We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best time ever.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Encantada

Jaw dropping views from the private infinity pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jaw dropping views from the private infinity pool.
Villa Encantada Gated entry.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Jaw dropping views from the private infinity pool.
Villa Encantada
Gated entry.
View from villa.
Playa Penca
Great room
Full kitchen
Dining room
Master bedroom
Master bath
Upstairs guest room - sleeps 4
Downstairs Guest Room
Downstairs guest bath
Entrada al patio
Backgammon and cocktails poolside
Jaw dropping views
Playa del Coco
Dining al fresco.
Playa Tamarindo
Guanacaste tree
Playa Flamingo sunset
Llano de Cotez Waterfall
Las Catalinas at Playa Danta
Friendly neighbors.
Surf Playa Grande
Sunset from back patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
luv2par36
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best time ever.”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This beautiful Villa has the most amazing views of the ocean. Villa Encantada is extremely clean , very spacious and beautifully decorated. My daughter and I just spent a week in this beautiful home, if we were not by the pool enjoying the views and swimming we were out being adventurous. We spent many hours at the beautiful beaches around and doing all the activities that one should do in Costa Rica. Maria the owner was so kind and helpful with our Rent-A-Car and booking us tours to go on. There is a caretaker on site to help you with anything you need around the house, Bernie is a great asset.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed Villa Encantada and the surrounding areas. Costa Rica is such a great place to explore. We will pass on your kind words to Bernie... we agree he is great. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to this beautiful country.
Pura Vida!
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nesi S
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel Villa Encantada in Playa Potrero”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you want the ultimate tropical vacation, this is the perfect home away from home. The view from the whole house is spectacular and breath taking. There is an infinity pool that looks out to the ocean. The whole house is surrounded by a green tropical forest and you can see some beautiful birds. We even saw a small deer and some kit foxes. The house is located about 10 mins from the beautiful Penca beach and several restaurants that are excellent. The house is perfectly clean with all the amenities you may need including some fun games. I liked the fact that it is away from all the tourists. You will have to drive an hour or so if you want to go on some of the excursions but we were able to go on a really fun catamaran sunset cruise the owner recommended which was one of the funnest activities we did. That was only a 10 min drive from the house. Maria, the owner of the house, responds quickly to any of your emails and always willing to help with anything you need. There is a caretaker named Bernie that lives on the property. He was so sweet and there to help with anything we needed. He washed our beach towels for us and would have them folded ready to go when we needed them. He mopped and clean the floors in the middle of the week and took our trash out.
There is a great restaurant/bar nearby that we enjoyed called Perlas. It has great food as well as a huge tv to watch your favorite sports, and also a big screen with music videos playing.
This was one of the funnest vacations we have had and can't wait to return to Costa Rica. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Maria !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review. "Home away from home" is one of the best compliments we could receive. We are happy that you and your family were comfortable in the villa and enjoyed the amazing views, lush greenery plus abundant wildlife. Many guest agree with you that it is nice to be away from the crowds, yet still close enough to the town and beautiful beaches. It was a pleasure to host you and your family and we hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to beautiful Potrero, Costa Rica. Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Ready to book my next trip!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A group of friends and myself came in August, 2016. We'll definitely be coming back and staying at this place I call "Paradise." We're all pretty much in our 50's although sometimes we think we're 25. Needless to say, these are my FUN, friends!
Here's my review:

The location of this property was perfect. Nestled up on a hillside for a breathtaking view and just a few miles away from beautiful beaches, great restaurants, bars, activities, shopping. If you like to hike, go early! It's hot and the mountain is steep at times but wow, the views are incredible!

We spent our days on excursions of zip lining, golfing, snorkeling, and the guys went fishing one day while the ladies relaxed poolside and then went shopping. The catamaran cruise was fun at sunset and we got lots of gorgeous pictures. Oh, and lots and lots of fish tacos. Now THAT'S what I call vacation!

Our evenings were spent relaxing by the patio and poolside where we bbq'd, played games, enjoyed great music and delicious cocktails made with special blends of various juices...even carrot which surprisingly turned out to be very tasty.

All in all, great vacation. And if you're still reading this review, BOOK THIS PLACE. You won't be disappointed. Cheers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Bugs, mosquitos but we brought plenty of spray. :)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review. "Paradise" is the perfect word to describe Costa Rica and Playa Potrero. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the villa and it's surroundings. There is so much to do and see in the region and then to relax after a fun day for a sunset cocktail. We hope you will visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you back to "paradise" in the near future. Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenros...
1 review
“Same time next year...Counting down the days!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great vacation. I just wanted to get away with friends and relax, this is the place to do it. The view is extraordinary and the beaches are awesome, each beach has it's own personality. Your in great hands with Maria, we just gave her an idea of what we were looking to do, and she took care of everything or at least pointed us in the right direction...she's great!!

From golfing, to fishing, to zip lining everything was fantastic. We wanted to do everything close to the house, and we were accommodated in every way. Lots of great dining everywhere we went.

The best part for me was lounging around at the house and in the Infinity pool, and simply relaxing and enjoying the view, you can't get enough of it. I wanted to relax, and this house allowed for that without exception. I can't wait to return with more friends, and they won't know what hit them upon their arrival as far as the beauty that surrounds Villa Encantada. Great vacation!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the view.
Liked least: Vacation was to short.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure hearing that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Encantada and appreciated all Costa Rica has to offer. I was more than happy to assist with your plans and work with your group. The views and infinity pool are popular among guest and very relaxing. We would love to welcome you back next year... or even sooner. Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan A
1 review
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed there with my 14 yr old twin boys and some other adult friends, all around 50 y.o. and everyone had an amazing time. We could have easily spent the whole time in the back patio just looking over the incredible scenery and enjoying the wildlife, but we decided to so some activities.

Maria arranged for us to go fishing, zip lining, snorkeling, golf, and other activities, and each one was top notch. My kids especially enjoyed the evening catamaran/snorkeling cruise, and couldn't stop talking about the blowfish they saw underwater. And of course we saw monkeys in the wild, which my kids really bragged about to their friends when we got home.

Great accommodations, great experience, great food, and beautiful beaches. I could see myself going there a few times a year and never getting tired of it. It's a strong recommend for me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful view from the back patio of the ocean and treetop canopy
Liked least: Bug bites
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Encantada. It is true you can spend every waking moment soaking up the scenery from the property, but also wonderful to get out and explore the countryside. There truly is so much to do in this wonderful region. I was happy to help plan your excursions and delighted to hear you enjoyed them so much. We hope you and your family will visit us again on your next trip to beautiful Playa Potrero, Costa Rica. Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdatrip
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking View”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved Villa Encantada. My husband and I travel to Costa Rica often, and this was our first time in Potrero. The views from the house are stunning, and Villa Encantada is so beautiful -- and clean! The onsite housekeeper was great. The house is just five minutes from a local beach and 20 minutes to my husband's favorite surf spot. We enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our attention to quality and cleanliness. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to beautiful Playa Potrero, Costa Rica.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mintchip1...
Beverly Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Beautiful View Home”
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week-long get away with friends and couldn't have been happier about my stay. The home is located in a quiet hillside community just a short drive from the beach with stunning ocean views - a great place to enjoy an evening cocktail while watching the sunset. The interior is spacious, clean and nicely furnished and the contemporary kitchen has all the amenities one would need. There were several markets within a 10 minute drive for stocking up on staples, plus good restaurants close by. There's also a full-time caretaker who kept the pool sparkling clean and the grounds immaculate. It's the perfect home for both a quiet and relaxing getaway as well as a base for exploring the local beaches, waterfalls and culture. Great for those seeking privacy and space or just wanting an alternative to the noise and crowds of a hotel /condo experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The drive up the hill was quite bumpy
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We take pride in providing personal service, luxurious accommodations and attention to detail. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Villa Encantada and hope you will visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing