anniversary celebration in Costa Rica. We chose Casa Melray which exceeded all our expectations! Excellent accomodations and a wonderful central location for exploring Costa Rica. Mel & Ray made us feel like family and we met some really fun people! Their knowledge of the area was much appreciated as they helped us decide where to eat and which beaches to visit, etc.The pool was clean & very inviting/relaxing, the beds comfortable and the entire property just gorgeous! Spectacular sunsets made for romantic evenings on our private patio.Coffee, fruit and interesting conversation in the shared kitchen area on most mornings was a bonus.We'll be back for sure! Pure heaven!

Room Tip: Frog Suite has a wonderful oceanfront view and great private patio.The Penthouse would be wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

What a great trip to Costa Rica. Thanks to Mel and Ray who are wonderful people and who couldn't do enough for us. Be prepared to be wowed by the beaches and sunsets and the beautiful accommodations. The food was fantastic, especially the seafood. Thanks for the wonderful memories, Mel and Ray.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We thank the owners, Mel and Ray. They helped us make each day more comfortable. We were on a first time visit. This is an oasis of furnishings, landscape, pool, beach, sunset views and treats of baking and fresh fruit. Place Casa MelRay on your 'must choose' list!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunhami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
0.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Paradise Flamingo Beach
#3 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
1,970 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Property: Casa Melray
Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing