We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My daughter's wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Recently, my daughter and her fiancée announced they wanted to have a destination wedding in Costa Rica. I was skeptical, but my daughter has always been very persuasive, and her fiancée is a very bright and organized fellow. They selected the Bahia Del Sol resort, a family-owned, small but 4-star, on the northern Pacific coast at Playa Potrero. When we arrived, we immediately fell in love with the charming atmosphere and layout, the manicured property, the pool bar, and the ocean about 50 paces from our door. The service was friendly and genuine – everybody in Costa Rica will be buried with smiles on their faces because they all enjoy the Pura Vida – and extremely attentive. We all knew each other’s names in just a couple of days. They really did make us feel welcome, like family.
Then came the wedding. The resident wedding planner, Roxana Arrieta, was incredibly sensitive to the couple’s wishes and extremely thorough in every detail. The ceremony, the reception, and the dinner after were so perfect that my eyes moisten up as I write this. It could not have been any more wonderful for my daughter and the party of guests. They not only made the ceremony so beautiful in such a beautiful setting, but they made it so easy that it flowed gently and naturally, as if we were gliding in a dance with the rhythm of the ocean. And the feeling continued after the wedding to the reception and dinner. It was all very relaxed but enthusiastic, which is good because we’re not all that big on formality and ritual. All our expectations were exceeded, and as the evening and the event progressed, every moment seemed like a fairy tale, filled with laughter and magic. The service from the staff was excellent, as if they were enjoying the event as much as the guests. As we wandered back to room after it all, I couldn’t stop saying “It was so perfect”. I couldn’t imagine being more happy for my daughter and her new husband.
Later we found out the staff had made a path of flower petals into the bridal suite for the couple, with their names spelled out in sand inside sand-outlined hearts on the floor of the suite, with the flowers from the ceremony placed throughout the room and on the spa on the suite’s porch. Incredibly touching. And this description only touches the surface of the staff’s attention to every detail.
Though last on the priority list, as a man of very modest means, I have to say that the cost of the event was exceptionally reasonable. At the Bahia Del Sol, you can afford the best. It was worth every “colón” and more.
Steve Wilder
Austin, TX

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swilder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed at Bahia del Sol for 5 nights. The hotel was clean, comfortable, well maintained and the restaurant was excellent! All of the hotel staff were professional, friendly and very accommodating. We were there over Christmas and enjoyed the hotel's Christmas eve dinner and show and since the hotel is right on the beach, we enjoyed many evening beach walks after dinner. We always felt safe and comfortable. Costa Rica is a wonderful country, and it's people are the best. PURA VIDA!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LovesItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

My husband and I had never been to Costa Rica and decided to get married at Bahia del sol. We had a total of 20 guests. Our family and friends could not have been more pleased. It is a beautiful place to stay and the staffs are by far some of the best people. Vanessa, Hector and Mike at the front desk were very helpful and professional. Wilber, Francisco, Oldimar were the best by far. They knew our names, how we drank our coffee every morning and what we wanted every time. Thanks to them we had a wonderful time at Bahia del Sol. The food: It didn’t matter if you were having breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a snack the food was amazing. We had the BBQ bonfire for the rehearsal dinner and the wedding reception. The food was absolutely incredible! Again, the staff was fantastic! My daughter and nephews made good use of the pool, beach and restaurant. The tours are very well organized we used them for deep sea fishing and ATV beach hopping great experience. But all of this could not have happened without our wedding coordinator, Donna Mickley with Pura Vida Weddings. Donna was heaven sent. She was very easy to work with. She worked great with the staff at Bahia Del Sol. We felt that Donna and the staff were out to give us the wedding of a life time and they made it more perfect than we could have wanted. We have no complaints about Costa Rica and Bahia Del Sol. Our family and friends have committed to come and enjoy this beautiful place every five years. Thank you all for making our wedding day so very Special!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margiebelonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Bahia Del Sol is enchanting. I fell in love with Costa Rica beginning at Bahia Del Sol. The staff are amazing, always friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The hotel property is beautiful, and the sunsets are incredible. I cannot adequately describe how lovely a place this is until someone has experienced Pura Vida.I went on two tours - Buena Vista Adventure Tour, which is a MUST DO, and The Lazy Lizard sailing and snorkeling tour. Bahia staff made all the arrangements for the tours and informed me what time I would be picked up at the lobby. It could not have been easier.
Bahia brings the intimacy of a smaller hotel while having the setting and scenery of a resort. I will return to Bahia Del Sol with the rest of my family. Be sure to buy coffee at Sunburst Coffee, which is on the way from the airport to the hotel. Do the Buena Vista Adventure Tour. And, although I missed it, I hear Arenal is an absolute highlight. Enjoy Pura Vida.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennamoonphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We spent six nights at Bahia Del Sol in one of the suites, which was very nicely furnished, and very well equiped. The bedding and the towels were of a good quality. The location was right on Potrero Beach, which was pretty much a private beach for the residents of this hotel, and a few rental villas. The sun loungers were arranged so that you had views of the beach. There was also a swimming pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good, as were the cocktails. A great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montysmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

After much online research my fiance and I decided on Bahia del Sol as the location for our destination wedding. We, and 22 friends and family, were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Bahia del Sol. After 14 hours of travel, we were greeted by personal shuttle (thanks to travel agent Susan with Latitudes), smiling friendly staff, cool towels and fresh fruit cocktails. The property is gorgeous and location is intimate. Perfect Costa Rican boutique hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable (we took over 50% of the hotel so I was able to see most rooms...all are awesome and have AC). The complimentary breakfast is delicious, along with the regular lunch (order the chalupas) and dinner menu. The freedom to go from the ocean to the pool (with swim up bar) to relaxing in the lounge chairs makes for a perfect day and vacation. The only negative thing I can say was that the mosquitos were very much around. Bring lots of bug spray and reapply often (of course we were there during the rainy season, which might have bought them out more). But it's Costa Rica bugs are just part of the adventure.
Roxanna the wedding/event coordinator was a dream to work with. She made the stress of planning a wedding fun and easy. During pre-ceremony photos staff brought us cold water and towels. The ceremony and cocktail hour went seamlessly. Roxanna even arranged for the bar in the palapa to stay open late and allowed us to set up our personal ipods to their sound system. Anything we asked for they happily provided. Once we decided to have bloody marys by the pool, when the bartender ran out of tomato juice he attempted to puree REAL tomatoes...lol, didn't taste the best but the thought was greatly appreciated! In fact we all became good friends with the small staff and felt like part of the Bahia family. We were all sad to leave, but are excited to plan our Bahia reunion!
Things in the area: El Castillo (1 block away) has awesome inexpensive food and accommodated our large party 2x without any prior notice. There are 2 markets in town to buy water, snacks, etc. The pizza parlor (above market in 3 story building) is pretty good. But the BEST place is Mar Y Sol in Flamingo. We had out reception dinner there, and I can't even explain how perfect it was. A must if you are in the area (plus they will send a shuttle to pick you up at Bahia...most restaurants will in fact). One place to avoid is the Golden Shrimp (every tour guide/shuttle bus will tell you its the best) 2 people got sick from the Mahi special and most plates averaged over $25, plus it took 3.5 hrs for dinner. Our guests also raved about the ziplining tour, horseback riding, boat cruise, rafting and snorkel trip on catamaran (all easily booked at Bahia). Oh, and the swedish massage at the Bahia spa is a must. Some of our guests made multiple trips back to the spa throughout the week. Very affordable and professional. Such a treat.
I could go on and on about how perfect everything was. Bahia del Sol is a wonderful authentic intimate stop while traveling around Costa Rica. Whether you are looking for a destination for your Costa Rican wedding, or traveling with a group of friends/family I highly recommend Bahia del Sol.
Thanks all at Bahia for helping create such wonderful life-long memories for this important event in our lives!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piper-Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We chose Bahia Del Sol for our destination wedding, held in April, because of the overwhelmingly positive reviews posted on Tripadvisor. We were looking for a small, clean, private venue for a party of 26, consisting of adults and their teenage children, with a staff that could organize the whole event with a highly personal touch.

Let me say that this resort was one of the most well-managed and organized places that we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Staff went about their business in a quiet, efficient manner, and the place was immaculately well kept. The photos of the resort on their website were spectacular, however the grounds were far more beautiful than even the photos showed.

The hotel was particularly well organized throughout the entire duration of the event. When we first approached them about hosting the wedding, we were not certain how many guests would attend. They were most accommodating in blocking a number of rooms for our party for a reasonable period of time, allowing our guests sufficient opportunity to plan for then event.

The gourmet dining was exquisite. The outdoor dining room became one of our favourite places to chill out and enjoy terrific food. The swim-up bar was a most convenient way to stay cool in the heat and remain well hydrated. (!)

We elected to have their wedding coordinator, Roxana Arrieta, handle everything, and she did an outstanding job! Extremely well organized, she recommended options for the event that allowed us to simply sit back and enjoy our special day. I would recommend to anybody thinking of a destination wedding in Cost Rica - let Roxana do her thing and enjoy yourselves - she will deliver, plus add a few unexpected surprises that will really make the day special.

We chose to have a rehearsal dinner the night before - a beach barbeque - that was spectacular. Earlier in the day, they organized a beach volleyball game - the staff versus us - we all had a great time, although we learned that the staff were particularly skilled in this sport and won every game.

Roxana arranged for all the legal paperwork and wedding ceremony through a local law firm - Villavicencio & Associates - who did an outstanding job in making it simple.

We were most please that Roxana arranged for a most gifted photographer, JuanCarlos Villa (El Velo) - the results speak for themselves - we highly recommend JuanCarlos.

All in all, we owe Roxana, Maria Fernanda (Manager), Jairo (Reservations), and the entire staff at Bahia del Sol a huge debt of gratitude for making our special day one to remember for the rest of our lives. They are truly special people.

Costa Rica is a special place, and we will most certainly return to Bahia Del Sol.

Rob and Debbie
Burlington, Ontario Canada

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_and_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
432 reviews
3.9 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
12 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range: £104 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast. With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing