We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach to yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a perfect chill out hotel right on a quiet beach with a pool so good for kids. Most will have been wandering round Costa Rica enjoying the scenery and wildlife so deserving of a couple of days on the beach. Lovely pool side bar, good restaurant small menu but good choice and well served. Nice rooms in a block or a terrace, we preferred the terrace with your own jacuzzi. Lovely touch was the arrival of a cookie at about 17.00. Hotel has everything you need there is another restaurant nearby but not as good. And best of all one of the best sun sets I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Middlemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Middlemiss,

The title really describes Potrero Beach. Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel is a perfect place to enjoy and relax with family. Thrilled you enjoyed NASU Restaurant and our pool bar, is really a great place to chill, right in front of the beach and a gorgeous garden inside the property. Very happy you liked the deluxe suite with the tub outside; the cookies are fresh made every evening for our dear clients. Definitely one of the highlights is the stunning sunsets right in front of the property. We appreciate very much your comment, thanks for sharing!

Best regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at Bahia del Sol during our 7 day stay at Bahia del Sol. The grounds are beautiful, the suite was roomy and comfortable but the best part, was the staff....everyone, without exception was pleasant, friendly and very accommodating. Pablo and Hector at the reception desk consistently went above and beyond to ensure that we had a wonderful time and the fresh cookies that we received each night was just the icing on the cake.

The resort is right on a quiet, black sand beach. The water was very calm and the sunsets were spectacular. The food in the restaurant was very good, however, a bit pricey. We booked all of our tours through the resort and was not disappointed with any of them. We just told them what we wanted to do and they made the arrangements for us. I would recommend renting a car if you want to venture away from the resort....there is not a lot of shopping, restaurants, etc. within walking distance. There is a bus nearby, however, we did not use it.

We loved everything about this vacation and can't wait to come back to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Marjorie L,

A whole week with us, so happy to know it was a wonderful time for you. We truly believe and agree that our small boutique hotel has beautiful grounds, suites are very comfortable and yes the best part is our wonderful staff. We are a team dedicated towards customer service and we work with genuine care and passion for all of our guests. Fresh made cookies are delivered every evening to the rooms as our turn down service. Potrero Beach is quit and beautiful and the sunsets are really something. Hope we can have you back in a near future, thank you very much for sharing your experience. We appreciate your kind words very much!

Pura vida!

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had such a great experience at Bahia del Sol. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. They have the best cookies in the rooms and my toddler age daughter loved them so much that they were willing to whip up a special batch. We hardly left the hotel as it has all the amenities, beach front, tranquil, pool, bar and restaurant. There is even complimentary yoga and pilates for guests.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 588ambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Amber T,

How nice to read that you had a great experience with us. Bahia del Sol is a gem, a great place to relax in contact with the nature and with warm and attentive service. Our cookies are fresh made every afternoon for the turn over service to all of our guests, your toddler daughter was super cute , we were more than happy to make an extra batch for her. We are a small boutique hotel with a lot to offer, an awesome place to visit in family. We are clear that our staff is part of the great assets of Bahia del Sol, but we cannot forget the beach front location, pool, wet bar, restaurant and Palapa Lounge during the morning we offer free lessons of yoga and pilates and during the evening on Friday we have theme nights with music, bonfire, free marshmallows and of course great service.

Thank you for sharing your experience, we really appreciate your visit and preference.

Hope you can come back soon.
Warm regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family of 5 just returned from a 10-day stay at Bahia del Sol. The grounds are beautiful with a nice pool, swim up bar and beachfront access. They have free yoga classes, too! The sunsets are amazing, the food is good (although expensive), but it's the staff that makes this place extra special. They all have smiles on their faces and seem to genuinely love what they do - especially Victor, Nubia and Jose. They were so wonderful, kindhearted, warm and friendly to our entire family. They learned all our names and always said hello to our 3 boys, helped us with local recommendations for places to eat, things to see and do (the Lazy Lizard sunset snorkeling tour was a big highlight - don't miss that!). We just had two suggestions about the rooms (as we would rate the rooms as average). We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the second floor that wasn't really big enough for a family of 5. One person has to sleep on old rollaway twin and it's not very comfortable for a long stay. So, our opinion is that their biggest rooms are really for 4 people maximum. Also, there is an old farm behind part of the hotel property in back (we were in room 306). Every morning at 4am till about 6am there was a loud rooster that made a lot of consistent noise and barking dogs so it was difficult to get a good night sleep (unless you are a super early riser!). Perhaps there are other rooms that would have been better. Otherwise, we can't say enough about the staff and the sunsets. It's what makes Bahia del Sol worth the visit.

Room Tip: We'd avoid room 306 - backs right up to the farm noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Momof3boysco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Momof3boysco,

Thank you very much not only for your preference but also for your praises towards our hotel and staff. Very happy you enjoyed our yoga free classes, we offer them 3 times a week, Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday at 9 a.m. The grounds are definitely beautiful, just in front of the ocean, sunsets to die for, refreshing and well located pool and swim up bar. Once again the stars are our pura vida staff, special mention for Victor, Nubia and Jose, they have golden hearts, we have a great working environment that translates into their service, they are very special…all of our staff likes to smile and serve, that’s why we are here for 

Part of our goal is to personalize the stay of our guests by learning and calling our clients by their names. With us there is no room numbers but people, families, couples, people that trust us and we work with heart to make them feel like family in Bahia del Sol. Lazy lizard is a must during your stay with us, is a fun tour for snorkeling and to relax with a sunset that will make feel renewed. We take your recommendation for our two bedroom suites very seriously, always want to improve to provide relaxing stay for all of our guests.

Sorry to hear that the neighbor noises keep you up did you mentioned that during your stay? If you did, we offer to change rooms? Really hope we follow the procedures with your discomfort if not I apologize. Highlight of Bahia del Sol, the staff and the sunsets, we agree!!

Thanks again,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My girlfriend and I had come here after a week in Monteverde. It was exactly the relaxation we were looking for after a week of adventure eco-tourism. The shore consists of pristine black sand and is still relatively undeveloped. Pablo at the front desk greeted us with a fruity Guaro cocktail each, which was well received after 3 hours on the road! He was able to recommend activities in Cahuita for our next trek to the Caribbean coast. The poolside bartender was also very charming and accommodating. Due to a open vacancy (we were here during the rainy season) they upgraded us to a suite with a jacuzzi! The rooms are very westernized and well built, with air conditioning, a huge bathroom, a safe, and very very comfy beds. There was also a private walled in (presumably) smoking area outside our room which we used to hang wet clothes from Monteverde. While here I recommend El Coconut Beach Club next door for some wonderful French-infused food, and for a taste of the local nightlife, the bar at the bend about a half mile directly east of Bahia del Sol. Be forewarned: you may have to reason with the guard to let you back into the property if you stay out late at the aforementioned bar! The gate locks around 11:30-12!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Daniel D,

Bahia Del Sol is a great last stop to relax and unwind. Thank you for your kind words! The first thing you will get once you get here is a big smile a refreshing cocktail and a clean facial towel with scent. Our staff is prepared and trained to provide lots of information, pointers and everything you may need during your stay not only with us but in Costa Rica. If our occupancy allows we like to surprise our guests with free upgrades, glad you were pleased with your deluxe suite. The AC is a must in this hot weather, big bathroom to your enjoyment and the beds are practically new. Our first recommendation is always NASU Restaurant, but we recommend our neighbors for a different environment, is a good spot to change. We close our gate around 11 p.m. but security has an in house of our guests, this is only to keep the property safer and our dear guests, we will review the procedures with them. Thank you so much for your recent visit and comment!!

Sincerely yours,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is nicely located to visit all the great beaches in the surrounding area with a rented car like Tamarindo (good for kids to learn surfing), Playa Conchal (good for snorkeling and beautiful), Playa Flamingo and Playa Potrero itself (dar sand but most beautiful sun down). The htoel is also close to the pacific dive center going to Catalina Islands (diving was great but also for snorkeling possible).

The hotel itself has international, mostly european guest at this time of the year. It is directly at the beach and has a nice garden and pool (the kids loved it). The food is good but relatively expensive. The bar has a cheap happy hour at least with average drinks.

The standard rooms are large but a bit ugly and very dark. That's the main reason why I would prbably not choose the hotel again. The suites might be better though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bernd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Bernd B,

We agree, Potrero is a good location to visit other beaches in the area, is a safe beach town closet o lot of beautiful beaches including our own. This area is really rich in nature so snorkeling and diving is for sure a good recommendation.

One of the best features of our charming boutique hotel is to be right on the beach, the pool and of course the beautiful sunsets every evening. So sorry to hear that you founded our food relatively expensive, we really believe to have affordable prices and generous portions, soup and salads from $7 up, main dishes such as our Crunchy Corn Tilapia for $10 a Tilapia fillet breaded with corn cereal and chipotle mayonnaise, accompanied by steamed green beans and rice with mango. Other more compose fresh dish such as our Encostrado Tuna for $15 a Yellow fin tuna steak covered with mixed sesame seeds, yucca pie and sauteed vegetables. Happy hour is always a good opportunity for paying half price in most of our drinks, all day long beer at $2. Standard rooms are spacious and you can fit in 4 people comfortably, the garden surrounds the room with big windows that provide natural lightning on top we added more light to the room for the comfort and well being of our guest. Suites are nicer and bigger. Thank you very much for your recent visit!!

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I spent a week at Bahia del Sol in July. We were able to rent the King Sun Suite. It was one of the nicest rooms we've ever booked. Very cozy and romantic. Only a few steps from the pool, restuarant, and beach. The restuarant is very,very good with a good selection of food and beverages. The facility is not important if the staff is not nice and efficient. I can honestly say the staff at Bahia del Sol is "Over the Top". They made us feel like family from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. I'm sure we did not meet all staff members but I would like to recognize a few we did meet. I hope I don't leave anyone out. Keylor,Victor,Nubia,Jose,Christina,Pablo,Joanna,Angelica and Lao are just a few of the outstanding staff you will meet if you visit the resort. A return visit is at the top of our list.

Room Tip: The King Sun Suite is the best. However, there is not a bad room because of the size of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear james w,

The King Sun Suite is the best room available in our small boutique hotel of 28 rooms. Glad the room fill the expectation, is the only room in the hotel with ocean view, in front of the pool, NASU Restaurant and beach. Glad that our Restaurant was also able to provide good food and drinks. Once again the stars of the show are our outstanding staff, they are very well trained and they like what they do, we have a very good work environment that translates to the service. We are the ones who normally learn the manes of our guests, thank you for remembering all of our wonderful staff, they will be properly rewarded. Thank you for speaking so highly of us and your experience, we sincerely appreciated, hope to have you back really soon!!

Best regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
418 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,536 reviews
3.9 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,669 reviews
11.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range: £87 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast. With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing