We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical place, perfect to relax and unwind”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brightside

Brightside is a spacious family villa with its own pool AND use of the facilities at Verandah Hotel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brightside is a spacious family villa with its own pool AND use of the facilities at Verandah Hotel
Swimming pool and villa front of villa from garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Brightside is a spacious family villa with its own pool AND use of the facilities at Verandah Hotel
Swimming pool and villa
front of villa from garden
kitchen area
dining area
TV and lounge area
4 poster kingsize bed in master bedroom
Upstairs verandah outside master bedroom
Upstairs twin 'yellow' room
Downstairs double 'green' room
Downstairs twin
View overlooking pool with ocean in background
Candlelight dinner on verandah overlooking pool
pool waterfall and view to ocean
oleander in bloom (one of the many tropical plants in the garden)
Verandah resort water sports - free rental to villa guests
view of Long Bay Beach - 5 mins walk
beach huts at Long Bay
devils bridge - natural arch in conservation area 15 minutes walk
view of Lawries Bay from back of villa
view of ocean from side of pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Long Bay, Saint Philip Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ehspud
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical place, perfect to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I visited with girlfriends to unwind after a very hectic few months. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect place. The house is lovely inside and out and with stunning views- all ameneties catered for. A typical day was breakfasting on the verandah, overlooking the pool. The house is conveniently affliated with the Verhanda Resort so after breakfast, we'd go over and kayak or windsurf. Then have lunch and a cocktail on the beach. We'd end the day with a glass of champagne on the 1st floor verhanda. The house also serves as a great base to explore the rest of the Isalnd. The house has open plan ground floor with fabulous views, - you know you are on holiday! The bedrooms are spacious. The home is tastefully decorated. Perfect for families and friends. I hightly reccomend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and verandahs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
Thank you for your kind review. we are so glad that you found our villa and its location to be magical.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than we ever expected!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Me and my family got back from our amazing holiday in Brightside Villa 3 weeks ago, and we are already planning our next visit! I could quite easily harp on about the benefits of being next to the wonderful Verandah hotel, the fantastic location next to the beautiful Long Bay and Devil's Bridge, and the amazing spacious and tastefully decorated villa, but for the benefits of this review offering a little extra to any reader, I would like to highlight the wonderful surprises that we encountered that made our ensured our visit went from being great to excellent.

Firstly, we were struck about the size of the villa straight away from walking through the front door. The photos on the website/trip advisor do not to justice at how large and open the living space is (kitchen and living room), how spacious the bedrooms are (particularly the master bedroom, which is absolutely amazing). and how large and useful the verandah near the pool is. Everything in the villa upon our entrance was laid out like a hotel, with towels and flowers in the bathrooms and perfectly made beds. The standards were so good, we suspect the villa may have been cleaned ready for our arrival by the nearby Verandah hotel's maids!

There are also a number of other 'nice surprises' that just made that little bit of extra difference. The cutlery and plates, for example, are very good quality. The kitchen is amazingly equipped with pots and pans, and the hob and oven are clearly brand new. We cooked everything from Fajitas to Pasta and pizza with ease throughout our trip.

The villa is also full of novel and interesting ideas. For example, they have plug sockets outside on the Verandah. I know this may seem a tiny benefit, but the convenience for these sockets for plugging in speakers to play music while we were by the pool, or to go outside on the internet and check your emails with a beautiful sea view and still have your laptop plugged in, should not be under-estimated.

The board game selection that the owners had provided was also really good. We spent an evening playing Articulate and Perudo after dinner, which again was fantastic.

Finally the basketball court at the front of the villa is fantastic. The ball was a bit flat when we arrived, but as with everything the villa had an answer (there was a ball pump in one of the table draws, along with some playing cards that we could use all holiday since we forgot to bring with any with us!). The hoop was really good quality, and it is fixed in the ground like it would be on a professional basketball court. My girlfriend and I spent many evenings shooting hoops, and it was another one of those things that we didn't expect from the holiday.

I can't leave this review without mentioning the convenience of having free use of the facilities at the nearby Verandah. Their crazy golf course is really good quality and good fun, and it is located right next to the hotel entrance which is 5 minutes walk from the villa. There is a tennis court next to that, which looked brand new and very well kept. Also the beach next to the reception is really beautiful, and has a beach volleyball court (which we enjoyed using!) and kayaks on offer as free water-sports rentals. There was never a dull moment!

I really recommend this as a fantastic place for bigger families or extended family to stay, and as I mentioned throughout this review, it really offered way more than we expected. The value for money was excellent, and I really think this is a 'hidden gem' judging by few but very complimentary reviews this villa has received. If we have one criticism of the villa it is that it doesn't advertise itself anywhere near well enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
thank you so much for this lengthy and extremely complimentary review. we appreciate all of your comments and we are so glad that you had such a wonderful stay at Brightside and in Antigua. do visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the layout
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
this is a wonderfully helpful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Brightside so much. we too feel that the Verandah Hotel offers excellent facilities for a family holiday and we are glad you made full use of them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total comfort of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
We are so grateful for this helpful and lengthy review. We are so pleased that you and your family had such a wonderful time at Brightside and in Antigua. If you do wish to visit us again we offer a generous reduction for repeat guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself, and the amenities of the resort
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for this wonderful and helpful review. we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and for the detailed information you have provided for future guests. We would love to welcome you back to stay again in the future and we do offer a generous discount to repeat guests. Best wishes from the owners.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing