We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Flamingo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Playa Flamingo”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I spent about 4 days here June 2011. I was there for my daughter's wedding which was held at Bahia Del Sol.

Area is off the beaten path and not much to do nearby. However, if you want seclusion, nice people and beautiful area to relax, this is it. Most of wedding party stayed at hotel and enjoyed it. I stayed in condo on the beach for the same price but twice as large. To me, this is the way to go.

Restaurants are few and far between. The Shack is in the area and a great bargain. Nothing fancy just good food for very reasonable price. Ditto with place called The Castle. I would recommend both for food or simply hanging out and enjoying the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Consider renting a condo on the beach. Hotel is nice but having a place of your own is hard to beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daddio1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Daddio, is good you heard that you had a great time celebrating your daughter’s wedding, also we really appreciate that you took some time to write this review, all our Staff really appreciate your comments.
The only thing we disagree is about renting a Condo, there you don’t get daily breakfast and housekeeping service, on the other hand staying with us this two services complementary, so you can have more time to rest.
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    211
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
259
342
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had the time of our lives celebrating our wedding at Bahia del Sol, I wish I could do it all over again and again. Honestly some of our friends and family thought we were a bit crazy for wanting to have our wedding in such a small corner of Costa Rica, but once they arrived and experienced the gorgeous scene, friendly people, and delicious food, they understood. We had 54 guests travel from the US down for our big day, and it was so special to have such quality time to spend with our friends and family for days leading up to the wedding. It made it so we could relax and enjoy our event when our wedding day finally arrived. I would very highly recommend Bahia del Sol - you won't be disappointed. For starters, the property is gorgeous! We spent hours everyday at the swim up bar, and the beach is beautiful and practically vacant! I considered having our wedding in Manuel Antonio instead, and I'm SO glad that we didn't. The beach at Manuel Antonio was packed with people, and we had Playa Potrero to ourselves! Some of our guests with families chose to rent nearby condos (there are plenty to choose from), and it was so easy to take a short walk down the beach to see them or for them to visit us. The property is well-maintained, and provided a gorgeous backdrop for our wedding photos -- I absolutely loved the beautiful fountain at the entrance, the blooming ginger was among my favorite of all the flowers, and we also enjoyed visits from cute little crabs and iguanas that roamed the property from time to time. The beds were very comfortable, rooms were clean, and suites were very spacious. The staff is phenomenal! They knew our names and those of our guests from day one. Carlos was fantastic -- he made delicious drinks (our friends are still talking about his mango mint welcome beverage), he was super friendly, and doubled as my Spanish teacher. :) Francisco was also a pleasure, going out of his way to make us happy at meal times. Kermitt was such a sweetheart, and she gives amazing massages. She also had some quick fixes for my wedding day blemishes, being a recent bride herself. Roxana was fantastic, and went out of her way to make sure our wedding went off without a hitch. She even gave up her office when the electricity went out so we'd have a place to get ready! The staff also helped us book a few excursions -- we had a wonderful time on the sunset/snorkling cruise, and some of our guests did the ziplining tour. Unfortunately, one of our guests rooms was broken into, but the staff was so good about refunding them for the items stolen. Just be sure to use the safe! The restaurant makes delicious food, for both vegetarians (like myself) and meat eaters. I would highly recommend the beach BBQ rehearsal dinner -- they set up tables and tiki torches right on the sand and the chef whipped up some amazing cuisine right in front of all the guests. People are still talking about that meal! We had only a couple of guests that got sick from eating a tuna tartar dish from the restaurant, but in my opinion, that's a risk you take eating raw fish. Our wedding was gorgeous, overlooking the ocean and we had our reception underneath the big rancho. During our reception, the staff took flowers from our wedding and used them to decorate our honeymoon suite along with some candles and champagne - it was such a romantic way to end our perfect evening. It was absolutely amazing in every way, and I cannot say enough good things about this resort. I have done a lot of traveling, so I know a good place when I see it. Trust me, you won't be disappointed with Bahia del Sol.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ts5678dns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear TS, congratulation once again for your wedding, here all wish you the best for the future, also we really want to thank you for taking your time an write this great review, about your wedding and the time you had at Bahia Del Sol, all our Staff really appreciate your comments.
Also we appreciate your feedback about the couple things that happens during your visit, we want to let you know that we are going to work on improving them. This will help our Quality Assurance Policy
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The suites are well equiped and the staff of this hotel are very kind.
It is a good option if you want a quiet place to relax. Some options to do it are: receiving a swedish massagem, enjoying the pool and appreciating the sunset at Portrero beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMakyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Emakyama, we hope you had a great return back to Sao Paulo; we appreciate this great review and specially that you take your time to write something about our property. We hope to see you again.
Remember to follow us in the social media, we have special contest every month with great gifts.
Also we hope to see you and your family again.

Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Just a perfect place for ending a perfect holiday!
Beautifull hotel, great restaurant, big clean rooms, nice pool, helpfull and friendly staff & really perfect sunsets. Thats all there is to this place, but more then enough for relaxing after a roundtrip Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berithvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Director de Recepción at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Berithvl, we hope you had a great return back to Amsterdam; we appreciate this great review. We hope to see you again.
Remember to follow us in the social media, we have special contest every month with great gifts.
Also we hope to see you and your family again.

Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Earlier this morning we were married at Bahia del Sol. 30 of our family members joined us and I must say that the entire experience was better than I could have ever imagined. The staff is so incredibly friendly - from the front desk to the restaurant, everyone is willing to do whatever they can to make your stay the best it can be. Roxanna (the event coordinator) was extremely helpful, and worked with us to give our uncle a birthday cake during our rehearsal dinner and even had the staff come out to sing.

Some of our family members had an early flight out, and booked a private transport from an online company for the airport that was supposed to arrive at 4:00AM. When it hadn't arrived by 4:30AM, the security guard called the hotel manager, Maik, to help them out. He came racing to the hotel and had another shuttle for them in about 15 minutes. That's just what to expect from Bahia - they go the extra mile anytime they can.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Alessandro, ones again congratulation for your wedding, for all of us was an honor to been part of this unique important day of your life. We all here at Bahia Del Sol wish bought of you the best.
Remember to follow us in the social media, we have special contest every month with great gifts.
Also we hope to see you and your family again.

Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our first hotel of three in Costa Rica and the one we may have been saddest to leave. It maintains a nice boutique-y feel while still being professionally run and very nicely manincured and maintained. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival, which made for a nice separation from the welcome and pool areas. The walkways curve through native vegetation and the sounds of local birds - a simple but nice touch.
The pool is a central focus of Bahia Del Sol, visible from the restaurant and a short walk from the beach. We enjoyed the pool some and also enjoyed bar seating in the pool, as well. Roy, our bartender for a couple of days, was very friendly and helpful (especially given that we only had virgin drinks). We had snacks and drinks while bathing in the pool - they've got built-in stools in the pool. I thought it would be cheesy, but it was actually comfortable and fun.
The lounging chairs in the lawns were a great place to relax and read or take in the sun. We liked to face them toward the ocean and just listen to waves come in.
Our suite was more that we needed - kitchen, dining, living, bed and bathroom. We didn't spend much time there at all, so we could have made do with less. Having the kitchen was great, though, since it had a full-size fridge and some dishes. We like to get food from the market so we don't have to eat out ALL the time.
Potrero is a small town that seems indicative of Costa Rican towns. We enjoyed our walks around the area and I loved to run the dirt roads through the neighborhoods. There aren't really any true attractions in Potrero to speak of, but we loved it there.
What really made our time at Bahia Del Sol were the people there. Our afternoon/evening waiter was friendly, if not a bit slow. The gals that we worked with were more attentive and friendly, and always full of smiles, which is especially nice on vacation. One in particular was great, but I cannot recall her name.
At the front desk, Vanessa was helpful and professional and Hector went out of his way to get us set up with a snorkeling tour and rental car. It was the seemingly sincere personal interest of the employees that really grabbed us and that we missed at our next hotel.
Breakfast was included and was better than we would have guessed. We generally went for rice and beans with fruit, apparently typical to the area. This was better than the "continental breakfast" spread you usually see at local places.
Being our first stop, we were especially aware of how much the people there seemed to appreciate our attempts to communicate in spanish as much as possible.

I'd recommend Bahia Del Sol. The beach is very pretty, although not the best for swimming, perhaps. That said, it was warm and looked fine. In mid-August, we had beautiful days and stormy nights - perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Guest, we hope you had a great return back to Oregon; we are really impressed by this great review and you can’t imagine how much we appreciate that you took the time for writing this great review. Is good to know that you had such a great time with us.
Remember to follow us in the social media, we have special contest every month with great gifts.
We all here at Bahia Del Sol hope to see you again and Thank you Very much.

Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is an excellent place for a relaxing beach vacation. The property is very well maintained and tastefully decorated. The hotel features a beautiful tropical garden, a cosy pool area with a wet bar, and a clean, quiet beach right at the back door. The rooms (we had suites) were very clean, and the food, including a generous breakfast, was excellent. Most importantly, the hotel features the most attentive and helpful staff. Examples: our daughter is allergic to eggs, and the children's spaghetti meal was prepared with egg-noodles, which was very disappointing for her - by the next meal, the staff had organized egg-free spaghetti just to make her happy. Another example: we were traveling as a group with three other families.For dinner, the restaurant not only fixed us a private area close to the beach for a nice meal, they also decorated the table with a beautiful flower arrangement and white drapery, and we finished off our meal right on the beach with a bonfire, prepared just for us.
Note: this is the perfect place for a relaxing beach vacation. This is not a place for people who look for nightly parties - and I do hope this will not change.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Christiane, we send our regards to Switzerland, is great to hear that we meet your expectations, also thank you for this great detailed review. Remember to follow us in the social media, we have special contest every month with great gifts.
We all here at Bahia Del Sol hope to see you again.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,549 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,066 reviews
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Property: Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing