We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you, Bahia Del Sol! Our family of 5 had a memorable and happy stay at your resort. Our three little boys can't wait to come back and order 7-up at the swim up bar. Each and every employee had a smile and took the best care of us. The beach is absolutely stunning! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystalbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Crystalbrown1,

Thank YOU for your recent visit and for sharing your experience. Bahia del Sol is also perfect for families very pleased that you and your family glad a memorable and happy stay with us. We remember pretty well your boys; those cuties were very popular during your stay. Staff is always ready to serve with a smile, pura vida style  Potrero Beach is a safe bay to swim in and also provides just in front of the hotel breath taking sunsets.

Best regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    213
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
261
343
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What a lovely place this is. A quiet, off the beaten track, small hotel which offered everything we wanted. An oasis of peace and quiet right on the virtually deserted beach. It was a lovely few days relaxation at the end of a tour of this beautiful country. We loved every minute of it all and this hotel was perfect. The room was comfortable and yes there were a few ants around the shower area, but what do you expect when you are open to the elements. We enjoyed being able to leave the patio doors open and just have the screens shut at night. The food was good, nice choice and all freshly cooked. The pool was lovely and we enjoyed being able to stay in the pool until quite late and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The sunset from the beach was just beautiful. Plenty of sunbeds in the gardens so it was always possible to find a spot for sun or shade as you wanted. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Susan T,

We do have a hidden gem; we are actually the only hotel in the coast of Playa Potrero. This is a quiet, small boutique hotel, you describes us to perfection by saying we are “An oasis of peace and quiet right on the virtually deserted beach”. Bahia del Sol is the perfect place to relax and disconnect from the world. Thank you so much for your kind words, super happy that you loved every minute of it and we feel honored that you founded our hotel as perfect. This was definitely the right choice for you, glad you encountered your room comfortable, we appreciate your understanding the fact that we are in a place open and full of nature, so ants sometimes can be around, we can take care of them in a safe way. We have a very safe hotel with security 24/7 and also the area is tranquil, great thing you felt relaxed. Cheerful food at NASU Restaurant was good and fresh.

Our pool and the wet bar are one of the favorite spots for our guests, especially during happy hour form 5:30 p.m. until 7 p.m. the night time is amazing how many stars you can see, since there is not much around us you can really see in a non cloudy evening all the stars. The highlight of the day is the sunset, every day gorgeous. This is all nothing without a great staff, attentive, friendly and genuine. We were sorry to see you guys leave!! You can always come back to your home away from home 

Pura vida,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We decided to get married in Costa Rica on a bit of a whim. Neither my husband nor I had ever been there, but the best time to go to Costa Rica is when it's very very cold in DC so it didn't seem like too much of a risk. We worked with a wedding planner in Costa Rica who suggested Bahia del Sol almost instantly.

We were slightly apprehensive about getting married at a place we had never seen, but we are so so so so so incredibly pleased we did. The location itself is amazing -- you're close enough to Tamarindo and have touristy options nearby, but can easily exist in this perfect, beach-front bubble without ever entering the outside world. The grounds are beautiful and completely unlike anything we've ever visited. Bahia del Sol is absolutely NOT trying to be an American resort in Costa Rica.

We had a small wedding, about 20 people in all, but also had a lot of (somewhat high-maintenance) ideas to make it still feel like a wedding rather than just a family vacation. We wanted to leave welcome gifts in the rooms for our guests, host a Superbowl party instead of a rehearsal dinner, buy gift certificates for some of our bridal party, have a private yoga session on the morning of the wedding, plan excursions and meals together, etc. The staff at Bahia -- Hector, Maik, Victoria, among many others -- made everything possible. They genuinely went out of their way to make sure we and our guests had a good time. It was by far the best customer service I've ever experienced in my life -- in any country. We went on to stay at several other places in Costa Rica and the service at Bahia outshone them all.

It hurts my heart in such a good way to think about how wonderful our experience was at Bahia del Sol. Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: King sun suite was unbelievable, but all the rooms looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleylmnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Ashley M,

It´s so nice to hear from you guys. Super happy you choose Costa Rica and Bahia Del Sol for your dream beach weeding. It was a big risk but I believe it was worth it, you weeding were absolutely beautiful. Potrero is a great location because as you mention, we are close to Tamarindo and all the shopping and night time activity but we have the quit town of Potrero with this Oasis called Bahia del Sol. Grounds are well maintained and yes, we are not trying to be anything but what we are, a Costa Rican small boutique hotel, dedicated towards customer service and excellence.

We are very professional and specialist for weddings and events, glad we were able to provide the services that you requested with the best possible quality. The staff goes really above and beyond, and you were a joy to serve to be quite honest, a pleasure to assist you and your party. Behind every little thing there is a team backing everything out, we are a big family and we take our jobs very seriously, honored you qualify us as the best customer service you ever experienced. It warms our heart to read your kind kind words…. Thank you very much for your preference. Can´t wait to have you back, perhaps on your anniversary?!  PURA VIDA

Always at your service,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and had a very good stay.
The hotel is right on the beach
The pool is very nice though small and doesn't provide enough shade.
The area around the pool and restaurant was great, you can find a quite place in the shade (or sun if you prefer).
The room had a lot of space, in addition to the A/C there is a fan which I used most of the time
The restaurant was good
The hotel offers Zumba, Yoga and Pilates. I enjoyed the Pilates lesson and the teacher made sure I was Okay during the class since I don't understand Spanish.
Minuses:
1. There are ants in the room
2. You need to have the water running for a couple of minutes in the shower before you get the hot water
3. Breakfast is really slow, even when I was the 1st one at 6:30 AM!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sshahar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sshahar1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy you had a good stay with us; the open area around the pool is great for chilling and relaxing with sun or shade. Pleased that your experience in NASU Restaurant was good as well. Our lessons are included on our client’s rate, that way they can just pick their favorite activity and enjoy at the fullest, soul and body. Our Pilates instructor Mercedes is super talented and very oriented towards customer service, as well as Colleen and Katelyn our Yoga instructors (they speak very good English) and Leyden our Zumba instructor. It helps a lot to have these lessons just in front of the ocean on our Lounge Palapa.

Regarding the minuses: 1. Sorry if you had an ant in the room, as you could see we are surrounded by natural environment, sometimes difficult to prevent ants, especially if you have sweets or any food open. In these cases we do a quick fumigation on the room and you should be fine, hopely we attended your need during your stay. 2. We have very hot weather in Guanacaste, we also work with CST (Certification for Sustainable Tourism Program), very proud to have 4 leaves, this means that we have a great commitment with a right practice of a safe tourism awareness, perhaps during your visit you could see little signs about this information. 3. I apologize for the slow service you received at breakfast, we will be taking all of your comments in consideration to get better.

Being said all of this, we appreciate very much your valuable feedback that can only makes improve and do better for our dear clients. It´s great that you had a very relaxing stay that is what we are all about!! Thank you once again for this comment.

Yours sincerely,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for four days at the start of a longer trip to Costa Rica. Family of four with two teenagers. Hotel had the right mix of relax and quiet and also enough fun to keep the kids going. Good location, good food and drinks all well priced. We had a two bedroom unit with a kitchen overlooking a bird and monkey filled jungle oasis. The real gem here is the staff. They are really fantastic and very helpful. When you leave a hotel and you and your wife are sad to say goodbye to the people who made your food and drinks, that is saying something. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Nathan W,

First let me thank you for your comment, delighted you and your family had a wonderful time with us. We agree, we have a good location and good food and drinks at NASU Restaurant. The two bedroom suites are perfect for families; fully equipped, they have enough room to share and also private rooms with private bathroom, the view is really a jungle oasis as you mentioned, the garden on the middle of the hotel is really something, full of live nature.

The staff it’s what makes the difference here, we have a gem but this all means nothing without our big Bahia Family that takes care of our dear guests. We are take very seriously our job and we want to provide only the best for every person that sets foot into our business. Thank you so much for the praises to our staff and for the recommendation, we sincerely appreciate that very much.

Hope your travels bring you back to our beautiful boutique hotel right on Playa Potrero.

Pura vida!

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athabasca, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks in March and it was the most wonderful holiday we have been on. It is a small personal hotel. From the first moment we arrived we were greeted by beautiful friendly people. (Pablo and Mariella) We were upgraded to a suite at no request, which we totally enjoyed. For our anniversary they surprised us and decorated our room, so beautiful, made us feel special. At Bahia Del Sol Hotel there was no rushing to get to the baffet or for drinks because it is not an all-inclusive. There was always lounge chairs available poolside or beachfront. It is beautifully located in the middle of Potrero bay, one side you have Potrero and the other side is Flamingo. There is a nice little quiet garden area located in the middle of the lush plants where you can sit and have a drink. This hotel keeps the grounds well kept, the workers are always hard at work from early morning until late at night keeping it perfected. The beach was very secluded and quiet, just the way we like it. We walked to Potrero to have supper one night and watch the locals fishing in the sunset. Sunsets from this hotel are so beautiful. We also walked towards Flamingo and had supper at another beachfront restaurant. The NASU restarunt on site was also a great choice to eat at. The location of this hotel is so safe. There is security on the grounds. We walked to the grocery store and to the local fruit and vegetable market. In the evening we even walked to a couple of the local bars and felt very comfortable. The staff at this hotel make you feel so welcome and feel like you are part of their family. If you are looking for a big party spot, this is not for you but for a more quiet, relaxing and enjoyable holiday I would highly recommend this place to you. The rooms and beds were very beautiful and comfortable. You could set the a/c in certain rooms, at night we only had it running in the bedroom. There is a marina located in this bay which you can go fishing if you desire. We are already looking at when we can go back for a visit. Love this place and miss it and the staff dearly. Thank you for making our stay at your place so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Suites are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Gail H,

What a comment!! Thank you very much for your kind words, you don´t know how much they mean to us. As you know we put our heart into our job and for our clients to recognize that is all worth it. For you to qualify us as “the most wonderful holiday we have been on” is truly an honor, specially knowing that you and your husband were celebrating a very special anniversary. Bahia del sol is a small personal hotel; we are far away from the big all inclusive. There is absolutely no rush here in Bahia del Sol.

The arrival is super important, glad Pablo and Mariela made the right impression, we are lucky to have them in our team. We were able to do the upgrade because we were in communication thru facebook, and I know this was a very special break for the both of you, very happy you enjoyed that and your romantic surprise turnover. Is definitely a plus to be just in front of Playa Potrero, a beach very tranquil and serene. The sunset is part of the highlight of our hotel, every day stunning sunset in front of us, just perfect and romantic. Another great attribute is our garden, green, lush and very well maintained; our gardeners Pedro and Carlos really do an amazing job. Very happy you enjoyed also your meals at NASU Restaurant. We agree this is a safe place and we security on site 24/7. The real starts of the show are our amazing staff, if you felt at home, then we achieve our goal 

Come back anytime; just let me know to make it extra special! We also miss you guys; you were truly a delight to serve. Thank YOU for your preference and sweet words.

Always at your service,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at his lovely resort for five nights. The staff are so helpful and kind. They learned my name. The rooms were wonderful. They were large,comfortable, and nicely decorated. I spent my days away and came home in the evening, relaxed in the pool, and ordered my drinks by the pool as I watched the beautiful sunset. I took the yoga class one morning, and I loved it. Great music, view and class under the main palapa were all fantastic. The food was amazing! All in all, a wonderful place to unwind and experience the pura vida!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear GG2013,

We were lucky to have you with us. Excited about your good words towards our staff, we are eager to serve and assist our clients in any way we can. Part of the charm of being in our small boutique hotel is that we are very oriented to customer service satisfaction and we want to personalize our service by calling our guests by their names and not as room numbers. Glad you founded our rooms as wonderful, our suites are very large and comfortable, the decoration is vivid and most of them from local artists, including our boss, she is a great painter. You spend your time wisely, the pool and open area is a great spot to enjoy a drink and the sunset, it doesn't hurt the fact that happy hour is at the same time that sunset 

Sattva Yoga with Colleen and Katelyn is awesome, we offer lessons on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday at 9 a.m. also on Monday at 6 p.m. along with the sunset and we just have a new lesson on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. NASU Resturant offers fresh creative cuisine, very happy you qualify our food as amazing. This is the place to get an authentic Costa Rican experience.
Thank you very much not only for your visit but this comments, keep calm and PURA VIDA!

Warm regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,480 reviews
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,577 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,085 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Property: Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing