We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
Branson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True paradise”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We actually stayed in Playa Brasilito, but went exploring one day and found this paradise. The road to the hotel was dirt and gravel most of the way and pretty rough even in our small SUV, but if you can get to the hotel and just stay there, it is worth the drive. We just stopped to explore and had a fabulous snack of Chicken Nachos and coffee in the awesome open air restaurant. The server was very friendly and attentive and was happy to let us explore the beach a bit after our meal.

The grounds were immaculate and the rooms / houses / bungalows were amazing from the outside. If our budget would allow, we would love to stay there. The houses were most reasonable if you were able to split the cost with several couples. If you are looking for luxury, seclusion, peace and quite, this seems to be it. We were very impressed by the few hours we spent there.

It will be something to save up for in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marietta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    97
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
113
174
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Casual quality, Rooms and food very good- well priced. Quiet , relatively remote for relaxing getaway.
Waiters attentive to make you happy.
Very good choice for this price range. Would definitely like to return.
For those who want semi remote and private vacation this is a good choice.

Room Tip: 21 best ocean front at probably little higher rate, 18 also excellent with good view also and lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Lovely hotel located on the beach in the jungle. Birds, large lizards and monkeys are on the hotel grounds. Rooms are excellent with good air conditioning and a TV with CNN. Room has a small fridge which is useful for snacks as there is only one place to eat here and the menu can get boring. Lobby and restrarant have free WIFI that works 95% of the time

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halfretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are grateful for your review, and that you found Sugar Beach to be exactly that, a secluded beach with an abundance of nature where you can relax and enjoy the sunsets! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsburg, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Came down for my sister's wedding at Sugar Beach Hotel. The staff was wonderful, very attentive to all of our needs. My folks had an issue issue their air conditioner in their room, it broke. The staff, Gabby, stayed up one night past 10pm while someone came out to try and fix it. She was genuinely concerned that it get fixed, and so apologetic. When it couldn't get fixed that night, they made sure someone was out 1st thing the next morning, and comped my folks for their room. Problems happen, and they promptly fixed it.
The grounds were great, awesome views. The beach was always clean. Everyone had a blast, walked down the road to rent kayaks, took taxis to other nearby excursions.
The food was wonderful. The wait staff superb, and the entire experience was awesome.
I highly recommend Sugar Beach Hotel to everyone !

Room Tip: we had room 1106, at the end. The monkeys live right outside, pretty cool. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We got married at Hotel Sugar Beach on June 30 and had the experience of a lifetime! With 70 guests in total, we rented the entire hotel which felt so personal. The hotel worked with us for an entire year to plan the wedding, organize tours and transportation for guests, and finalize all details requested. Upon our arrival, they went above and beyond to make us feel so special and taken care of. The staff was extremely attentive and accommodating and couldn't have been friendlier. We left feeling so fortunate that our wedding experience at Sugar Beach exceeded every expectation we had. And believe me, we had high expectations! Thank you Sugar Beach! We'll be back for our anniversaries.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise! I literally jumped up and down upon arriving! It is located on a pretty beach and there is a wonderful view from the outdoor restaurant. The food was excellent, and free breakfasts filling. The wildlife in the area was great with big lizards, monkeys,strange birds and jungle noises at night! It is located within easy driving distance of many beaches. Being there in June, it was low season and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. I highly recommend this hotel for families, newlyweds, or retired folks like us!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davendil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in an ocean view room close to the restaurant. The hotel is very clean and charming, the staff is helpful, friendly and attentive. I really loved my stay here - it was peaceful and very quiet. We had the beach pretty much to ourselves! The breakfast was pretty good (you get 3 or 4 choices that are included in your hotel stay). Breakfast was always interesting with friendly visitors from the local fauna. We enjoyed some tasty dinners here as well (recommend the ceviche). Getting to the hotel was a bit of a hike - rent an SUV and you will be fine. Also recommended is to drive to Rincon de la Vieja and enjoy a day there.

Room Tip: Everything closes at 10pm. We had a delayed flight, so by the time we got there, all restaurants we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edithHDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2.0 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
14.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,428 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
1,970 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
16.5 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Hotel

Property: Sugar Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Pan de Azucar, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the few small hotels in Guanacaste, with a pristine secluded beach, surrounded by nature. Enjoy breathtaking views and experience the Pura Vida lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing