We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small is beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The perfect place to relax with simple but comfortable rooms with good air conditioning and plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear Friend, thank you very much for your comments, we are very proud of been a Small Boutique, Beach Front Hotel, hope you see you again
From All our Staff we send you our Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

My wife, brother-in-law and sister-in-law just returned from a week at the Bahia del Sol. It is located a few miles down a dirt road from Brasilito, right on the beach near the small village of Potrero. We loved the quiet location – at any given time, there were less than a dozen people on the entire ~5 mile stretch of Playa Potrero. Often times we had the entire beach to ourselves.

The hotel itself was great - we stayed in a 2-bedroom suite, and although we didn’t spend too much time in the room, it was clean, comfortable, and perfect for our needs. The hotel grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We spent a lot of time at the pool, restaurant and swim up bar – the food/drinks were great and the staff was super friendly – by mid-week almost everyone who worked there knew us by name.

We did several tours booked through the hotel – surfing lessons with Harlan (Toes to the Nose Surf School) and the Palo Verde boat tour, where we saw lots of crocodiles, birds, iguanas, and howler/capuchin monkeys. Would highly recommend both, especially the surfing (see my other review for Toes to the Nose surfing).

There are several good restaurants within walking distance – Las Brisas is about 1.5 miles down the beach, and has really good ceviche and sashimi. Maxwell’s is more of a local hangout playing good reggae music, with a pool table, jenga, and some tasty patty melts. El Coconut, right next door to the Bahia, was never very crowded but had excellent seafood.

All in all, we were extremely happy with the Bahia del Sol and Potrero, and will likely be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kslaught21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Our stay at Bahia del Sol was just what our work weary bones needed. From the welcome drink, the private dinner by the beach, and the fabulous personal service, the staff at Bahia del Sol made our week long adventure memorable. Maik at the front desk quickly remembered our names and made sure that our needs were taken care of and offered up great reccomendations of where to go and what to do. He never failed to deliver.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vjbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This comfortable property is ideally situated on a long stretch of beach within a 20 minute walk of Playa Flamingo and proximal to a variey of restaurants and bars in Playa Portrero. The rooms were clean and well decorated and staff couldn't have been more helpful. The pool, while small, is perfect for floating and has a convenient swim up bar. Gardens were well manicured.

The restaurant serves a complimentary breakfast buffet which was very good and consisted of fruit, rice and beans, eggs, sausage and a variety of pastries. The restaurant is also open for lunch and dinner. The food was pretty good, although not exceptional. Ceviche was sub-par.

The village where Bahia resides is small, quaint town called Portero and has an "old west cowboy" feel to it. The Shack is an excellent, friendly, no frills bar with better than expected food (try the meatloaf sandwich) and is located about 200 yards from the Bahia. Las Brisas, which is 1km down the beach has excellent food, but beware of the specials for which they do not list the price. The fried shrimp plate for example ended up costing $25 - exceptionally high for this area.

Should you stay at the hotel during one of the local fiestas, there is a good chance you'll be awaken by thumping bass coming from either a house party or from one of the nearby restaurants. As I understand it, this is a common occurance in practically every town in Costa Rica so unless you are staying in an entirely remote area, there isn't much one can do to escape this. It is what it is and shouldn't deter folks from staying at the Bahia.

All in all it was a great stay!!!

Surfing note: Should you decide to take surfing lessons, you may want to avoid booking this through the hotel. They set me up with an expat who ended up picking me up in his beat up jalopy which was ridden with trash, sans AC, and generally filthy. The surfboard he provided was old, secured with duct tape, and did not provide the ideal type of board to learn on (wasn't soft and not long enough). He wasn't the most pleasant either, and insisted on smoking in the car.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoreclubJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Although the setting is very pretty and quiet, starting at 9pm and going until 12:30 on the Friday night, there was incredibly loud amplified music from a bar two doors down. It was impossible to sleep and front desk said, there was nothing they could do, the bar has a permit to play LOUD music until midnight. We felt they should have warned us about this at check in!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frenchagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Director of Sales at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Dear Guest, us you mentioned this is not a common situation, and us part of our commitment why our Quality Service assurance program, at this moment we are making a formal complain at the Ministry of Health and the Municipality of Santa Cruz, with this we will get rid of this problem in the near future.
If there is anything else we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We were guests at the Bahia del Sol for 10 days. What a great place to relax and rewind. The weather was lovely everyday that we were there, and the hotel is directly on the beach. We found our 1 bedroom suite to be quite comfortable, spacious and fully equipped. In addition it was spotlessly clean. The service at Bahia is casual and friendly, but still quite professional. We shy away from hotel restaurants, but dinner at Bahia del Sol was a step above their competition with flavorful and fresh combinations of ingredients. Their wine selection was quite adequate and fairly priced. Tours booked through the front desk are fairly priced, but be sure to request Tour Guide Alex Moreno. Everyone we met agreed that he was the very best. I can't say enough for the entire operation.

Room Tip: The 1 and 2 bedroom suites are big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mascara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The part of the beach where the hotel was was dirty and small with hardly any chairs. The squashed bugs on the walls of the room were nasty. The pool was filled with leaves- If I had been looking for a 2 star- it would have been fine- but we spent time at a competing resort that was also 3.5 stars and it blew this place away. The food was ok and the staff was friendly, but it was not at all what I expected.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alygirl_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Gerente at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback, and on the other hand we are sorry to see these remarks about your stay at our Boutique hotel and wish you would have indicated me your concerns during your stay, because us part of our Quality Service assurance program, we take care of them in that moment.
Also us you can see in the rest of the TripAdvisors reviews, most of our guest love the property.
If there is anything else we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
418 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,536 reviews
3.9 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,673 reviews
11.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range: £87 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast. With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing