We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beds, Needs Work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Three Monkeys Villas
Ranked #39 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Pecatu
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked one night here last minute so we could spend our last days in Bali in Uluwatu. Basically the price was right on Booking.com and the location close to the cliffside cafes of UluWatu.

Overall the property is nice, it just feels unfinished. There are two villas under construction that are being loudly worked on all day, and it feels very empty. Our standalone villa was quite nice and quiet at night, but the bathroom was stinky/poorly ventilated when we arrived, and the shower head sprayed the entire bathroom if you tried to use it when it was attached to the wall. On the upside, the bedsheets were great and the pillows really comfy!

Location is great and very convenient to UluWatu and Padang Padang. We had no issues renting one of their scooters for the entire time we were there. The staff were helpful when we could find them and were fine with giving us a very late checkout (7:30pm) for 300,000rp.

Basically this place doesn't have much character/soul but it's a well situated, clean option.

Room Tip: Definitely get a standalone bungalow away from the two construction sites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanAussies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Have stayed @ the 3 monkeys 3 times over the last year and a half. Each stay is about 5 days. The 3 monkeys brands themselves as a boutique resort. Its clean, has AC and hot water, provides free breakfast. A sizable bedroom and bathroom. With a communal pool. Staff is there when you need them and like most people in Bali very helpful. And yes, the night when Mamo Hotel is throwing a party, you hear it at the 3 Monkeys. The beds and pillows are comfortable and the sheets seem clean (have not had an issue). Downside: internet is terrible. Intermittent at best. If you are staying here, best bet is to go over across to Jaya Home Stay, grab a beer have lunch and log on. At times, the bathroom can seem a little grubby - but bearable. For 100-120 US per night, its ok; but I have found other alternatives for cheaper and I have more fun and meet more people.

Room Tip: Personally, I prefer the stand alone bungalow as the walls are quite thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmejamesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling round Bali. The bungalows are lovely and the pool is awesome. The location is so quiet and you can here all the crickets and geckos!! The staff are helpful, friendly and accomodating when we required a third bed. Be aware that they are still building bungalows however we didnt notice any noise at all.

Perfect location for the beach and the restaurants.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DGardner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed for 5 nights from the 1st to 6th December. We were fortuinate enough to be the only ones staying here bar one night....which was the noisey night!!!....It was very relaxing to come back to late afternoon having the place to ourselves ....Beware of Tete ( turning right of complex 100yards down the road..hire peds ...said he would take us to best seafood restaurant in Bali.....what a rip off..tourist trap...40mins to get there...loads of restaurants on the beach....horrible expensive meal..DO NOT GO TO ANY RESTAURANT TAXI DRIVERS RECOMMEND they are on big commision!.....major food poisoning the next day on flight to Bangkok ...wheelchaired off plane put on drip...you have been warned....we will return to Uluwatu but go for cheaper just as good accommadation

Room Tip: ask for detached villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Am currently being kept awake by other guests using the pool at 1am. There is no on site manager after hours and the security guard is more interested in sleeping than asking them to quiet down. Rooms are divided by paper thin cavity sliding doors. The place looks nice and is in a good location but would definitely never stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked three monkey villas initially for 1 night. After arriving we were greeted by friendly staff and taken to our room early - we arrived just before lunch time. The rooms were just what we wanted, clean! We said that we would stay the next three nights. After lunch some construction (a digger ) was being done next door. We had a long day so went to bed relatively early. From about 7pm until late all we could hear was a band playing.... So couldn't sleep. The next morning the construction started again.... Then we were told we could only stay one more night as someone booked online the third night we wanted. We tried to relax by the pool in the afternoon but the digging didnt stop!!! Later that night, instead of a band, we heard bad karaoke blearing outside..... Once again we tried to sleep in.... But at 7.30am the construction started again!!!! Don't get me wrong, this place is lovely.... But too noisy to relax! There is no restaurant here but you can hire a scooter directly from the villas for 50000rph a day. Very close to Suluban Beach (5 min walk) and short scooter trip to Padang Padang.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

2nd time here 1 year down the line from my trip last June. The place had just opened last year and staff seemed attentive. I promised I would write a good review as I enjoyed my stay and I did, however on returning this year, the place is still under construction and has not moved on at all from last year with 2 half built plots sticking out like a sore thumb. My issue really lies with the way me and my wife were treated. We arranged to stay here for our final night with a late checkout on the 2nd day. This was arranged and signed for 3 days before we planned to stay and we told them if there was any problems we were only across the road in Bali Bule homestay, they also had my phone number and email address. The day came for our move and after packing up our stuff and dragging it down the road looking forward to checking in. We were told as they had received a booking that morning for the following day our late checkout had been cancelled!? I stated we had booked first, were returning customers, gave a review last year as Made the manager had asked me to and this year now they have a bit of custom they couldn't care less and are clearly not bothered by upsetting and ruining customers expectations. Overall really poor, they gave very obvious priority to these other customers even though we had agreed to pay for a late checkout 1st and reserved the dates and didn't seem to understand why I wasn't happy that we were being mugged off. I thought about it for a while and then out of principle decided I would just leave and find somewhere else which we did and which was run by a much more welcoming family at Jaya homestay just across the road for a fraction of the price and their deluxe room was on par with three monkeys if not better for 350000 three monkeys was more or less a million a night?? Also just up the road where we spent our first 2 weeks was Bali Bule just as nice for a third of the price. This place was also under construction last year when we went and is now fully functional with a nice restaurant and lovely gardens and pool and staff eager to please and loyal to repeat customers. Plenty of other villas and homestays around just as nice and a fraction of the cost. Don't rush into this place you could half your accommodation costs staying elsewhere and get a better nights sleep as the supermarket right outside three monkey's is a late night hang out with music blaring until the early hour's and lots of comings and goings. We were actually glad we changed our mind.

Room Tip: Rooms have a split door between you and stranger's not very romantic ask for a villa on its own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicseai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pecatu hotels
2.6 mi away
New Kuta Hotel
New Kuta Hotel
#8 of 11 in Pecatu
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uluwatu Cottages
Uluwatu Cottages
#13 of 67 in Pecatu
176 reviews
2.8 mi away
S Resorts Hidden Valley Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
0.4 mi away
Puri Uluwatu Villas
Puri Uluwatu Villas
#36 of 67 in Pecatu
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
PinkCoco Bali
PinkCoco Bali
#1 of 42 in Pecatu
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Monkeys Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Monkeys Villas

Address: Jl. Pantai Suluban, Uluwatu - Pecatu, Pecatu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Pecatu
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Three Monkeys Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Three Monkeys Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Monkeys Villas Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing