We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hidden gem”
Review of Sugar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Perched on a sandy knoll, overlooking a remote beach, it is a most relaxing and romantic getaway. The restaurant is also excellent for drinks while watching the sunset; however a car is a must, a 4x4 would even be better, as it would allow you to explore the back trails to other deserted beaches and see monkeys along the Monkey Trail.

Room Tip: They are all good, however, the howler monkeys may wake you early in the morning.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayfarer115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sugar Beach! We agree that a perfect sunset comes with a delicious cocktail or natural juice prepared by Victor and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful experience. Beach great, food, rooms and service great. Everyone went above and beyond to be helpful and make our stay great. Road paved 4 months ago so easy approach. Iguanas all over - very cool. Peaceful - perfect to disconnect

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LMikton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

The staff from Sugar Beach wishes you well and we hope you can visit us again soon! We are glad you enjoyed the peacefulness – a relaxing vacation is the one of the best reasons to take a break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I am hesitant to recommend Hotel Sugar Beach; I want to keep it to myself because it is such a treasure. My friends and I chose Sugar Beach as the place to finish off our two weeks in Costa Rica. We had rented a car and for our second week did a 'driving tour' across Guanacaste. Hotel Sugar Beach was our highlight and a perfect ending to our wonderful holiday in Costa Rica. We took the Monkey Trail road into Playa Potrero - it's a rough gravel road, however if you've done any driving off the beaten track in Costa Rica it was fairly standard. Not a rainy season recommendation though I expect.

We were in the three bedroom house which was wonderful! However being a smaller resort, all the rooms seemed to have a good location and either good beach view or garden views. The beach is lovely, the pool is small and clean but we spent most of our time in the ocean and when we were not in the water playing in the waves like children; we were watching the pelicans dip and dive; searching out iguanas and watching the parrots and howler monkeys.

The open air restaurant was great! The sunset view was one of the best we'd seen; the menu had an excellent variety of food and Victor and Ale were wonderful, attentive and informative waiters. The arroz con pollo was delicious and a favourite (would love to get the recipe!). The breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

It is hard to peg just what it was about this resort, certainly its smaller size, light footprint, sustainable and ecologic approach are attractive and the friendly staff and excellent service makes it stand out, but it was also the people this resort attracts that makes it special. It felt very comfortable, like everyone there valued the environment and simple pleasures of costa rica and took delight in sharing them with friends and family.

Our only regret was that we did not have more time to experience the tours offered by the hotel. We will definitely return and hope to do so someday soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you so much for deciding to share your experience at Sugar Beach and proceeding to write one of our best reviews! We will pass your notes on to Victor, Ale and the staff. We value the staff's dedication to the Sugar Beach service and sustainable mission and your feedback will motivate and empower them. The cooks want to share their recipe for Arroz con Pollo with you – please request this from Gaby: customerservice@sugar-beach.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Spent One week here in February. Loved this hotel. Beach is small and quiet. Food was good, some dishes better than others, fish was always fresh. Rooms were nice and large, very clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I want to go back!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the fish dishes. With our restaurant located so close to the beach, we strive to only offer the freshest fish possible. We hope you do return to Costa Rica and do stay at Sugar Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Beautiful grounds and rooms. The friendly staff happily went out of their way to accommodate us when we returned with fish to cook. The gorgeous beach is very peaceful, great waves to to play in depending on the time of day. Sometimes short on lounge chairs. Definitely need a car to explore the area.

Room Tip: Suites are huge. Regular room appeared adequate
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraAnn_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the Sugar Beach staff. We appreciate valuable trips from our guests and have heard recently from guests who are enjoying the new comfy beach chairs, that during busy times we have not been able to offer each guest a lounge. We will be investing in more chairs very soon. Thank you again, and do come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 9 day stay at this resort. The grounds are like a nature sanctuary as we saw howler monkeys, exotic birds and iguanas everywhere and everyday!
We actually watched a family of monkeys playing right outside in the trees from our room patio.
The resort itself is very eco focused, so the landscape is very natural and native to the area.
We visited during the very dry season and the surroundings reflected this climate. The beach is fairly secluded and almost private as there were times we were the only people walking on the beach. It is a swimmable beach when tide is right and waves are calmer..which is typically in late afternoon. There are an abundance of pelicans feeding in this bay and we sometimes saw fish jumping right out of the ocean!
We stayed in a deluxe suite room which was very spacious and had partial ocean view and full garden/monkey view..the housekeeping service is very good and rooms and grounds are very clean. We enjoyed the small infintity pool as it was very hot and the pool refreshing.
The restaurant was good and we ate there for breakfast (included) lunch and dinner many times during our stay. Try the seared tuna entree!
The staff was very helpful (especially Marco and Hotel Manager, Pablo) for assisting with excursions and other dinner reservations during our stay.
I do offer a couple of suggestions that would have made our stay even more enjoyable, wifi in guests rooms, loungers on guest room patios for reading, relaxing, maybe yoga or some type of activities available.
We had a wonderful and romantic time here and would definitely stay again when visiting Guanacaste area!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wantssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed and share an appreciation for the dry tropical forest and the abundance of wildlife that also travel through Sugar Beach. I think the lounges on the patios would be great for reading and viewing the animals. We have a few hurdles to clear for internet in the rooms, but recently added free wifi on the beach in front of the yoga platform! Thank you for your stay with us and your wonderful review and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We loved this hotel on the beach. Our room was very roomy and beautiful. Great view of the beach. Monkeys and iguanas everywhere. The restaurant was great and the sunsets were beautiful.The hotel is secluded so if that is what you are looking for this one is for you. Everyone at Sugar Beach were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and finding Sugar Beach to be exactly that, a comfortable place to rest and enjoy nature and beautiful sunsets. We are glad that you found us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2.0 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
14.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,602 reviews
12.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
2.6 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Pan de Azucar, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range: £92 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the few small hotels in Guanacaste, with a pristine secluded beach, surrounded by nature. Enjoy breathtaking views and experience the Pura Vida lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing