We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stay”
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Melray
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The accomodations are beautiful. A lot of thought was put into the layout , landscaping and decoration of the facility. Everything is well maintained . The service was great, every request was accomodated in a timely manner with a smile.

Mel and Ray, are great hosts, very familiar with local dining establishments and sightseeing places. They helped us make arrangements , so we could really enjoy everything that the local area had to offer.

We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

We appreciate the generous comments.I hope you enjoyed the dive trips with Aqua center. Next time you come back we will have NHL hockey (HD) on the big screen for you.
Pura Vida
Mel/Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Casa Melray
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I stayed recently for our honeymoon. The hotel and staff are wonderful!! And Mel and Ray's dog Soma looks and acts exactly like our dog - We felt so at home! Our bed was very comfortable and the room opened up to our own private patio. There is also an outdoor kitchen/bar, movie area, pool, etc. The beach is secluded which is what we were looking for!

Room Tip: Iguana Room.. perfect for a couple
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Sorry we were not able to be home during your stay. We were happy to hear that our staff Ligia and Nelson were able to help you enjoy your stay.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Casa Melray is an amazing location to spend your time in Costa Rica. The atmosphere is extremely tranquil, and you are able to truly enjoy the wind and ocean during your time here. The pool is incredible, and you can walk out of your room straight to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My family and I stayed at Casa Melray for most of March. What a great place to relax and enjoy a holiday. Mel and Ray are great hosts and the property is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The private pool area is fantastic, and the ocean front views from out front make for amazing sunsets each and every evening.

There are a lot of things to see and do around the area (Mel and Ray are very helpful in planning day trips), but Casa Melray is also perfect for those times when you want to do nothing except enjoy the sun and lounge around the pool.

I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This Place Rocks! The property is first rate, we stayed in the Penthouse and it was incredible! My sister and her husband stayed downstairs on the beach. Melanie and Ray are great and were very accommodating, they are well versed in all of the local activities, and know all of the locals. In terms of the location, Portrero is not Miami beach but it definitely has it"s charm, Its an hour from the airport and a half hour from Tamarindo, which has everything you need. We highly recommend Casa Melray!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Casa Melray is beautiful and spotlessly clean. The location is as incredible as the owners. Mel and Ray are kind, thoughtful, honest and caring hosts. They know almost everyone in town and will help you find the right adventure for you! My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay so much that he chose the beach in front of their house to propose while we were there so we will ABSOLUTELY be returning to Casa Melray!

Room Tip: View from the penthouse is great and well worth the extra $
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Helpful from the moment I sent my first e-mail inquiry on, the owners of Casa Melray go above and beyond to make everything perfect for your stay. From making reservations for travel to and from the airport, to their hand picked selections for fun things to do in Costa Rica, their expertise of the area and ability to make you feel at home (but treated like a king), was unsurpassed!

The facilities rival any villa in (pick your most extravagant travel destination), but you still feel like a member of the family. The view, the pool, the movie theater, the beach, and the architecture of Casa Melray were all top notch!

If I ever have a chance to return to Costa Rica, a stay at Casa Melray is not just a possibility, its a guarantee!

PS. Wait till you meet "soma" the wonder dog!

Room Tip: The suite was breathtaking, but all the rooms have their own special charm.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
0.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
410 reviews
4.5 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
723 reviews
14.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,602 reviews
3.9 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range: £74 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing