We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful on the outside shabby on the inside”
Review of New Kuta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Kuta Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Pecatu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“beautiful on the outside shabby on the inside”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

First impression of the hotel is the beautiful grounds, well maintained gardens nice pool, but once you step inside the hotel its a bit of a disgrace for a 4 star hotel, the place gave me the impresssion that someone started building this grand place but ran out of money 3\4 of the way through, and than another company bought it and finished it as cheap as they could, the place has potential but is really lacking all the the finishing that makes up a 4 star hotel, it gave me a strange vibe because its a huge hotel with 1000s of rooms but no one around, the furnature in the rooms is a joke the side tables are falling off the wall if you put something on it will slide of as its on a 45 degree angle, the TVs are ancient artifacts with bad recieption, there were very loud groups of tourists in the hallway at night, the included breakfast was dissaponting, there is nothing around so you pretty much have to eat here and the food is overpriced and not good, the one good thing about the hotel is the view was great from the room and the grounds are beautiful, but that's were it ends witch is sad because the place has so much potential, there are much nicer hotels in the area for the same price that aren't necessarily listed on the web, I stayed at much nicer places in bali for halve the price and star ratings, definitely wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank peacelovehappieness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    50
    40
    23
    18
See reviews for
35
54
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

From free late check out (we were offered as late as 6pm) to a gorgeous infinity pool, this hotel is great value for money. Don;t come here expecting The Ayana. Come here expecting a solid 4 star effort with little highlights like the make-your-own-pizza stone oven by the pool and free transport to the golf. All in all, we would return. Thanks for a great little escape from the hustle and bustle of seminyak.

Room Tip: Sometimes the shower cubicles flood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on a business reason. A bit worry since Pecatu area is a Newly "booming" area in Bali which is quite far from the city center. Have you ever heard of Pecatu Graha? there where it is located. No convenience store nearby, no public transport except taxi which you have to ordered, and kind of isolated. Not bad actually, since i like staying in a quite area. Let's start with the review... First, the airport pickup. I give 9 out of 10 if i may. Though the car is to big just for myself and a driver. On the way to the hotel, the driver already inform me that there are no convenience stores nearby the area, therefore he asked me whether i need stop by to one supermarket in the area and i said yes. Of we go to the supermarket. Then when i done with the "little" shopping, we off to the hotel. From the airport to the supermarket takes around 25 minutes drive and from the supermarket to the area took another 20 minutes or so. We enter the gate of the area, which i like to call the second Nusa Dua. from the gate takes around 15 minutes to the hotel. Not much property yet, but you can tell that it will be a luxury area soon.
I got off the car at the foyer and go straight to the reception. Open lobby is a great concept considered that this area is quite hot. Greeted by the reception but not by name (i think i was the only guest who had an airport pickup at that time). After i did the check in procedure (took around 5 minutes), i am heading to the room. It's quite a long way to the room, takes 1 floor down to the end of the building. Luckily a bellman escorted me all the way while he assisted me with my luggage. A bit chit chat along the way. Finally, reach my room. Open the door and mmmm, the room is not bad. Big enough just for myself. Checked the room facilities, coffee and tea are there, no minibar (just empty fridge, lucky i bought something to fill it up), no safety box, no power plug next to the bed, bed side board is not properly placed, no TV channel list, no umbrella in the room. Balcony is quite nice, with a partial pool view, garden, view, golf course view and off course your neighbor (someone can easily jump over to their neighbor balcony). Bathroom, clean. Although small but it's alright. Took some rest for a while until around dinner time then i'm off to the pool area where there are nice restaurant there. Too bad there are lots of people swimming and screaming over the pool area which was not comfortable. However, the food taste are good. After dinner, i am off to the room to get some sleep. But around 11:00 i can hear kids screaming again in the pool while they are swimming. Really annoying. Finally, i can have my sleep around 2 am.
Woke up the next morning around 07:00 took a shower (great rain shower with hot and cold running water). Off to the breakfast and waalla... crowded as hell. Around 14:00 i am back to my room after relaxing in the lobby area, what is surprising me was that my room has not been made up. However, a few minutes after that, a housekeeping staff ask my permissions to clean my room. It takes around 15 minutes or so to clean my room.
At 19:00 i am off for a business dinner and back to the hotel around midnight and go straight to bed.
Same thing happened the next morning, and the next morning after.
However, despite the uncomfortable of the other guests, i really enjoyed the property. Most probably will be staying here again.

Room Tip: asked for a higher floor, not an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tromeo_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We choose to stayed here for 2 days and booked Junior Suite for our honeymoon. The booking process was easy, the staffs was very responsive answering our email. I choose the Junior suite because it has mini kitchen in the room.

We arrived around 7pm and had late check in. The hotel location is quite far and isolated, but not a problem to us. The reception said that they had prepared our room on 4th floor but the room didn't have mini kitchen, but it had a spectacular view (dreamland beach). And they also offer us the other junior suite room on 2nd floor with kitchen. Then we looked both rooms and choose the 2nd floor with kitchen (room 1414). I was disappointed, why they didn't call and confirm before our arrival, we were really tired and didn't expected still choosing which room we should have.

The room was spacious, but not maintained well. The floor was dusty, we ask the staffs to clean up our floor later in the morning. And another complaint, water in bathroom was unclean like rusty stained. Mechanics come and check the water, and said we should keep the tap opened so the water will get clear eventually.

the breakfast was so-so, not much choices. We also went to Dreamland beach, just 10 minutes walking from hotel but they also provide shuttle bus by confirmation. The swimming pool is great.

This hotel have a great potential, the view was so good, but they didn't maintain the equipment well. I think you should renew and update your room interior. The TV, bed, bathroom are looked old and makes us not comfortable with all the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pretty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

i leave here during my office gathering. i really enjoyed living here, so bad i only have 1 day there. breakfast is really good, staff is warm and friendly. the rooms are clean and smells good.

Recomended..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM L, General Manager at New Kuta Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Luluana S.,

Thank you very much for recommending us and for taking the time to write this review. Your comments on our friendly staff make us all very proud, and I have shared your great opinion on our breakfast with the F&B Team! We are truly delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Bali!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

they made a mistake with our reservations but they upgrade us to a better room the next morning, drinks are really good next to the pool, staff is friendly, food in the restaurant is amazing the breakfast is the best.

the rooms are very clean very nice. we enjoy it the bad part is that is far from the Kuta like 1 hr a way but thats ok.

Room Tip: any room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxrmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM L, General Manager at New Kuta Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Maxrmit,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and fro your kind comments. My sincere apologies for the mistake with your booking but I am happy to see that it was sorted out quickly. I will definitely pass on your compliments to our Food and Beverage Team; it makes us proud to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is indeed quite a bit to the south of Kuta Beach, which gives our Uluwatu area the tranquility found here and the free shuttle to Kuta and Nusa Dua gives you access to the busy part of Bali if you want to go there.
Great to hear you liked your room and the services of our housekeeping team. Thank you very much again for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back on your next stay in Bali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Breakfast are great! Rooms are very good! And the service are great too!
The only thing is the location, kind of located in a very dark area at night time. Looks not so safe for the ladies. For me, I would rather like to take taxi to get down town area instead of going by walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mine1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM L, General Manager at New Kuta Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Mine1962,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We sincerely appreciate your positive comments on our breakfast and service levels, and we are happy you enjoyed your room. As you mention our Pecatu area is indeed a quiet area so the best is to ask our team to call a taxi to go downtown when it is getting late. Thank you again for your nice comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
0.7 mi away
Le Grande Bali
Le Grande Bali
#2 of 11 in Pecatu
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lexington Klapa Resort
Lexington Klapa Resort
#7 of 11 in Pecatu
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rich Prada Hotel Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 8 in Uluwatu
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ayu Guna Inn
Ayu Guna Inn
#10 of 11 in Pecatu
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Kuta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kuta Hotel

Property: New Kuta Hotel
Address: Kawasan Pecatu Indah Resort, Pecatu 80364, Indonesia (Formerly New Kuta Hotel - a Lexington Legacy Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
#5 Spa Hotel in Pecatu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Kuta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by genuine Balinese culture, The New Kuta Hotel, is a perfect tropical getaway. Nestled on a gentle hill within a stone's throw of one of Bali's most famous and gorgeous beaches, The New Kuta Hotel pampers our guests with stunning views, modern rooms, outstanding restaurants, warm service and all the facilities you look for in an island resort. Kelapa is located just 5 minutes away directly overlooking Dreamland Beach, where you can enjoy the colorful sunsets over the Indian Ocean before a night of fun.The New Kuta Hotel also offers state-of-the-art, conference center with space for up to 700 people, all within the confines of our resort.Come and experience the tropical ambiance and Bali's famous island hospitality, at The New Kuta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Kuta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kuta Condotel Hotel Kuta
New Kuta Hotel Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing