We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Melray
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Beautiful rooms, great pool and best of all the owners and operators Ray and Mel, two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. Right on the beach, you just walk out the door and you are at the beach watching the pelicans dive for fish or the locals fishing for the catch of the day. We loved it, you will love it too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks for the great review. Watching the local fisherman and pelicans at work right in front of our door is always facinating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rijsbergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is the best place to go if you love fishing and relaxing. A fantastic pool and beautiful rooms which a very exclusive. The owners Mel and Ray do everything to make your holiday unforgettable.
You can make excursions to whole Costa Rica, just ask and they will advise you. We made some kayak trips and it was really unbelievable. i am looking forward to the next time and also to the brownies MEL baked for us, they were delicious !!!

Room Tip: The penthouse is great if you want to see the sunset from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbuijsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melray4316, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
It was great having you back again. We enjoy your visits every time you come. Incredible kayak fishing this year as well. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

So many good things to say, where to start. We recently spent 10 days at Casa Melray and the only bad part of the stay was that it flew by too quickly.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom casita which was fully equipped with everything we could have possibly needed, from a modern kitchen, great for cooking breakfasts, to a private patio, great for enjoying them. The pool and surrounding patio area is gorgeously landscaped, and the outdoor kitchen was a great place to hang out and meet other guests. The property has a beautiful beachfront area equipped with hammocks and a few tables and chairs, a great place to enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sunsets.

The owners, Mel and Ray, are two of the most gracious and fantastic hosts and definitely made our trip that much more memorable. They treated us like family and had recommendations for the best restaurants, beaches and tours in the area. Mel and Ray, thank you so much, we loved your place and had a great time hanging out with you guys! We can hardly wait to come back!

Kat & Rob

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melray4316, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for the great reveiw. Hope you can get back down here to continue to explore Costa Rica and catch some R&R at our casa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zonnemaire, Zeeland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We as a group of Europeans visit Casa Melray for the last 2 weeks! I wish we knew this place before. So much better as hotels and all the places we tried before. What a beautiful location directly at the beach of the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. The house and the all the other facilities are state of the art. A swimmingpool, relaxing chairs and a good outdoor kitchen. A home set theatre and a beautiful garden around the place. Not even mention the great hospitality of Mel and Ray them self. We felt home directly and are looking back at a great holiday in Costa Rica.
Next time a visit Costa Rica i will have no doubt and only book Casa Melray again! Thanks Mel and Ray we had a great time at your place!! Greets Bram

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bram H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melray4316, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks for the great reveiw. We are looking forward to your return trip next year. Hope the Rooster fishing is a good as it was this year. Have a great christmas. mel/ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My son found Casa Melray through tripadvisor and after a few email exchanges booked us for 5 nights in the summer of 2012. Mel and Ray, and their staff, were absolutely fabulous. They were extremely helpful with all that we asked. Our flight arrived late in the night and our departure was VERY early in the morning and Mel was there to greet us and see us off. The place is extremely quiet, which is what we were looking for. We didn't rent a car, but used a van service (probably a bit more expensive, but worth every bit of it due to unfamiliarity with the roads). The little town of Potrero had a few restaurants, but nothing fancy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borqueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Casa Melray exceeded our expectation. We rented the guest house, which was not on the beach but was spectacular. It had it's own outdoor areas and it's own kitchen. The location of Casa Melray was perfect as it's beach was beautiful and had very few beach goers. Close walk to many restaurants and corner stores. Mel and Ray were wonderful hosts and really added to our enjoyment. They had the entire area mapped out and helped us book last minute excursions and how to get to amazing beaches.

Room Tip: The guest house was great for our family. The kids would run out the door straight into the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

What a find this place was for us, it was like a "diamond in the rough!" First of all the place is absolutely gorgeous, with a beautiful view of the ocean and we witnessed some beautiful sunsets!
The Hosts - Mel and Ray, went above and beyond, they treated us like we were guests in their home as opposed to customers in a hotel. Very gracious with their time and spent many evenings socializing. Very knowledgable about tours, restaurants and anything else one needs to know about the area. We can't wait to go back as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Primetimeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
0.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Paradise Flamingo Beach
#3 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
4.5 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Property: Casa Melray
Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing