We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
hozkhar
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Me, my wife and my 2 girls spent 4 nights at this property and we had a great time for various reasons.

Firstly, the location of the hotel. The place is just steps away from " Pan de Azucar" beach so you can walk in 30 seconds from the restaurant to the sea. The beach is not crowded. Therefore you can enjoy the peace and the privacy without paying a fortune.

We payed 150 USD per night with a great breakfast included.

Secondly, the service. Gama, Victor, Ale and the rest of the staff are amazing, they took care of every detail during our stay. For example, one of my daughters is allergic to wheat and they prepared the pasta we brought with us at no extra cost.

Thirdly, the food. We ate at their restaurant every day for breakfast wich was really good- fruit, pancakes, traditional " gallo pinto", eggs, etc- Also we ate there for lunch and some dinners and we were impressed with the quality of the food and the prices. For instance, the prices of the restaurant are 25% cheaper than other resturants around.

Finally, the facilities. The hotel is not luxurious but the rooms and the restaurant are nice and have everything you need. The pool is close to the beach and the rooms and is good for adults and kids.

As a conclusion, I can recommend this hotel for families and those looking for a nice place to rest and enjoy the beach and the nature.

Room Tip: The rooms with garden view are still great and close enough to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hozkhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed recommendation. We are happy that your family enjoyed your stay and appreciated and mentioned some of us by name! We hope you can return someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    97
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
113
174
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Sugar Beach is a curious spot. During our stay, the place was nearly deserted until our last day, a Friday. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, with herons diving in the surf, and the loveliest Pacific sunset imaginable. The food, was outstanding, and very reasonably priced. We really enjoyed the open-air restaurant, very comfortable and welcoming, and a perfect spot to watch the iguanas and the colorful birds that liked to stop by. The place fell short, however, where our children were concerned. There were DVD's and board games to borrow from the front desk, but not a single piece of beach equipment--no boogie boards, no kayaks, nothing. I could see a stack of boogie boards near the desk but was told they could not be borrowed. We couldn't even find a towel. We had to make our way with great difficulty to the neighboring resort, which has a wonderful center for surfing, paddleboarding, kayaking and bike riding, with a very welcoming crew. But it was so difficult to get back because of unreliable taxi service, and heat in the 100 degree range, that it undermined the outing. The pool at Sugar Beach, by this point, was paradise, and that is where we stayed the rest of our time there. All in all, a mixed experience. I would have enjoyed it more if I had not had children to keep busy. It happened to be extraordinarily hot during our stay, and our rooms were like ovens, so we needed air conditioning all night. Thus no sounds of surf or sea breezes. We stayed in a house on the far end of the property and its interior bore absolutely no resemblance to the photos on the website--a completely different kitchen. We wanted an accessible facility, and it was steeply ramped in places and with stairs in others. In general the resort was manageable but we would have done better in regular rooms, which are spread across the resort in smaller units. It would be more enjoyable at this resort if you had your own car.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60763Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are grateful for your suggestions in regard to traveling with children. Sugar Beach is quiet and tends to focus on couples and romantic vacations. The property has many features that are kid friendly – with the wild life living on the property and our secluded location, kids have some space and easy adventure at hand – yet we have missed an opportunity to organize other activities for our younger guests. We have some ideas in the works and your feedback has motivated us to move forward asap!

The hotel currently offers only boogie boards for guests to use now that Pura Vida Ride is operating a water sport business near the hotel and offers lessons and a wide variety of rentals. Unfortunately, the boogies boards you spotted were a retired dozen boards that we no longer offered to guests as they were badly damaged. We will do better with our replacement boards.

Sugar Beach has two beachfront family rentals – the five-bedroom beach house and the three-bedroom beach suite. Your reservation was upgraded to the five-bedroom beach house. Although similar, the house has a full kitchen and the beach suite a kitchenette – the photos clearly do look different. We apologize for this assumption – that an upgrade is good – and our failure to involve you in this decision. We now understand that you preferred to be more centrally located to the restaurant and pool and we will be better with our communication with guests at check in. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great place with pretty much a perfect private beach. There were monkeys on the property a couple of days and plenty of iguanas to keep the kids entertained. The waves were gentle but fun enough to body surf but not so strong they slammed you. the staff here was great. We definitely didn't venture too far away. This is a pretty remote area and the towns don't amount to much. The food here was great...cocktails not so much:( We were there at the end of the dry season for spring break. It's really hot and dry at that time of year. We would go back during the rainy season to see it more green next time.

Room Tip: We got one of the rooms that faced the water and had a nice view with a nice deck out front. it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsoloSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are glad your enjoyed Sugar Beach, the waves and our restaurant. We are proud of the growth and improvement of our young chefs and sorry that our bartenders' drinks were disappointing. On your next visit, we will be sure to make that up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Perched on a sandy knoll, overlooking a remote beach, it is a most relaxing and romantic getaway. The restaurant is also excellent for drinks while watching the sunset; however a car is a must, a 4x4 would even be better, as it would allow you to explore the back trails to other deserted beaches and see monkeys along the Monkey Trail.

Room Tip: They are all good, however, the howler monkeys may wake you early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sugar Beach! We agree that a perfect sunset comes with a delicious cocktail or natural juice prepared by Victor and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful experience. Beach great, food, rooms and service great. Everyone went above and beyond to be helpful and make our stay great. Road paved 4 months ago so easy approach. Iguanas all over - very cool. Peaceful - perfect to disconnect

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LMikton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
The staff from Sugar Beach wishes you well and we hope you can visit us again soon! We are glad you enjoyed the peacefulness – a relaxing vacation is the one of the best reasons to take a break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I am hesitant to recommend Hotel Sugar Beach; I want to keep it to myself because it is such a treasure. My friends and I chose Sugar Beach as the place to finish off our two weeks in Costa Rica. We had rented a car and for our second week did a 'driving tour' across Guanacaste. Hotel Sugar Beach was our highlight and a perfect ending to our wonderful holiday in Costa Rica. We took the Monkey Trail road into Playa Potrero - it's a rough gravel road, however if you've done any driving off the beaten track in Costa Rica it was fairly standard. Not a rainy season recommendation though I expect.

We were in the three bedroom house which was wonderful! However being a smaller resort, all the rooms seemed to have a good location and either good beach view or garden views. The beach is lovely, the pool is small and clean but we spent most of our time in the ocean and when we were not in the water playing in the waves like children; we were watching the pelicans dip and dive; searching out iguanas and watching the parrots and howler monkeys.

The open air restaurant was great! The sunset view was one of the best we'd seen; the menu had an excellent variety of food and Victor and Ale were wonderful, attentive and informative waiters. The arroz con pollo was delicious and a favourite (would love to get the recipe!). The breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

It is hard to peg just what it was about this resort, certainly its smaller size, light footprint, sustainable and ecologic approach are attractive and the friendly staff and excellent service makes it stand out, but it was also the people this resort attracts that makes it special. It felt very comfortable, like everyone there valued the environment and simple pleasures of costa rica and took delight in sharing them with friends and family.

Our only regret was that we did not have more time to experience the tours offered by the hotel. We will definitely return and hope to do so someday soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for deciding to share your experience at Sugar Beach and proceeding to write one of our best reviews! We will pass your notes on to Victor, Ale and the staff. We value the staff's dedication to the Sugar Beach service and sustainable mission and your feedback will motivate and empower them. The cooks want to share their recipe for Arroz con Pollo with you – please request this from Gaby: customerservice@sugar-beach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Spent One week here in February. Loved this hotel. Beach is small and quiet. Food was good, some dishes better than others, fish was always fresh. Rooms were nice and large, very clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I want to go back!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the fish dishes. With our restaurant located so close to the beach, we strive to only offer the freshest fish possible. We hope you do return to Costa Rica and do stay at Sugar Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2.0 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
14.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Paradise Flamingo Beach
#3 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.6 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Hotel

Property: Sugar Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Pan de Azucar, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the few small hotels in Guanacaste, with a pristine secluded beach, surrounded by nature. Enjoy breathtaking views and experience the Pura Vida lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing