We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Uluwatu Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Puri Uluwatu Villas
Ranked #28 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pecatu
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I booked this hotel for one night at the end of our bali trip thinking we would spend up a bit more for our last night. I was pretty disappointed with our stay especially in contrast to the great reviews I'd read. The room smelt musty and damp, it was dark and the beds were very uncomfortable. There were stains on the sheets when we arrived, the staff kindly changed them for us but the second set were also stained. There were minimal amenities/extras provided in the bathrooms and the breakfast was simple but not much more. If you were just here to surf and sleep I would say this hotel is fine however we didnt get anything like what we felt we were paying for. Other hotels in Bali for a third of the price had superior service, facilities and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uluwatu-Villas, Owner at Puri Uluwatu Villas, responded to this review, 19 August 2015
I apologize for your experience. We have purchased all new bedding for every room and every bed, pillow and blanket March 2015. Please return and the first night will be free for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    20
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
11
37
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
queenstown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

puri villas was exactly what I was looking for, supper relaxing haven to come back to, beautiful stunning sunsets, surrounded by lush forrest with ocean views, feeling of no neighbouring buildings but also not too out of the way, the staff were really helpful and friendly, puri has a really pure feeling to it and I was never anything but relaxed during my stay, thanks team :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaVaSaNaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Puri Uluwatu villas for a week and loved every second of it. It's quiet, beautiful, staff is very friendly, the rooms are perfect and the pool is a haven. Simple walk to the beach and the views are breathtaking. The breakfast was just what we needed before heading out exploring the surroundings which the staff were very accommodating in informing us about. We will definitely be back soon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My boy friend and I had an amazing time staying at puri uluwatu villas! The property is really spacious and the villa is gorgeous!!! Just the right mix of traditional Balinese with modern comforts. We were happy to have found accommodation with a pool for me to keep busy in while the boyfriend surfed. And the staff were so lovely. Will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seshpesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at Puri Uluwatu Villas over a weekend with a couple of friends to just relax and get away from the busy Kuta. It's a allover peaceful place with good friendly staff, good food and walking distance to the beach. What else can you ask for on a weekend getaway? Already planning our next stay there and would definitely recommend this place to friends and family!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at Puri Uluwatu for 7 days, was the perfect getaway outside of kuta/seminyak. The food was tasty and the staff were super happy and accommodating. Easy and safe walk down to the beach. Would definitely recommend this spot to visiting family and friends. Can't wait to go back to this place, it was our favourite spot in Bali.

Room Tip: The cottages have a beautiful ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandnewmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karon, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Currently staying at Puri and would choose to move elsewhere. The place has such potential but it feels deserted and unused. No loungers have no cushions , no umbrellas or shade - no staff to service rooms and outdoors unkept. Breakfast was scruffy and unclean crockery. No placemats with food served on unclean tables. Cleaning materials and dirty laundry not removed from public areas . The towels are old and all different and the one bed is not usable. The bathroom had not been properly cleaned on our arrival. Disappointing but maybe fine if you just booked to surf.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
1.0 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#4 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Monkeys Villas
Three Monkeys Villas
#45 of 62 in Pecatu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uluwatu Cottages
Uluwatu Cottages
#8 of 62 in Pecatu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
2.9 mi away
S Resorts Hidden Valley Bali
0.2 mi away
Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Uluwatu Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Uluwatu Villas

Property: Puri Uluwatu Villas
Address: Jl. Labuan Sait | Uluwatu Beach, Pecatu, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Uluwatu Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Uluwatu Villas was built by surfers for surfers and their families. Large rooms offer more space than those of budget as well as luxury hotels and villas on the island. We run our resort on a family rather than formal principle of guest service. We aim to make our guests feel like they are a part of the magic of Bali rather than just a tourist on holiday. Puri Uluwatu Villas was founded in 1997 as one of the first accommodations in the Uluwatu area providing full services and air conditioned rooms. Our location on the cliff above the famous surfing beach of Uluwatu is arguably the best location in the Uluwatu area. What you will notice in each room is that all materials are traditional, while the high ceilings and large open spaces is truly a fusion of modern luxury and true Balinese style. We have a total of 10 rooms. We are not a large chain hotel and provide family style service, if you are looking for a standard tourist hotel then maybe Puri Uluwatu Villas is not for you. We have a private staircase that descends to the beach and sea cave below. This eliminates driving parking etc. When guests just want to take a quick swim or see the sunset from white sand beach below. For surfers the ability to go from the bed to the waves in less than five minutes has often been described as priceless. Puri Uluwatu Villas is a safe place for children or people traveling alone. As of this writing there has never been one single incidence of theft at our resort. All of our staff members are part of the local community and most are related to each other. We try our best to make guests feel at home as well as to show them a bit of Balinese Culture that they won't see on a tour or in a large hotel. We are located close to: Blue Point Bay Villas Mamo Hotel Single Fin Bar and Restaurant Moonlight Villas The Istana Uluwatu Surf Villas Sandat Mas Cottages Anantara Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Puri Uluwatu Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Uluwatu Villas Hotel Uluwatu
Puri Uluwatu Villas Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing