We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PLACE, AMAZING HOSTS!”
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Melray
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I just returned from a month in beautiful Costa Rica and stayed at Casa Melray, on two separate occasions. I can't say enough good things about the accommodations and the owners - Mel and Ray.

All the guest rooms are beautiful, clean and very comfortable and the outdoor space is lovely! The outdoor space includes a well-equipped shared kitchen and pool. Don't let "shared" scare you. You can definitely have privacy here, if you wish or you can certainly enjoy a drink with a new friend. The house also includes a sitting area with perfect views of Playa Potrero.

The staff at the house is top-notch as well as the service/hospitality that you get from Mel and Ray. They are so so kind and go above and beyond in providing you all you need - from airport pickup to recommendations for weekend trips, they are the best!

A must stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2015

Thank you for the great review. We try to make our guests visit to Costa Rica as positive as we can. This is a great country to vist and we really like sharing our experiences.
So glad you enjoyed your visits.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Casa Melray
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just got done with a week in the guest house at Casa Melray, we fell in love with the place and location right away. Mel and Ray are the ultimate in hosts, but in a very unobtrusive manner. From the welcome bottle of wine, fresh cookies and milk to the fully furnished, very comfortable guest house to all of the little things that make this a great place to be housed while exploring the Guanacaste area. They are well equipped with boogie boards, noodles, paddleboards, beach chairs, coolers, beach towels etc. We enjoyed having use of these items as we checked out the numerous awesome beaches in the area. Mel and Ray have also put together a nice summary of beaches, places to eat and things to do in the area which we found very helpful.
Casa Melray is a smaller, intimate, quiet boutique hotel and you do see the other guests in the shared spaces by the pool and outdoor kitchen. All of the guests were great when we were there and we could be social when we wanted but also had our guest house patio so we could have some privacy too.
It's located in an area with a nice array of beach bars and restaurants to choose from if you feel like eating out. We also enjoyed being able to use the well appointed kitchen when we felt like eating in. There are several mercados within walking distance to make that a very viable option. We plan to venture back to Casa Melray again next year!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cmboese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Were appreciate the great review and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Casa. Looking forward to your return visit to Costa Rica.
Pura Vida
M&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I travelled to Costa Rica this past November, it has taken me this long to try and figure out how do I possibly put into words perfection, because that was exactly our stay at Casa Melray. The hospitality started with Mel making arrangements for us to be picked up at the airport, from there, she was a book of knowledge in recommending places to go, places to eat, booking our rental car, taking us to karaoke, oh, and did i mention home baked goodies with our coffee. Both Mel and Ray were great host/hostess, we enjoyed our evenings chatting with them over drinks, they literally opened their home to us as part of their family, we rented the guest house, which was gorgeous, the pool, outdoor kitchen and outdoor movie theatre, amazing!!! I havent stopped talking about our experience at Casa Melray, and our trip overall to Costa Rica, without a doubt I would recommend this place to anyone, and take my word, you will not be disappointed hugs "Leo" & Sue

Room Tip: When booking at Casa Melray, you have a choice of many different rooms, we were with another couple...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

We so glad you had a great trip to Costa Rica .It is an amazing country to explore with many excellent activities in the vicinity. Great times chatting with your group. Hope to see you agian.
M&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed as a couple at the beautiful Casa Melray from December 28, 2013 to January 6, 2014 in the Frog Suite. Casa Melray is on a lovely grey sandy beach (Playa Potrero) which has great waves and stunning sunsets.

There's something uniquely special about Casa Melray...when you want privacy, there's no shortage of places to find it. And when you're feeling social, the guests all come together and chat like old friends within minutes.

The digs: The Frog Suite is a spacious suite that opens onto a deck overlooking the ocean. It's a beautiful suite that comes with all the comforts of home, including a king size bed, a mini fridge, a big bathroom and shower and even his and her plush robes. The bed is ridiculously comfortable...and we loved being lulled to sleep by the sounds of the Ocean.

Communal area: The communal kitchen comes fully stocked with appliances, pots, pans, and enough plates, glasses, etc. for a small army! Guests even have access to a communal BBQ. Each morning, the breakfast fairy (Mel) stocked the fridge with fresh fruit, delicious coffee, milk, eggs. The highlight was Mel's freshly baked cinnamon buns and Christmas cookies...my mouth is still watering just thinking of them!

The pool is the perfect temperature, and there is no shortage of sun loungers, beach towels and shaded spots to read and relax. You can borrow rafts/noodles, boogie boards, and even stand-up paddle boards.

There's also an amazing covered outdoor theatre with a huge screen, if you want to watch a movie.

Tip: You get the best WiFi in the communal kitchen and by the pool.

Hosts Extraordinaire: Mel and Ray are the most amazing hosts! They are the heart of the Casa, and they are really the loveliest people. Not only do they make you feel instantly at home, but they make sure you have access to all the information about the Casa, the neighbouring restaurants, and the hidden gems to make sure your trip is a happy and memorable one. They even helped to arrange for a massage therapist to come to the Casa and set us up with beautiful accommodations for our two nights in Arenal.

Mel even baked a delicious cake for a few of us that had birthdays in and around New Years Eve. On New Years Eve, Mel and Ray hosted the Casa guests at their place and we brought in 2014 sipping champagne and watching the fireworks from their deck. It's those little thoughtful gestures that made our trip so memorable and special.

When it was time to say goodbye, our hosts were there to hug us and send us off...it felt like we were leaving family.

We loved our time at Casa Melray, and look forward to returning someday soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sairag2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks so much for your kind reveiw. We hope to make everyones vacation memorable when they visit our Casa. We really enjoyed your visit and hope to see you on your next Costa Rican holiday.
M&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had always gone all-exclusive when going on a south destination get-away and Casa Melray has ruined that for me. :) Their guest house had luxurious rooms and all of the amenities that anyone could want or need for. Mel and Ray run a top-notch place and make everyone feel welcome and part of the family. They have thought about every last detail to ensure your stay is a memory making experience. Staying at Casa Melray gave us the opportunity to truly experience Costa Rica. We were able to experience things like going to the grocery store, eat at amazing restaurants, tour the country, snorkel at local beaches, attend karaoke in the local town and so much more! On the down days that we stayed onsite we were able to swim in the pool, walk along the ocean front (take Soma their remarkable dog for a walk), relax on the terrace, eat in the outdoor kitchen, watch movies in the outdoor theatre area and so on and so on. Mel and Ray really know the in’s and out’s of Costa Rica and go above and beyond to assist with arrangements of any excursion you wish to do. It was recommended to me by a coworker and after being there I would recommend staying at Casa Melray to anyone. Sincerely!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted that you had a great vacation here in Costa Rica.
We have to give all lot of credit to Soma, who is our star entertainer and guest companion. Soma is always happy to see new guests and very sad to see them go.
All the best M&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Mel and Ray run a top-notch small hotel efficiently, with love and attention to detail. The rooms are tasteful and fresh and very clean, as are the common areas like the pool and shared kitchen.
The Internet connection is relatively fast and the cable TV has numerous channels.
The location is lovely on the beach in a very small town near small convenience stores and several simple but very good restaurants.
It is even prettier than the photos.
It far exceeded our high expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melray4316, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We also appreciate our small town tropical experiences.
Hope to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our family group of 7 spent almost 2 weeks at beautiful Casa Melray over Christmas and New Years. It is rare to find a place that has everything one could wish for, but this is it. Beautifully designed and well appointed accommodation, stellar views, outdoor movie theatre, refreshing pool, walking distance to nearby bars and restaurants and most notably, the warm hospitality of hosts Mel and Ray.
Mel and Ray invited all their guests to Christmas dinner (with all the trimmings) and it was a very memorable evening, as was bringing in the New Year watching the fire works from their balcony.
We will miss Mel's freshly baked and irresistible cookies and cinnamon buns with our morning coffee.
We appreciated the use of the many beach toys Mel and Ray share with guests including kayaks, boogie boards, snorkeling gear, fishing rods, beach chairs and coolers. They also recommended and arranged local excursions (ATV'ing and snorkeling trip on the Lazy Lizard were great).
We had loads of fun with Mel and Ray and the other guests but the variety of accommodations and outdoor spaces also provide ample opportunity for privacy and solitude.
Our family of 6 adults and 1 teen were comfortably accommodated between the Iguana Room and the 2 bedroom casita. On our next visit, my husband and I will try the penthouse suite if available, but would be perfectly happy in any of the rooms.
Thanks Mel and Ray for all you did to make our stay comfortable, fun and festive.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. We enjoyed the private balcony off the Iguana room but spent most of our ti...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

We are so glad you had a great Christmas Vacation. Mel and I also really enjoyed Christmas dinner. It just felt like a big family celebration back home. Looking forward to your next visit.
M&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
0.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
409 reviews
4.5 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
722 reviews
14.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,601 reviews
3.9 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range: £74 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing