We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - comfortable accommodations - good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vientiane, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great staff - comfortable accommodations - good location”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel from February 27 to March 2 and were in a second floor suite. First off, the staff were great and we felt welcomed no matter where - reception, the restaurant or the bar. Naudy at reception was great and very helpful. The hotel does not look over the beach and water but is more focused on the interior grounds and pool. We did not see this as a negative as the grounds look over the beach and the hotel is right on the beach. The hotel is slightly off the beaten path which we wanted too. If you want to get to Playa Flamingo, you can walk down the beach and in 30 minutes, you're there.

The suite was very spacious and if you can book a suite, I would recommend it. Breakfast was great and there was a lot but towards the end of breakfast, the selection started to run short but that is to be expected. And who wants to sleep in late when the hotel is such a relaxing place to enjoy? We read on here that the pool was not well maintained and that leaves were floating in the pool. We saw the staff skim the pool a couple times each day so they are truly taking care of it. The challenge is that the pool is lined with a lot of trees and other plants which were beautiful. It is hard to begrudge the hotel for leaves in the pool when such amazing vegetation surrounds the pool and rooms.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it to others. We are already telling friends and family and thinking about a return trip.

Room Tip: Suite rooms on the second floor have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Jim W, we appreciate this nice review, and also want to thank you for explaining about the pool maintenance, I think this would give the correct idea the other travelers.

Hope to see you again.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    211
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
259
342
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the Bahia del Sol for 5 nights and had the most wonderful stay! True, the beach's sand may not be the most pleasant looking of all, but the sunset is gorgeous and the hotel is just wonderful it trumps that. We went to Flamingo to check out the competition, and we are happy to say that we did not regret our decision to stay at this hotel. The dirt road leading up to the hotel is no big deal -- you see this mostly everywhere in Guanacaste anyway. The location is central and everything is a cab ride away -- we spent less $ taking cabs than if we had rented a car. The staff was great, breakfast was more than adequate, rooms were cleaned anytime at your request, it was just overall a pleasant stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xilamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear xilamaree, thank you for this nice review, we really appreciate it.
Hope to see you again.

Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I got married here last fall and everything was perfect. Many of our guests stayed at the hotel and everyone commented on how friendly and accomodating the staff were. Roxana took wonderful care of us and accomodated many last minute requests. The grounds are beautiful -- right on a lovely beach. The food was great. It is a little pricier than some other places nearby, but it is well worth it!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Amy P, once again congratulations, and thank you for choosing our property for your big day, we send you bought our best wishes.
Hope to see you again.

Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

When I go somewhere tropical I like to have a room with a view. Almost every room in this hotel looks out over foliage, but no ocean view unless you are at the pool. For the price we paid (approx. $400 a night) you can definitely do a lot better. It was definitely a very spacious room, but very "B" level accommodation. I would give this hotel a 2.5 to 3 stars at best. The breakfast that was included was not too bad, but it was not worth the $400 a night we paid.

I would recommend another place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear JenHillJHCCS, we appreciate your comments, however we think your appreciation is a misunderstanding, because we don’t offer ocean view rooms, if you go to our website you can check this by yourself, on the other had what we do offer is the closeness to the beach, probably you are not going to find in the Guanacaste Area a hotel we the beach is just a few steps away.
Also our service and accommodations are up the standards of a 4 stars hotel, and you can check that in the other comments posted here in Trip Advisor, most of them are EXCELLENT!!!

Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We arrived in need of a relaxing vacation in a quiet place. That's exactly what we got. It was perfect. This hotel is small and beautiful. When we arrived we were brought drinks of some kind of local fruit from the bar. They were virgin, but the server offered to add some of the local sugar cane liquor (Cacique Guaro) which added a nice kick to start our stay. Our room was small, but clean and completely suited our needs. There was a TV and mini bar and wifi internet service.

The pool was nice with an elevated jacuzzi. My only issue with the pool was that all the trees surrounding it dumped palm leaves and other debris into it all day long. I felt bad for the staff that worked so hard to keep it clean. It was definitely a losing battle. There was a swim up bar, which was awesome. There were bar stools in the water and you could just hang out there and have drinks and food while sitting in the pool. Sweet! Outside the pool was a nice lawn where there were many comfortable lounge chairs both in and out of the shade. There were also lounge chairs facing the beach which was a really nice touch. Unlike other resorts I've stayed at, you didn't have to go out early in the morning to claim your lounge chair for the day. There was always space available any time of the day.

The beach itself is so-so. There were only a few hotel lounge chairs on the beach, but that didn't really matter as no one seemed to use them. The hotel is in Potrero bay where the sand is some kind of brown gravelly stuff, and the ocean is not blue right at the beach. The waves stir up the brown sand and going in the ocean wasn't enjoyable or comfortable. It was nice to walk up and down, but for swimming I recommend sticking to the swimming pool.

The staff was truly wonderful. They were very helpful and friendly, and by our second day there they already knew our room number when we ordered food or drinks. As for the food and drinks, the hotel bar and restaurant were excellent. They were very accommodating when it came to making drinks, and not skimpy on the alcohol at all. Everything we ordered at the restaurant was excellent. I didn't have one meal that wasn't thoroughly enjoyable. My traveling companion has sensitivity to onions and they went out of their way to make sure her food was suitable. Breakfast was included with the room and was a nice variety of fresh fruits, cereals, breads and included your choice of eggs, french toast or pancakes.

The town of Potrero was easily accessible from the beach. It's about a fifteen or twenty minute walk. There's not much to do there, but the people are friendly, and we felt completely safe walking through town at night. The one night we went into town for dinner, we had an excellent meal and were kept company by the howler monkeys in the nearby trees. It was enchanting. For something to do you can get a cab to Brasilito to do some shopping and hang out on the beach. We did a horseback riding tour and river boat tour. Both were excellent. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: If wifi is your thing, the wifi service seemed to be centered around the pool, so a room near the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Andrew, thank you very much for this great review, and is good to know that the changes we are making at the restaurant are improving the quality of the food.
Hope to see you again.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff is excellent, so very friendly and helpful.I want to first say that this hotel is not in playa flamingo, it is a small beach called portrero. I wish I had known this ahead of time, the travel agent told me it was otherwise. The cab taking us there was confused about the location and we found it by following the signs. This did not stop the experience from being an enjoyable one, it was not as I expected that is all. It was very quiet here and it seems to be this way unless there is a wedding happening. It was a nice change from the few other very touristy beaches we visited prior. What I loved: the food was amazing. The morning buffet was great and they also make you eggs or pancakes to add onto it. The server even made me a special order of plantains when they were not served at the buffet one day. The snacks, drinks and dinners were fantastic and I loved everything on the menu. Modest portions but rich in flavors with great service. The front desk was helpful answering questions, booking cab rides, and general needs. The room we had was huge, maybe too big for us but still very nice and cleaned very well. I also received a nice facial and massage at a very reasonable price. I can't say enough about the staff, they work very hard. I enjoyed the quiet and deserted beach. Things that needed some changes: the internet didn't work that well. It was on and off quite a bit and we didn't get to use the internet the first night. I stayed in a suited that had a large counter area and sink that looked as though there was a stove and working kitchen there. I was so disappointed because I hoped to do a bit of cooking. I guess they remodeled it but I was wondering why that huge space was even there. There was also a really bright light outside of the door that came in through the window late at night They couldn't turn the light off for some reason until 2am?? I think someone tried. There is not a whole lot to do in the area, I discovered a little bakery and market down the street but there are no shops or restaurants around. You don't need to go anywhere, you have it all at the hotel. I have been to quite a few places on my costa rica trip so this was a nice change. It is a nice location for a wedding or family vacation. I recommend it.

Room Tip: I stayed in the suites toward the back of the hotel. They are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneBug83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Guest Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear JuneBug83, thank you very much for the nice comments about our staff, you can be sure they love what the do and feel very proud of it, about the Wi-fi we are making some changes, so we hope to fix it ASAP, just in case people want to have some nightlife we recommend to take a cap and go to Flamingo 5 minutes & Tamarind 25 minutes away.
I’ll be sure to tell the staff all the nice comments you left about them
Hope to see you again.

Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

It was quite a surprise to find such a high standard hotel in such a secluded location than playa potrero.

Staff was efficient and cordial, wouldn't say friendly, but efficient and their was always someone to help from early till late.

Rooms are really nice, small but well furnished, good bathroom and an additionnal hot tub/shower outside, well appreciated. Hammock in front of the room, and since all the standard rooms are on the first floor, you kind of have no intimacy, but as the hotel is so small, you can still relax and feel at home.

Pool was refreshing and cleaned regularly. Breakfast was good, huge portions and lovely fresh fruit juice. However, the menu for lunch/dinner is expensive, don't count on eating there 2/day for one week, unless you have a good budget!!!!

The beach was great, clean, large....and empty!!!! Grey sand, so you don't see through the water, no Cuba standards::))), but the water was warm and calm. Tides are quite strong though, not dangerous but be aware.

We drove to playa flamingo, saw the tourists, the cars, the usual chaos of a beach waterfront, and we rushed back to playa potrero!!!!! Let's hope this place will stay as it is for a long time!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebeauceronintrépide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Lebeauceronintrépide, is good to know that you like the fact that we are kind of isolated, and this make our place perfect resting and relaxing, also there are a lot of thing to do in a relatively short distance, like Flamingo 5 minutes & Tamarind 25 minutes away.
About the comment you said that the staff wasn’t friendly, we are going to have a talk with them, because us you can see in most of the review, people always said they are extremely attentive.
Hope to see you again.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,548 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,454 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,065 reviews
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Property: Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing