We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bali experience”
Review of Mu Bali

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pecatu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mu Bali
Certificate of Excellence
east coast
Level Contributor
185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The Bali experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is an awesome little villa overlooking the surf in Bingin. The salt water swimming pool puts all other pools in the area to shame. Daily yoga was also really nice to have available. The small spa offered just the perfect amount of pampering. This is the place that I most want to return to.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank climberchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    63
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
56
159
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Mu is perfect to get away and relax. The view is stunning, the rooms rustic yet sufficient, the pool beautiful. Whilst the Wifi was bit working this was kind of a forced relaxation. It would be great if reception was manned 24 hours a day for late arrivals or early departures. We truly enjoyed the communal dinner as we met the most gorgeous family from France to chat and laugh and share a meal with. We really loved Mu and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the small bungalows in April. The setting is terrific with accommodation to match. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
We were invited to view the two large bungalows, which looked superb.
Had a meal at the restaurant which was was very good. You share a large table with other guests and it was an excellent way to end the
day.
If you are looking for more refined accom in bali away from the hustle of the larger resorts then this should certainly be considered. The views from the clifftop location are wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slovenian_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the cliff bungalow which was bliss. The ocean view was amazing and there is nothing quite as relaxing as falling asleep to the sound of the crashing waves. We were warned about the monkeys that visit however much to my disappointment we never saw them. Staff were friendly, food was great and the grounds are beautiful. Look forward to the day when we can go back. Mu's is an awesome place to just stop and take it all in. We lazed around for days and it was amazing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was a bit concerned when we drove through quite a shabby neighborhood to get there, but once you arrive it is a little piece of paradise. Perched up on the cliffs you have unspoilt views over Impossibles and Bingin surf breaks and it is just a 5 minute walk down the stairs to the beach.

There is a lovely big pool and the staff are on hand all day to serve you drinks and food. They also offer a limited spa menu with massages and a few other treatments. The spa also overlooks the ocean which is a bonus. Yoga classes are also available for a modest price every morning and evening.

My wife and I stayed in the Matahari room which was very spacious and had a large on suite bathroom as well as airconditioning which is vital in Bali. I would definitely recommend this bungalow as some of the other rooms have bathrooms which are separate to the room.

Breakfast is included in the price and there is a decent lunch menu on offer with freshly cooked food all day. There is also a set menu put on every night for guest wishing to dine at the hotel, otherwise there are some good restaurants within a 5 minute scooter ride. I would recommend Cachos which is on the way to Uluwatu for good mexican and pizza. The atmosphere here is also great.


I would highly recommend you stay at Mu if you are visiting the Bingin/Uluwatu area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MorisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed here in April 2014 and loved the place. As I was traveling alone I actually stayed in the main house and not an apartment but the quality of these rooms where great nonetheless.

The hotel is breathtaking. On the cliff top overlooking the sea. The food is delicious. Breakfast is included in the price was juice of choice, break basket, eggs cooked as you like, fruit and tea / coffee. Option to order more but I never needed to.
There is a set evening meal for 150k reps where everyone sits together to share the food. I enjoyed an amazing Indonesian meal with chocolate cake and tea/coffee.

There is yoga available, which I did every morning in a beautiful outdoor studio. The outdoor area includes swimming pool, jacuzzi, beds in shade and sun loungers all to a high standard.

There are over 200 steps to the beach and it's pretty steep. When the tide is in its difficult to sit at the beach.

The only down side is if you want to go out for the evening you have to get a car as it's pretty isolated so you cannot walk anywhere. The hotel will arrange this for you.

The wifi was not working either when in I visited.
I would absolutely recommended this hotel to anyone wanting to relax in high quality accommodation at a pretty reasonable price .

Room Tip: The yoga room is above the yoga studio just bear in mind when there are morning yoga classes... Obvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _adele_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Quite honestly this is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. Its design in every way is stunning. We stayed in Tengirri which is a Balinese style bungalow with outdoor kitchen and living space. The style and craftsmanship of this beautiful place is reflected in everything - mother of pearl lights and mother of pearl inlays to carved doors into secret gardens. The food is fantastic, the pool faces on to the sea and the staff are kind and friendly and very helpful. Everything has been thought about to assist in relaxation and care. We had a fabulous few days there and we will most definately be back. Whole body massage is a must whilst you are there and a trip to Kelly's Warung on Bingin beach is a must to watch the sun go down and listen to the cool DJ mixes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazelstree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
0.6 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
0.2 mi away
Sal Secret Spot
Sal Secret Spot
#5 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
0.0 mi away
The Inn Possible
The Inn Possible
#6 of 40 in Pecatu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows
#22 of 57 in Jimbaran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mu Bali

Property: Mu Bali
Address: Pantai Beach, Pecatu 80364, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Pecatu
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Mu Hotel Uluwatu
Mu Bali Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing